|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Gothic 1/2 » Gothic I/II tweaking advice

Default Gothic I/II tweaking advice

March 6th, 2009, 23:03
I am about to play thru Gothic I and II in anticipation of CP1.70 for Gothic III.

There is abundant tweaking knowledge out there for Gothic III so I am good there. However, I am looking for tweaking tips for Gothic I and II to squeeze every last drop of IQ out of these aging engines.

I have a good PC, and would like to know what texture packs, ini file tweaks, etc. are available.

I have found ThielHater and Freddys texture packs for Gothic I, and am looking for more of that sort of stuff.

Thanks!
wynams is offline

wynams

wynams's Avatar
Watchdog

#1

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: PAC NW
Posts: 168

Default 

March 7th, 2009, 05:41
You can find most of the files you need in our games DB. Search for "fps patch" or similar terms in the forum.
I don't have time to explain more in the next few days.
Gorath is offline

Gorath

Gorath's Avatar
Prime Evil
RPGWatch Team

#2

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,824

Default 

March 8th, 2009, 13:11
Gothic 2 ran already very well on a4y old pc, so there is no reason for tweaking it a lot.

so very, very tired (Star Trek XI quote according to the Simpsons)
Bartacus is offline

Bartacus

Bartacus's Avatar
BartWatch

#3

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belgium - Flanders - Antwerp
Posts: 1,538

Default 

March 9th, 2009, 20:18
Gothic 1:

You need
- the latest patch (if necessary)
- the mod player kit
- the fps patch
- and then every other patch or texture pack you like.
Gorath is offline

Gorath

Gorath's Avatar
Prime Evil
RPGWatch Team

#4

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,824

Default 

March 9th, 2009, 20:40
Thanks much Gorath!

Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
Gothic 2 ran already very well on a4y old pc, so there is no reason for tweaking it a lot.
Oh, I am not worried about it running well. I am worried about it running well with the engine and all of its variables being tweaked out to run well and look fantastic!

Cheers!
wynams is offline

wynams

wynams's Avatar
Watchdog

#5

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: PAC NW
Posts: 168

Default 

March 9th, 2009, 20:49
Check if the texture packs include a blue sky patch. If not you want that too. WoG might have a couple of tools to handle the mods. Not sure though.
Gorath is offline

Gorath

Gorath's Avatar
Prime Evil
RPGWatch Team

#6

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,824

Default 

March 15th, 2009, 05:55
Thanks again Gorath.

I got everything installed and running nicely.
Patch 1.08k
Player Kit 1.08k
Thiel Hater's Textures
Freddy's Textures
and the FPS Patch

Maxed out the ini … results:
http://tinyurl.com/byj9gz
wynams is offline

wynams

wynams's Avatar
Watchdog

#7

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: PAC NW
Posts: 168

Default 

March 15th, 2009, 10:02
You can get some decent graphics by overriding antialiasing+anisotropic-filtering with your graphics-card. If you have Nvidia you can set it up from Nvidia Control Panel -> 3d Setting -> Manage 3d Settings and add the Gothic 2 exe there, then make the adjustments for AA+AF (result).
hishadow is offline

hishadow

Level N+1

#8

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern parts of Norway
Posts: 1,140

Default 

March 15th, 2009, 10:50
Originally Posted by wynams View Post
Maxed out the ini … results:
http://tinyurl.com/byj9gz
Te result is great,dammit installing Gothic 1……
Kostas is offline

Kostas

Kostas's Avatar
Dormant Watcher

#9

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dear Green Place
Posts: 1,649

Default 

March 15th, 2009, 17:11
Time has been most unkind to the trees and water around the world of Gothic I. However, everything else has aged pretty well.

The bonus is this is my first play of I (played II to about 30-40% thru) … I never understood what everyone saw in the Gothic series … perhaps my mindset has changed from the first time I dabbled in G2, but the atmosphere of this game is very probably great
wynams is offline

wynams

wynams's Avatar
Watchdog

#10

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: PAC NW
Posts: 168

Default 

March 15th, 2009, 17:16
Originally Posted by hishadow View Post
You can get some decent graphics by overriding antialiasing+anisotropic-filtering with your graphics-card. If you have Nvidia you can set it up from Nvidia Control Panel -> 3d Setting -> Manage 3d Settings and add the Gothic 2 exe there, then make the adjustments for AA+AF (result).
Your screenshot is making me look forward to playing G2!

I'm an ATI guy and I do have 8x/16x forced as well as adaptive AA and Mip,ap Detail cranked on my shots of Gothic 1.

I will post some ATI screens of G2 for comparisons sake soon.

Thanks hishadow!
wynams is offline

wynams

wynams's Avatar
Watchdog

#11

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: PAC NW
Posts: 168
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Gothic 1/2 » Gothic I/II tweaking advice
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:25.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch