RPGWatch Forums
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

RPGWatch Forums (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/index.php)
-   The Precursors (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=45)
-   -   Gamersgate Version Audio Problems (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12401)

player1 January 23rd, 2011 23:59

Gamersgate Version Audio Problems
 
Originally from Deep Shadow forums.
This is just recap of old thread. Go to the next post, if you just need solution.

Quote:

Originally Posted by unholydog
I have the english version off gamersgate and the audio for items like creatures, guns etc cannot be heard. All I can hear is the music and the weapons reloading. This makes the game diffcult to play as I cannot hear any enemies / creatures attacking me.

Has anyone else got this problem and how can it be solved.

Thanks in advance


Quote:

Originally Posted by player1
Having same problem too.

P.S.
This does not affect those playing Russian version.
Right?


Quote:

Originally Posted by unholydog
As far as I am aware reading these forums the Russian version is fine which is somewhat confusing


Quote:

Originally Posted by badmofo
The Russian version of the sound file is 1.3GB, and the "English" version is 438MB, which is a huge difference.

There are a lot of ambient sounds in these games and often with Russian voices in them, so I'm guessing they have just removed anything that might include a Russian voice, and in the process messed up the sounds system.

I think that copying the Russian version over would solve the problem - obviously you'd lose the crappy English voiceovers in the cut scenes but that's a win IMO! I can extract the English VO's and send them to Wesp for his patch to fix that problem anyway.

I'll see if I can upload the Russian version somewhere so someone can test my theory.


Quote:

Originally Posted by badmofo
OK give this a go:

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=Y9AC6BQZ

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=PMNALDJX

I had to split the archive coz of the 1GB upload maximum, I use WinRAR to decompress.

Copy both files included into your 'Precursors\packages' directory (Note that there's also a file called main.fat included, that is required too or you'll get errors)

I've tried it and it works fine, all of the ambient sounds can be heard again and it makes a huge difference. Hopefully it fixes the bug outs people have been experiencing.


Quote:

Originally Posted by player1
Guess what?

Using those Russian files and grp unpacker, you can convert English version to have both Russian voiceovers and dubbed cutscenes in English.

1) First, use grp unpacker, you can find here in forums, to unpack all English grp files (very slow process). Unfortunatelly, you can't select to unpack just some files but need to do everything.

2) Then, from unpacked files copy only SOUNDS\CUTSCENES folder to your precursor folder (make SOUNDS folder in game installation folder, then copy CUTSCENES folder there)

3) At the end, replace English main.fat and gf_sounds.grp sound with those files from Russian version.

And that's it. Essentially, unpacked files are used by the game engine as an override, so they'll be used over packed files, if they are present.


Quote:

Originally Posted by player1
Ok, here is full, English voiced, cutscene override:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=UN4SUOH7

It's packed with 7zip, so it should be resistant to time-zone issues.

With this, and Russian voice files, you should have fully voiced game, that is still understandable for non-Russian speakers.

^There was discussion here, were was concluded that game can't use files unpacked from grp archives, as an override, if their modification date is different then expected. And that can happen when using WinRar for distribution, since it doesn't properly preserve modification date of files, when sharing between different times zones. 7-zip, on the other hand, works great.


Feel free to add something, if I missed it, from old thread.

player1 January 24th, 2011 19:04

The fix, all in one place:
Quote:

Originally Posted by redman5427
After watching this topic for the last week, I am now a bit confused on the steps to fix the sound problems in the gamergate version and am wondering if someone could summerize the steps again
thanks in advance


Quote:

Originally Posted by player1
Ok, first get Russian audio from here:

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=Y9AC6BQZ
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=PMNALDJX

Quote:

Originally Posted by badmofo
I had to split the archive coz of the 1GB upload maximum, I use WinRAR to decompress.

Copy both files included into your 'Precursors\packages' directory (Note that there's also a file called main.fat included, that is required too or you'll get errors)

I've tried it and it works fine, all of the ambient sounds can be heard again and it makes a huge difference. Hopefully it fixes the bug outs people have been experiencing.


This will fix bug with audio dropouts, that happen with English version, plus make game more enjoyable since there will be voiceovers for all dialogs (in Russian), instead of silence.

But, since that also converts cutscenes to Russain, and they have no subtitles, story will be difficult to follow.

So, you also need this to override Russian voice-overs in cutscenes with those from English version:
http://www.moddb.com/games/the-precu…-for-cutscenes

mirrors:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=UN4SUOH7
http://depositfiles.com/files/flp9axhaq

Just unpack to game folder. It will make new SOUNDS folder with English cutscene voices.

Feel free to add something, if I missed it, from old thread.

Grifman February 12th, 2011 00:38

I tried updating the sound files and go the following error message:

Data error in gf_sounds.grp. File is broken.

Any one have any idea?

FYI, I reloaded the download file to see if it was bad/corrupted and still go the same error message.

Further update, using the file prevents the game from starting, I get an error message.

player1 February 12th, 2011 01:26

You need both gf_sounds.grp and main.fat

Grifman February 12th, 2011 03:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by player1 (Post 1061049702)
You need both gf_sounds.grp and main.fat

I have both of them. But I now see I get a message that say I need to start extraction from a previous volume. Is that what you mean? And what does that mean anyway? Thanks.

EDIT: Nevermind, did some googling, think I figured it out. Thanks!

doglikesparky February 17th, 2011 00:17

So just to confirm, would everyone say that the full recommended process for installing the GamersGate version and getting all the English Language audio-visual goodness is as follows….?

1. Purchase, download and install Precursors (Hurrah! At last!)
2. Backup up certain files (Precursors.exe, VELoader.dll, vital.dll, resource.qrc)
3. Install Official Russian 1.1 DVD Patch
4. Replace files with backed up versions
5. Download and install Russian sound package
6. Download and install English cutscene sound files
7. Download and install Wesp5's Unofficial 1.3 Translation Patch
8. Install NoFilmGrain and ATI Flicker Fix if required
9. Get lost in virtual universe and forget to eat, sleep and interact with real people.

Wesp5 February 17th, 2011 10:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by doglikesparky (Post 1061050587)
3. Install Official Russian 1.1 DVD Patch
4. Replace files with backed up versions

This will revert any engine related 1.1 changes. Better find another way to circumvent the protection than the crack included with the GG 1.0 version.

Quote:

6. Download and install English cutscene sound files
That's not necessary anymore with my 1.3 patch…

doglikesparky February 18th, 2011 00:16

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wesp5 (Post 1061050654)
This will revert any engine related 1.1 changes. Better find another way to circumvent the protection than the crack included with the GG 1.0 version.

That's not necessary anymore with my 1.3 patch…

Many thanks Wesp5, and thanks also for the great work you've put in to bringing this to us!

But hang on a minute… the Gamers Gate version actually uses a CRACK? As in an illegal hack to circumvent anti-piracy DRM?

I presume this must actually be a legal hack produced by Deep Shadows - or couldn't they be bothered to produce a non-DRM version and allowed GG to release it with some script kiddie's dodgy efforts embedded?

I wondered why the files needed to be backed up before installing the patch, as suggested elsewhere. I thought it might be a language issue or something.

Wesp5 February 18th, 2011 10:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by doglikesparky (Post 1061050856)
But hang on a minute… the Gamers Gate version actually uses a CRACK? As in an illegal hack to circumvent anti-piracy DRM?

Yes. They told me this was because Deep Shadows didn't provide GamersGate with an unprotected executable and obviously the Starforce DVD protection didn't work with the digital distributed version. As far as I know this will be fixed in the upcoming 1.1 patch.

player1 February 18th, 2011 10:34

This also explains why patch 1.1 was never used, since there is no "traditional" crack for it. There is some sort of keygen from pirated release, to make 1.1 work, but you can't really pack that with original English game and keep some credibility. Right?

Wesp5 February 18th, 2011 10:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by player1 (Post 1061050934)
There is some sort of keygen from pirated release, to make 1.1 work, but you can't really pack that with original English game and keep some credibility. Right?

Exactly. But I think they plan on using the same activation mechanism to work with the serial numbers of the GamersGate versions instead of the original Russian ones.

player1 February 18th, 2011 10:41

Makes sense. It's digital distribution, anyway.


P.S.
Still, it is obvious that there was some fallout between GDI and Deep Shadows, which led to pretty much botched English release (of both DS games). I wonder what was it?

Wesp5 February 18th, 2011 15:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by player1 (Post 1061050940)
Still, it is obvious that there was some fallout between GDI and Deep Shadows, which led to pretty much botched English release (of both DS games). I wonder what was it?

I don't know. I guess the usual, the developers want more time and money to finish their game, the publishers are annoyed over endless delays and want to see results. Happens frequently!

doglikesparky February 19th, 2011 03:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wesp5 (Post 1061050928)
Yes. They told me this was because Deep Shadows didn't provide GamersGate with an unprotected executable and obviously the Starforce DVD protection didn't work with the digital distributed version. As far as I know this will be fixed in the upcoming 1.1 patch.

So this upcoming 1.1 patch is a proper patch for the English version I've got from GG? And did I read somewhere that you are involved in this? And if so, do you know if it will be a definitive patch that will fix the bugs and executables, put all the Russian stuff back but also update the English content, to make it not be crap!

I'm just wondering if I should hold off properly starting to play until that's released. Got plenty of other games to keep me occupied but I've wanted to play this game since I saw the first inklings of it on Gamespot etc. The concept and screenshots really reminded me of Outcast, with a bit of Morrowind and Mass Effect thrown in, all of which I love.

Anyone remember Outcast?

http://www.gog.com/en/gamecard/outcast/

EDIT: I'm such a sucker for nostalgia. One look at those screenshots, and then discovering someone's produced a patch to up the original game's max rez from 512x384 (yes really) to full HD, and that was me a new customer of GOG spending $6 on a 10 year old game. They gave me 4 free games for joining too, including Beneath A Steel Sky and Lure Of The Temptress!

Outcast at full HD: http://a.imageshack.us/img521/9436/outcastfhd.jpg

Wesp5 February 19th, 2011 11:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by doglikesparky (Post 1061051130)
So this upcoming 1.1 patch is a proper patch for the English version I've got from GG? And did I read somewhere that you are involved in this? And if so, do you know if it will be a definitive patch that will fix the bugs and executables, put all the Russian stuff back but also update the English content, to make it not be crap!

As far as I know this will be a proper patch including the official Russian 1.1 patch executables and my unofficial 1.3 patch translation. The Russian sound files will be offered as a seperate download, because they are quite big.

doglikesparky February 19th, 2011 18:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wesp5 (Post 1061051165)
As far as I know this will be a proper patch including the official Russian 1.1 patch executables and my unofficial 1.3 patch translation. The Russian sound files will be offered as a seperate download, because they are quite big.

Thanks Wesp5. I think I'm going to hold off for a bit until that's released - I'm actually having a lot of fun playing Outcast again at a decent resolution :)

Praetus March 30th, 2011 12:24

Hey, just registered to ask a query on this: I have the Beamdog version of the game, I tried installing the translation patch, but ended up with skipping / missing sounds.

I've downloaded the two archives for the sound packages, as suggested, but I noticed that there are two copies of the sounds.grp file, one with a "<—" sign after it. Do these two files need to be combined and, if so, what software would I require to do so?

I assume that, once these files are installed, i just reapply the translation patch to get the English cutscene voiceovers?

I didn't want to clutter the main thread area with another query, so I thought best to post here. Hope that's ok!

vistarnh March 31st, 2011 23:39

I think that sounds.grp is a split archive. Dl both and just use winrar and it should extract the entire file for you. then install the unofficial patch

NerevarX April 10th, 2011 14:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by Grifman (Post 1061049722)
I have both of them. But I now see I get a message that say I need to start extraction from a previous volume. Is that what you mean? And what does that mean anyway? Thanks.

EDIT: Nevermind, did some googling, think I figured it out. Thanks!

Hi,

Well I didn't figure it out. Do you mind posting what you did to get this to work?
I get the same "the crap is broken" message you posted.

And whoever put "u need both filez?". What the F dude?

You have files with the exact same names in both .rar files.
What happens when you extract to the same directory?
It overwrites it. So please explain in more detail what magical thing must be done for this be done the way you are thinking it in your head.

DoctorNarrative April 10th, 2011 15:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by NerevarX (Post 1061062574)
Hi,

Well I didn't figure it out. Do you mind posting what you did to get this to work?
I get the same "the crap is broken" message you posted.

And whoever put "u need both filez?". What the F dude?

You have files with the exact same names in both .rar files.
What happens when you extract to the same directory?
It overwrites it. So please explain in more detail what magical thing must be done for this be done the way you are thinking it in your head.

Like I said in the other thread I would help you if you weren't such a jerk. Here's a tip: learn how to use WinRar.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:40.
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch