RPGWatch Forums

RPGWatch Forums (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/index.php)
-   The Precursors (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=45)
-   -   how to edit sound files (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17908)

ownederd August 29th, 2012 06:34

how to edit sound files
 
i'm trying to make an mini sound fix by properly syncing the reload sound file for the sniper rifle

i edited C:\Program Files\Gamepitstop.ru\Precursors\Sounds\WEAPONS\PLA YER\SVD_RELOAD.wav

i'm having trouble - it isn't cached in

how do i resolve this?

niadly January 14th, 2013 21:37

change file properties modify date of new wav file to match original wav file.
I Use Attribute Magic (just google it, its free)


make sure the new file length is the same as the old one too

Wesp5 January 15th, 2013 20:06

And if you're successful, upload it somewhere and I will include it in the next UP :)!

niadly January 15th, 2013 22:31

I already updated the m16 reload, it sounds beefy now. I tried to do the AK reload, but the game wouldnt recognize it. it seems i can only change the files that are already in the Sounds override folder. I cant take files from the russian version and put them in the english version, which sucks, becuase i could replace all the games missing sounds this way.

Wesp5 January 19th, 2013 09:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by niadly (Post 1061179780)
I cant take files from the russian version and put them in the english version, which sucks, because i could replace all the games missing sounds this way.

So the English version has not only the Russian speech missing but other sounds as well? Does the Russian sound-pack offered somewhere help with these issues?

niadly January 20th, 2013 07:02

the russian sound pack solves all the audio issues with the English versions.
you still get no sound when you change weapons to a new one( cocking sound) , but im not sure if that sound is in the russian game.

I meant when i use the GRPunpacker, I get all the audio files in the game. all of them, including all of the in game voices and sound. problem is, a lot of these files arent coded as OGGs or WAV files, theyre RF2 files. I can edit or change all day long, but i wouldnt be able to re-encode an audio file back into an RF2.(unless theres a hidden encoder in the game somewhere)
right now, i can only mess with ogg or wav files.

and Oggs are a bitch, becuase of the re-encoder which has issues working on my PC. when i type the command in the dos window -
C:\Users\ME>C:\OGG_ENCODER.EXE Format: ogg_encoder <insert wav file here> 1.0

it should create a new encoded ogg file. instead it creates a 0kb file called 1.0 (with .0 as the file ext) Ive tried it a bunch of times slightly different, but the rsult is the same. instead of using 1.0 as the quality value, it creates a new file with that name.

Wesp5 January 20th, 2013 11:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by niadly (Post 1061180365)
Oggs are a bitch, becuase of the re-encoder which has issues working on my PC.

Okay, we can handle any additional sounds you want to add like the cutscene voice overs. Send me the original ogg for the correct date and file path and the new wave, then I will convert them and include them in the next unofficial patch!

ownederd February 11th, 2013 03:20

bumping this thread

thanks for the replies guys - if i get my hands on the files again, i'll fix them for sure


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:02.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch