RPGWatch Forums

RPGWatch Forums (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tech Help (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Reinstalling Win XP (http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7160)

Ubereil May 7th, 2009 10:35

Reinstalling Win XP
 
I've finally gotten around to reinstall windows on my old computer so my brother can use that one (I'm going to format the entire thing and install Win XP+ some security stuff and then hand it over to him to do what he wants with it). The problem is that every time I try to run the windows installer it says there are no HD's on the computer. The problem might be that my SATA unit isn't the default on the MoBo but rather a newly installed SATA card on said MoBo. But Windows XP is still working., it finds both my HD's and I've installed WinXP on this computer with this setup before. So any ideas what might be wrong or what I might do to fix this?

Übereil

bjon045 May 7th, 2009 10:45

You need a SATA driver for it on a floppy disk to put it in during the first stages of the install process.

hishadow May 7th, 2009 10:45

Go into the bios and see if you can set SATA/IDE to combability/or-something-similar.

Zakhary May 7th, 2009 11:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by bjon045 (Post 1060947455)
You need a SATA driver for it on a floppy disk to put it in during the first stages of the install process.

Yeah, or slipstream it into the media with something like Nlite.
However, this is only required if AHCI or RAID is enabled in bios.
Like hishadow pointed out, just go to bios and disable AHCI / RAID.

Ubereil May 7th, 2009 13:25

I've combed the entire BIOS set up, looked in every menue but I can't find that many RAID/SATA related stuff. AHCI isn't in the BIOS. Thigs that might be related:

Enable/disable the OnChip SATA BOOTROM. Default is enabled. Disabling it didn't help.
Enable/disable the OnBoard Promise Control. Here you can choose the operating modes RAID and Onboard IDE Operat. Enabled with the IDE operat is default. Turning it off didn't work.

Disabling both didn't work either. So, I guess I'm making a floppy with the SATA drivers on it… :D

Edit: And that's when I remembered the box that came with the new SATA-board. When I opened it I found a disk containing the SATA driver… So, now it's working! Thanks guys. :)

Übereil

Gorath May 7th, 2009 14:00

I can recommend the slipstream thing. It's quite easy and saves a lot of time because the latest service pack gets automatically integrated.

Turok May 8th, 2009 04:42

Use a floppy with the drivers, if you dont have a floppy just use nlite and add the ahci drivers to the windows.
________
Starliner

Ubereil May 8th, 2009 12:41

For the record, Windows is already installed now. I've gotten all the help I needed. You don't have to keep helping me.

Übereil

Prime Junta May 8th, 2009 17:58

That's us, positively overflowing with helpfulness.

immersiongamer June 24th, 2009 18:16

Windows Xp definitely has it's problems, but I much prefer it to Vista.

Corwin June 25th, 2009 00:45

I run both and each has its own unique issues. I'm hoping/praying/trusting/etc that Win7 will be an improvement on both!! My son (an official beta tester) is quite impressed with it.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:06.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch