RPGWatch Forums
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

RPGWatch Forums (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/index.php)
-   Gothic 3 (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Gothic 3 - System requirements & recommendations (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/showthread.php?t=145)

Gorath October 18th, 2006 23:31

Gothic 3 - System requirements & recommendations
 
Whatever all the publishers say, you shouldn´t try Gothic 3 if your PC is significantly slower than the configuaration marked in yellow. Red should theoretically be sufficient to run the game, but it would be a slide show.

CPU:
P4 1,6 GHz / XP 1600+
P4 2.0 GHz / XP 2200+
P4 3.0 GHz / A64 3000+
DualCore CPUs are supported. A 3500+ is fine.

RAM:
512 MB
1 GB
1.5 GB
recommended: 2 GB. reportedly 3 GB still makes a difference though.

Graphics card:
shader model 1.4 -> GeForce 5, most Radeons since 9000
GeForce 6600 / Radeon 9700 class
clearly faster than that
Recommended: At least a mainstream shader model 3 card.



Priorities:
1. A lot of RAM. More RAM = faster loading times.
2. At least a 3 GHz (or equivalent) CPU. More doesn´t hurt though.
3. A modern graphics card.

Sem October 19th, 2006 09:38

I just got my version and tried it with only 512 MB. I'd ordered another 1 GB but had to sent it back because it was a bad stick.

My graphics card (7800GS agp) has no problems with rendering the world but the loading times are horrible. Even on low it's a pita.

I'd better call the shop to see when my new RAM is being delivered.

darklord October 19th, 2006 11:21

Can't say loading times ever bothered me, as long as the game plays smoothly I'll be happy. :-)

Daniel.

Maylander October 19th, 2006 11:21

I've played it on both my laptop and regular computer, and I see significant better performance on my regular PC despite almost same specs. Probably because mobility cards don't have the same performance as normal ones.

Sem October 19th, 2006 15:16

Quote:

Originally Posted by darklord (Post 1394)
Can't say loading times ever bothered me, as long as the game plays smoothly I'll be happy. :-)

Daniel.

I'm talking about the INGAME loading times needed to load parts of the world in the RAM. They are VERY noticeable when you use only 512 MB.

darklord October 19th, 2006 15:29

Doh, ah well I should have 2gb tommorow when the game hopefully turns up! I'm going to trying running it at 1680x 1050 though, so I may have to lower a few options, only got a 6800gt! ;-)

Daniel.

JonNik October 19th, 2006 15:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by darklord (Post 1471)
Doh, ah well I should have 2gb tommorow when the game hopefully turns up! I'm going to trying running it at 1680x 1050 though, so I may have to lower a few options, only got a 6800gt! ;-)

Daniel.

Heh, you might want to settle for something less than that resolution…
It averages at 33-34 fps (according to FRAPS) on 1600x1200 16AF on my
X1900xt.

Unless you have an LCD monitor with 1680x 1050 as a native res…
In which case … HiddenX and Moriendor covered all the necessary
steps on the tweak thread I think…

Bartacus October 19th, 2006 21:13

I'm playing Gothic 3 on a AMD 64 3000+ with now 2GB RAM and a geforce 7800GS (yes, I too needed an agp card, Sem)

I must say that It still has the regular frame drop and I'm not exactly playing on what you can call high settings. From the moment I just go a bit higher settingswise, I just get to see ugly red blocks in the distance.

I surely hope that they bring out a patch to get out a few bugs too, but that's a different story.

kalniel October 20th, 2006 14:55

It's really hard to read yellow text on the white background for the 'light' forum scheme.

Can you try another colour?orange perhaps or maybe blue?

darklord October 20th, 2006 15:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by JonNik (Post 1476)
Heh, you might want to settle for something less than that resolution…
It averages at 33-34 fps (according to FRAPS) on 1600x1200 16AF on my
X1900xt.

Unless you have an LCD monitor with 1680x 1050 as a native res…
In which case … HiddenX and Moriendor covered all the necessary
steps on the tweak thread I think…

Well the game turned up but my 2gb of Ram hasn't yet. I figured lets try it out anway and it seems to be running nicely on 1680x 1050 (yep it's my LCD's native res) with just 1gb! I haven't played it extensively yet though. Any signs seem positive, the first fight with the orc ran fine. :-)

Daniel.

JonNik October 20th, 2006 15:11

Good to know (heh, good for you too ofcourse).
Just goes to say that the game IS optimized for
Nvidia Cards…

Do you have all settings on high ? A funny thing
is that though 6800GT is a good Card it is not exactly
light years ahead of a 6600GT. Friend of mine has
everything on low in his 6600GT + 1GB at 1024x768
and his performance sucks.

Does your card have 256 MB Ram ? That would explain
a lot I think…

darklord October 20th, 2006 18:27

Yeah it has 256mb of ram, and I'm only running setting on medium, I did notice after playing for about 3 hours it got a bit laggy in the rebels cave. I decided to reset to see if that would sort it out, conviently my 2mb of ram just turned up to, so we'll see what it;s like now! :-)

Daniel.

Bartacus October 21st, 2006 14:41

Additional info:

With vegation stuff disabled, I can now play gothic 3 at full detail. It's that one setting that ruined the game almost for me.

Bartacus October 21st, 2006 14:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by kalniel (Post 1773)
It's really hard to read yellow text on the white background for the 'light' forum scheme.

Can you try another colour?orange perhaps or maybe blue?

Perhaps you should change the background then -> It's one of the things I immediately did, cause I can't stand a whit background.

JonNik October 23rd, 2006 08:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by darklord (Post 1812)
Yeah it has 256mb of ram, and I'm only running setting on medium, I did notice after playing for about 3 hours it got a bit laggy in the rebels cave. I decided to reset to see if that would sort it out, conviently my 2mb of ram just turned up to, so we'll see what it;s like now! :-)

Daniel.

Best of luck.

My friend with the 6600 GT got his second gig too and it improved his
performance a lot, stuttering wise, but fps are still fairly low generally.

That combined with your good performance with the 256 6800 seems
to confirm my assumption that the game is texture-switching in 128 MB
cards even in low settings. Either that or there is something wrong with
his rig…

Meanwhile my fairly liberal tweaking forced me to drop to 1280x960…
Sure it looked Ok for starters but wait till you get to silden or Gildern…
Ouch… and I still get only playable fps nothing more…

kalniel October 23rd, 2006 21:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bartacus (Post 1962)
Perhaps you should change the background then -> It's one of the things I immediately did, cause I can't stand a whit background.

I shouldn't have to change colour scheme just to read information in a stickied thread :p Besides, I love the white scheme :D A simple change to orange would let everyone read it :)

Gorath October 23rd, 2006 22:45

But traffic lights use red / yellow / green. ;)

nameless hero October 24th, 2006 02:50

Quote:

CPU: Athlon 3200+, ~3.4GHz (Green)
AthlonXP or Athlon64? (okay, good)

Quote:

RAM: 512Megs. But this is only for loading isnt it, not for game performance?
Red. That´s not enough for good performance. You´re out.

Quote:

Graphics card: GeForce 6600 LE 256MB with Pixel Shader 3 (Green)
That´s a rather slow card, as indicated by the LE. Should be okay though.
Quote:

Gothic 3 runs on low for me, and the game performance is suffering tragically!!!
Don´t use the word "performance" if your PC belongs to the red category. ;)

Conclusion: Buy more RAM.

Gorath October 24th, 2006 05:48

Ups, I clicked "edit" instead of "quote". :blush:

Sem October 26th, 2006 09:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gorath (Post 2456)
But traffic lights use red / yellow / green. ;)

In a lot of other countries (amongst others the Netherlands they are red / orange / green.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:22.
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch