Frontiers - Explore, Discover & Survive

Couchpotato

Part-Time News-bot
Today we have another kickstarter to showcase and we can all thanks Joxer for bringing it to my attention. FRONTIERS is a one man ambitious project that is described as a massive relaxing open world that emulates classic first person RPGs.
Alpha Gameplay

Video Update 1 - Structures FAQ

Greetings!

Hello, I'm Lars Simkins. I'm a VFX artist by trade and an indie game developer by passion. I'm here to make that first person exploration/survival game we've all been dreaming about.
84849acbc3549bfdb8c3589eb32c386e_large.png

I can still remember the first time I played Daggerfall. Yes, it was uglier than a monkey's armpit and controlled worse than a bumper car on a frozen lake.
But it also created the feeling of a world that lived on even after I'd stopped playing, and that feeling still sticks with me all these years later. A world where you could spend hours searching every pixelated nook and cranny. A world of potential. A world of EXPLORATION…
…and then a Dragonling would chomp my face because I hadn't spent ten hours grinding in the easy regions. Arg! So frustrating!
Other games have touched on that elusive feeling, especially Elder Scrolls and early Fallout games, but as fun as they are and as much as I love hardcore RPG mechanics, I've always dreamt of a game that emphasized exploration above all else.

More information.

Last edited:
drops Daggerfall reference: +1 cred

Yep. I was actually disappointed about Skyrim (though it was a great game) because I hoped for something more like Daggerfall which they indicated before my saying randomly generated quests. These were horribly implemented however and nothing like in Daggerfall at all.

So I am looking forward to Frontiers and hope they get tons of money to also implement additional features.