RPGWatch Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2

RPGWatch Forums (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/index.php)
-   News Comments (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Gothic 2 - Now Available on Good Old Games! (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6343)

txa1265 February 4th, 2009 01:08

Gothic 2 - Now Available on Good Old Games!
 
As noted here:
Due to some last-minute trouble we had to postpone the release of SpellForce, however we're releasing another great RPG in its stead - Gothic 2 Gold.

Gothic 2 Gold is a third-person role-playing game by Piranha Bytes. The game's storyline picks up where the first part left off, three months after the protagonist the Nameless Hero, is rescued by Xardas. He soon learns he has much yet to do, as Khorins faces another threat. Its only means of salvation lies in an ancient artifact - the Eye of Innos - which lies in the hands of Lord Hagen, leader of the paladins. If he fails to retrieve it, war and ruin will befall the land. If you want to get hyped some more, check out the intro movies on our YouTube channel.
Download it here for $9.99!
More information.

Dez February 4th, 2009 01:08

Now there is a rpg with big R :). If you still haven't (for some weird reason) played this masterpiece..now is your change.

txa1265 February 4th, 2009 04:53

Or if you, like me, don't want to be bothered with 4 CD's for install and having to keep one in to play …

Corwin February 4th, 2009 05:21

Wonder if it would work on a 64 bit OS. My box copy of G2 will install, but won't run. Is there anyway to check or ask before buying?

stealth February 4th, 2009 08:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by Corwin (Post 1060931699)
Wonder if it would work on a 64 bit OS. My box copy of G2 will install, but won't run. Is there anyway to check or ask before buying?

It should work. They promised that there games are compatible with XP and Vista and that should include both 32 and 64 bit editions. They postponed the Vaxworks release for weeks due to a 64-bit issue. I bought it yesterday and do have a 64-bit system. I may be able to try it later to day and will post my findings.

JDR13 February 4th, 2009 09:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by txa1265 (Post 1060931696)
Or if you, like me, don't want to be bothered with 4 CD's for install and having to keep one in to play …


Gothic Universe …. all 3 Gothic games for $30….on DVD.

txa1265 February 4th, 2009 11:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by JDR13 (Post 1060931721)
Gothic Universe …. all 3 Gothic games for $30….on DVD.

Do you need the DVD to play? My whole thought is netbook ease more than anything. Already have G1 on there, will now have G2 Gold, and there won't be a netbook to run G3 until 2015 … heck, high end computers can barely do it now …

JDR13 February 4th, 2009 11:41

Mmmm, good question, I don't have G2 installed right now. I do know you don't need the DVD to play Gothic 1, but the CD was never needed for the original release either.

Gorath February 4th, 2009 12:15

The DVD check for G3 was disabled in one of the CPs.

hishadow February 4th, 2009 12:26

I just got it and just begun the game (first time). Time have not been kind to the graphics though! :D

Link for widescreenfix: http://www.widescreengamingforum.com….php/Gothic_II

Screenshot:




Zephyr February 4th, 2009 16:26

I beg to differ on the graphics point. For me, part of the charm and attraction of G1, G2, and NoTR is the game graphics. I'm more interested in story and game-play than eye-candy. Gothic graphics is not a distraction for me at all. YMMV.

hishadow February 4th, 2009 17:03

My comment for before I had tuned the graphics a bit (forced AA+AF + some other). It's actually pretty decent now (screenshots).

It wasn't a complaint, but just to note that this type of polygonal graphics fade pretty quickly in comparison to more artistic 2d-graphics.

Ergonpandilus February 4th, 2009 21:26

Love It!
 
What widescreenfix?! I haven't played the game since got the Ws LCD Screen, because I thought the image is strencthed, but those screenshots are not.

Where can I get the patch? The link doesn't say it, or is the game stretched in widescreen at all?

stealth February 4th, 2009 23:14

Well, so far no luck on Vista 64. Game doesn't launch but I still get a Gothic2.exe process which has to be killed manually.

Corwin February 4th, 2009 23:25

That's what worried me; I get the same thing with my original boxed version of G2 on XP64. Better tell GoG before people riot!! :)

Kostas February 5th, 2009 00:06

I think there's a fix/patch for this @WoG but I hoped they'd fix it.

Corwin February 5th, 2009 00:47

I looked there, but couldn't find it if there is one. Does anyone have a link to a patch?

txa1265 February 5th, 2009 01:18

Well that is a shame. I am downloading now, hopefully performance on netbook will be good.

hishadow February 5th, 2009 07:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ergonpandilus (Post 1060931796)
What widescreenfix?! I haven't played the game since got the Ws LCD Screen, because I thought the image is strencthed, but those screenshots are not.

Where can I get the patch? The link doesn't say it, or is the game stretched in widescreen at all?

You just follow the instructions given and update your Gothic.ini with zVidResFullscreenX, zVidResFullscreenY with your monitors native resolution (mine is 1680x1050) and set extendedMenu=1.

stealth February 5th, 2009 09:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by Corwin (Post 1060931811)
That's what worried me; I get the same thing with my original boxed version of G2 on XP64. Better tell GoG before people riot!! :)

I have posted on the gog forums. It seems some people can run it on a 64-bit system.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:48.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch