RPGWatch Forums

RPGWatch Forums (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/index.php)
-   Risen (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   How Do I Fix Key Bindings for Risen? (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16302)

CountChocula February 19th, 2012 11:57

How Do I Fix Key Bindings for Risen?
 
I've been unable to figure out how to adjust certain key bindings for this game.

I use an external keypad and cannot work with the default key bindings.

From what I gather, there is supposed to be a file named ConfigUser.xml in the steamapps/common/Risen/Data/ini folder.

There is a ConfigDefault.xml and several other files, but none of them has anything pertaining to the key bindings except for keyboard_and_console.txt, which seems to be simply a readme file.

If anyone else has a ConfigUser.xml file, can you paste it here for me to copy and create a new configuser.xml file? I need the list of all the key binding commands in order to change them to match my keypad.

Many thanks!

CountChocula February 20th, 2012 03:00

In case anyone else has this problem - I was able to find the folder where ConfigUser.xml is stored by doing a search in explorer for %AppData%

C:\Users\[insert username]\AppData\Local\Risen

CountChocula February 20th, 2012 08:22

I managed to fix the keybindings by adding the correct commands to the ConfigUser.xml file.

However, now I have a new, rather extreme problem.

The PC has no head! Is this common with Risen?

http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/48…9D35119D30490/

http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/48…507AE48CDBDBA/

Any ideas how to fix it? I assume this must be something to do with the ConfigUser.xml file

JDR13 February 20th, 2012 15:05

That 2nd pic made me laugh out loud… :)

So this didn't happen prior to making changes to the config file? What kind of keyboard are you using that won't allow you to just use the in-game menu to rebind keys?

CountChocula February 21st, 2012 04:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by JDR13 (Post 1061128153)
That 2nd pic made me laugh out loud… :)

So this didn't happen prior to making changes to the config file? What kind of keyboard are you using that won't allow you to just use the in-game menu to rebind keys?

Yes, perhaps because I edited the config file in Notepad?

I'm using a nostromo keypad and I need to use the cursor_up, cursor_down, etc. keys for the directional pad, as well as F7,F8, F2, F10 instead of W,A,S,D, and I use F11 for quicksave.

I was able to remap all the key bindings just fine. However, now the protagonist is a headless creature for some strange reason. (Could it be some kind of config setting related to meshes or textures?)

JDR13 February 21st, 2012 11:00

I wish I could be of more help, but I've honestly never seen this before. The only similar thing I can recall was in Gothic 3, where the PC would have no head if you used a demo save with the full game.

Have you tried the official forums yet?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:04.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch