why so addictive?

rheric

Watcher
So I was up at 3 AM this morning, partly from getting kicked in the groin by my sleeping son, and partly because I wanted some time online. Logged into Ryzom and tried to find my way around, when it struck me how, before I started MMOs, this type of behavior was odd for me.

Never been much of a party person, and even my gaming habits didn't keep me up all hours. But since I started playing MMOs, I've noticed that my sleep habits have, over the years, become more and more sparse. I'm up later than usual, and often, when I'm not up late, I'm up before the sun and the rest of the family, playing one game or another. No other genre has this type of hold on me.

What is it about MMOs that's so addictive, and such a time sink?

I think they are so addictive because of the social aspects they use, such as "guild" structures and directly rewarded time spent rather than player skill (for the most part). This means you can be a fat over weight kid with almost no social skills in real life but in the game if you spend long enough you can become the "most powerful" player in the "world" (ironically if that same fat kid actual exercised as much as he sat infront of his MMO he would probably transform himself in real life almost as fast as his online avatar).

MMO's nearly destroyed my life when I was in my early 20's. I stick exclusively to single player RPG's now, it is seriousily unhealthy(muscle decay and eye damage) to spend more than 100 hours on a single game/games in a single month (I made an exception for Gothic 2......). It wasn't until I had stopped playing MMO's for several months that I realised just how crap they really are. They are more like a second job than a game, were you have to work hard to beat everyone else (a ratrace).