RPGWatch Forums

RPGWatch Forums (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/index.php)
-   The Precursors (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=45)
-   -   Russian version (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12426)

zadokAllen January 25th, 2011 15:27

Russian version
 
Just got it off yuplay.ru

Game installs ok, activates too, but does not start - with "the application failed to initialize properly" error.

I doubt it`s down to my setup - Q6600/HD 4870/2 GB RAM/ XP SP3/DX 9.0c

Perhaps something to do with activation after all?

Tarash January 25th, 2011 15:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by zadokAllen (Post 1061046287)
Just got it off yuplay.ru

Game installs ok, activates too, but does not start - with "the application failed to initialize properly" error.

I doubt it`s down to my setup - Q6600/HD 4870/2 GB RAM/ XP SP3/DX 9.0c

Perhaps something to do with activation after all?

Just asking to make sure, do you have a dual monitor or two graphic cards?

The latest drivers for everything?

Tried to reinstall?

zadokAllen January 25th, 2011 16:48

Single monitor/graphics.
Catalyst 10.12 - month old.
Just reinstalled - same thing.

Incredibly frustrating…I`m trying to get this game for months now :(

Tarash January 25th, 2011 18:15

Ok.

You tried closing all background apps and see if that makes a difference?

Make sure if you do, that you only leave those that are necessary for Windows and maybe even your antivirus as well.

zadokAllen January 25th, 2011 18:28

Yeah, all the usual tricks. In fact my gaming machine is clean - all the firewalls etc are on the laptop. Still, the same error.

I`ve send them an email, but not holding my breath, since the site is strictly in Russian.

Gonna torrent the english version tomorrow, see how it goes. Thanx for replies anyway :)

Tarash January 25th, 2011 18:31

Sorry to hear that, don't see much else we can try for now.

If they don't reply, don't hold yourself back with downloading the game somewhere else.
You paid for it, its your right ;)

You're welcome.

lfc January 25th, 2011 20:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tarash (Post 1061046329)
don't hold yourself back with downloading the game somewhere else.
You paid for it, its your right ;)

technically it isn't but the interweb is the wild west, and i love it :D

badmofo January 25th, 2011 22:41

Hi dude perhaps check the directory it installed to, that Russian version might have created the game directory with strange characters in it. If yes then rename it to something else and try running it again.

zadokAllen January 25th, 2011 23:48

Kaaaa BOOOOM! :)

Thanks a milion, badmofo! It was as simple as that :)
(and much more sensible than my idea of installing Russian fonts :)

Now, to install all the fixes….

Also yuplay.ru hereby gets my Seal Of Approval. 8$ vs 30$ - c`mon :)

niadly January 26th, 2011 00:52

yup, you have to change the Cryllic to English (same for White Gold/Xenus II)

Tarash January 26th, 2011 07:09

Good to know wasn't aware of that yet.
Learned something again today.

zadokAllen January 26th, 2011 11:18

Ok folks - so the game`s running, with translation. But I can`t get the Russian 1.1 Dvd patch to work.

By default it installs to some russian-named directory in my main Precursors dir. If I change it to install directly to Precursors directory, it does that, but then the game won`t start - with "Failed to initialize" error.

Any ideas?

niadly January 26th, 2011 11:36

with the 1.1 patch, you need a serial # (do a search for the game + TRIVIUM)
if you have the english version, i dont think it can be patched. (im not 100% sure, though)

Tarash January 26th, 2011 11:50

I wasn't able to pach my English version from Gamersgate so as far as I know it ain't possible.

zadokAllen January 26th, 2011 13:13

I`m on Russian version.

Can`t find the crack on it`s own and can`t be bothered to download the whole torrent.

So I`m gonna leave it for a while as is- I was after mouse acceleration fix in the patch, but now I figured that "keyboard sensitivity" (bad translation) is actually "mouse sensitivity" in game`s options. Adjusting this helped a lot.

Wesp5 January 26th, 2011 14:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by zadokAllen (Post 1061046511)
I was after mouse acceleration fix in the patch, but now I figured that "keyboard sensitivity" (bad translation) is actually "mouse sensitivity" in game`s options. Adjusting this helped a lot.

That's actually a huge problem with my translation patch because it is used for keyboard sensitivity in the 1.0 version and for mouse acceleration in the 1.1 version. So unless I can include an update to 1.1 in the patch one of the versions will have the wrong label.

zadokAllen January 26th, 2011 14:41

Uhh…that is confusing. In fact- how do you actually check which version is the game? Is it possible? Perhaps mine (yuplay download) is 1.1 after all.

(By no means I wanted to detract from the quality of your translation - fantastic job sir! :)
The thing with mouse is strange though - it said `mouse` in russian (I can read that much) before install of your patch. Gotta check the version somehow…)

ToddMcF2002 January 26th, 2011 15:54

So is 1.1 a big improvement over 1.0?

zadokAllen January 26th, 2011 16:14

Hard to say - as with anything with this game :)
Try this.

Wesp5 January 26th, 2011 22:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by zadokAllen (Post 1061046528)
The thing with mouse is strange though - it said `mouse` in russian (I can read that much) before install of your patch. Gotta check the version somehow…)

Then you definetely have the 1.1 version. But they just swapped the Option instead of adding a new one, so I would need two different versions just for this.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:57.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch