RPGWatch Forums
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 Last »

RPGWatch Forums (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/index.php)
-   Gothic 3 (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   1.75 CPT released (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16936)

fragonard April 25th, 2012 03:36

1.75 CPT released
 
The new 1.75 patch is out on World of Gothic and it looks great. Just finished playing 30 minutes or so and it's beautiful with high detail on. Check it out, the CPT has really delivered.

Kostas April 25th, 2012 15:39

Full changelog and readme if anyone's interested.
According to the thread on WoG this patch is official so it should find its way into the Steam and GoG releases.

wiretripped April 25th, 2012 16:50

Awesomeness. Thanks for the info. :)

skavenhorde April 25th, 2012 17:02

This is a pleasant surprise. I haven't payed too much attention to Gothic 3 news since the last official CP which I thought was going to be the last.

Guess I'll have to reinstall Gothic 3 to try it out.

Edit: BTW it's 1.5 GB in case anyone was wondering.

JonNik April 25th, 2012 17:38

Hmm download links sorta dissapeared for me when I came back home…

joxer April 25th, 2012 17:40

Great they release this 2 days before Risen 2 is available…

What shall I do now? Install G3 and then paralelly play both games in a few days or what… Man…

JonNik, there are a couple of bugs within the patch so patience, it'll be downloadable tonight. ;)

JonNik April 25th, 2012 17:41

Well you will have to wait a bit either way:
Quote:

Originally Posted by RoiDanton
We located 2-3 bugs which nobody has found before release but now. So the patch is cancelled, probably until today's evening.

We are sorry about that.

Edit: oops somehow missed joxer's post

joxer April 25th, 2012 17:58

Since Kostaz mentioned it's described as "official" I've also asked on GOG forum if the patch will be downloadable there too, let's see what will they answer and hope it will be.

JonNik April 25th, 2012 18:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by joxer (Post 1061140534)
JonNik, there are a couple of bugs within the patch so patience, it'll be downloadable tonight. ;)

No rush. Just want to check it out, but I finished a G3 run just a couple of months or so ago and there aren't many games that can draw me away from my current Arx Fatalis replay anyways :)

SpoonFULL April 25th, 2012 18:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by joxer (Post 1061140534)
Great they release this 2 days before Risen 2 is available…

What shall I do now? Install G3 and then paralelly play both games in a few days or what… Man…

From the reviews I would suggest that you play Risen 2 first and then Gothic 3. I think that you will be dissapointed with Risen 2 if you played Gothic 3 first (Gothic 3 is on much higher scale at least with regards to the world size (>100hours), factions (4-5 factions that you can join or not) and therefore choices and consequences).

joxer April 25th, 2012 20:19

I finished G3 ages ago. But it was without those community patches and stuff. ;)
Nevertheless I've enjoyed it, but also because of some stutter problems and things like that, never replayed it - perhaps it's finally time to run it again.

JDR13 April 26th, 2012 01:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by SpoonFULL (Post 1061140549)
From the reviews I would suggest that you play Risen 2 first and then Gothic 3. I think that you will be dissapointed with Risen 2 if you played Gothic 3 first (Gothic 3 is on much higher scale at least with regards to the world size (>100hours), factions (4-5 factions that you can join or not) and therefore choices and consequences).

I don't think Gothic 3 and Risen 2 are really comparable. The settings are too different, imo.

Does anyone know what the recommended requirements are for Gothic 3 with the 1.75 patch? I assume they're at least slightly higher now with the added effects and greater draw distance.

Kostas April 26th, 2012 01:48

My guess would be that having an SSD is now the real game changer but here's what's in the readme:
Quote:

The previous profile of technical requirements appeared to be slightly understated for reasonable performance. Revised estimation:

Minimal requirements:
- Intel or AMD Single Core Processor (2.5 GHz)
- 1 GB RAM (1.5 GB with Windows Vista and 7)
- Windows XP
- ATI X1900 or nVidia 7900 with 256 MB RAM
- Mouse, keyboard, DVD drive
- DirectX 9.0c compatible sound card
- DirectX 9.0c (will be installed with the patch)
- 3 GB hard disk memory

Recommended requirements:
- Intel or AMD multi core CPU (3.0 GHz)
- 2 GB RAM (3 GB with Windows Vista and 7)
- Radeon HD 4860, Geforce 9800 with 512 MB RAM or more

JonNik April 26th, 2012 08:46

I'll do a before/after on the game start(*) during the weekend but I am not expecting to see significant FPS drop on a modern system (with at least a 1 GB Gfx card bought the last couple of years) myself either…

(* a very good benchmark due to the large melee and drawdistance outside of Ardea)

darkling April 26th, 2012 09:23

I think I'll give this another attempt. Whenever they post this patch again :)

JonNik April 26th, 2012 14:02

Patch back up:

Quote:

Originally Posted by RoiDanton
Mirrors:
Mad Vulture Games


For all of you who already downloaded the "old" patch 1.75 there is an update file so that you do not have download the whole patch again. Copy both files into the "Data" folder of your Gothic 3 installation.
Update for 1.75.14 (from 24.04.2012!!!)


JDR13 April 26th, 2012 14:11

Cool.. looking forward to hearing your feedback. I won't have time to play it myself anytime soon.

vurt April 26th, 2012 21:20

I was hoping the performance would've improved (since they use some new faster shader function now) but i think it seems a bit worse actually from 1.74. The small pauses occured very frequently now, they're short but it's annoying that they happen so often, takes you out of the experience. Standing still in one place and then rotating the camera around my character would freeze the screen, every 3-4 seconds or so. You'd think after a while it would have loaded everything in memory and it would be smooth, but no..

My system: Intel i7 @4,9GHz, 8GB RAM, GTX 5870 (1,5 GB), 2X intel SSD RAID0.
Everything on highest, but no ini setting to go beyond it..

In comparison the performance in Forgotten Gods was better, but that game also has an alomst completely dead game world so i guess they got away with the frequent pauses that way.

darkling April 26th, 2012 21:23

Are you serious?

How does anyone play this game with that kind of bug? They keep saying they fixed the stuttering, but with reports like that, well.. that's stupid.

vurt April 26th, 2012 21:35

Oblivion has stuttering too when loading new zones, but many people don't seem to mind.. personally i hate it, especially since you play those games mostly for the running around and exploring stuff aspect :) That's the beauty and those games, the frequent pauses breaks the immersion in a big way and kills the fun of exploring.

I think this will be the last time i try Gothic3, just not worth bothering with it any more.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:48.
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 Last »

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch