|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Gothic 1/2 » Character rubberbanding & running in place?

Default Character rubberbanding & running in place?

November 13th, 2008, 06:56
Hi again !

I've been playing through Gothic II but have been repeatedly annoyed by how my character will be running from one place to another and suddenly slow down and seemingly begin to run in place and sometimes even rubberband back a couple feet.

Is this intrinsic to the game? Is there a fix?
Drithius is online now

Drithius

Drithius's Avatar
Misbegotten Alien

#1

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,451

Default 

November 13th, 2008, 09:48
Hmm, I've noticed the slowdowns here and there, for a few seconds, but nothing else (generally when entering an area where a lot is going on, such as Khorinis). Probably has something to do with settings or hardware, but hard to say really. What are your specs anyway?
Maylander is offline

Maylander

SasqWatch

#2

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bergen
Posts: 5,431
Send a message via MSN to Maylander

Default 

November 13th, 2008, 12:42
I've never noticed that 'rubberband back a couple feet'. The slowing down is due to a lack of virtual memory I believe. All the gothics were RAM hoggers, so like Maylander said: What are your specs?

so very, very tired (Star Trek XI quote according to the Simpsons)
Bartacus is offline

Bartacus

Bartacus's Avatar
BartWatch

#3

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belgium - Flanders - Antwerp
Posts: 1,538

Default 

November 13th, 2008, 17:48
I have a pretty up-to-date system and Fraps is telling me I'm running at 60fps (max for lcd monitor).

Core II duo @3Ghz
3.25gb RAM (32bitXP limitation)
8800gtx video card
etc.

…While we're sort of on the subject, is there any way to speed up alt-tabbing short of running the game in a window?
Drithius is online now

Drithius

Drithius's Avatar
Misbegotten Alien

#4

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,451

Default 

November 13th, 2008, 21:38
What do you have your VM set at? And what is your sound card vs game setting?

Bart and Corwin should just admit that when it gets down to it, I will have the final say.
Cm is offline

Cm

Cm's Avatar
Sentinel of Light

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Missouri USA
Posts: 2,106
Send a message via Skype™ to Cm

Default 

November 14th, 2008, 02:21
i normally had stuttering problems when moving into dense foliage but that seemed a feature prevalent in the Gothic series.

anyway, this seems to be graphical glitch. try setting your graphics details to 'medium' to see if the problems persist. if it does try upgrading the graphics drivers.

Intel C2D E4500 @2.20GHz Kingston 2GB RAM (DDR2 667) MSI NX 9800GT (512MB DDR3)
lanux128 is offline

lanux128

Sentinel

#6

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 461

Default 

November 14th, 2008, 02:55
Heya, sorry for the delay. VM? Video Mode? It's at 1600x1200 with everything but cloud shadows maxed. Like I said though, I'm at max fps the majority of the time.

As for sound card settings, it's set for Miles Fast; although I have a XiFi sound card, I haven't had any trouble with this setting.

I was playing earlier and didn't notice the issue - it does seem to come and go.
Drithius is online now

Drithius

Drithius's Avatar
Misbegotten Alien

#7

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,451

Default 

November 14th, 2008, 11:54
vm = virtual memory -> You can change that in one of the property windows of 'my computer'.
If the problem occurs only in Khorinis, don't be alerted but that's 'normal'.

so very, very tired (Star Trek XI quote according to the Simpsons)
Bartacus is offline

Bartacus

Bartacus's Avatar
BartWatch

#8

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belgium - Flanders - Antwerp
Posts: 1,538

Default 

November 14th, 2008, 22:05
Well, it hasn't happened again in the last 2 days of playing (go figure). I've even gone back to where it was especially bad (behind tavern outside Khoronis) and have not been able to repeat it.

Weird
Drithius is online now

Drithius

Drithius's Avatar
Misbegotten Alien

#9

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,451
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Gothic 1/2 » Character rubberbanding & running in place?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:48.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch