|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Risen 2 » Risen » Improved graphics for Risen

Default Improved graphics for Risen

October 10th, 2009, 06:36
I'll make 1 more comparison the next time I play. I'll try to get it in a forest scenery. Although, I wish they created the same 'blurry scenery' effect which was in G3, that was beautiful.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (85.6 KB, 133 views)
File Type: jpg 4.jpg (88.7 KB, 130 views)
Guybrush is offline

Guybrush

Watcher

#21

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 45

Default 

October 10th, 2009, 13:37
The blurry scenery looks like crap, not sure what you were seeing in G3, it kills all details.
mastorofpuppetz is offline

mastorofpuppetz

Watcher

#22

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 60

Default 

October 11th, 2009, 14:06
Here's some comparision pictures.

Drawing distance:

Before


After

Shadows:

Before


After

Vegetation:

Before


After
Last edited by Ergonpandilus; October 11th, 2009 at 22:14.
Ergonpandilus is offline

Ergonpandilus

Ergonpandilus's Avatar
The Guardian

#23

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 486

Default 

October 11th, 2009, 14:08
This does not work for the steam version, anyone know how to get this to work in the steam version?
mastorofpuppetz is offline

mastorofpuppetz

Watcher

#24

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 60

Default 

October 11th, 2009, 14:11
Are you able to find configUser.xml and configDefault.xml files?
Ergonpandilus is offline

Ergonpandilus

Ergonpandilus's Avatar
The Guardian

#25

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 486

Default 

October 11th, 2009, 14:22
Its in the same place, but when I extract it there does not work, weird.
mastorofpuppetz is offline

mastorofpuppetz

Watcher

#26

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 60

Default 

October 11th, 2009, 16:18
What happens when you replace the file and start the game?

You could try to manually compare the files and copy the new lines from my xml to yours.
Ergonpandilus is offline

Ergonpandilus

Ergonpandilus's Avatar
The Guardian

#27

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 486

Default 

October 11th, 2009, 17:05
Can't see the shadows and vegetation screens.
Kostas is offline

Kostas

Kostas's Avatar
Dormant Watcher

#28

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dear Green Place
Posts: 1,631

Default 

October 11th, 2009, 18:53
Works fine on my Steam version.
Alistair is offline

Alistair

Sentinel

#29

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 398

Default 

October 11th, 2009, 22:15
Images fixed.

Alternatively, you can try to use this method.
Ergonpandilus is offline

Ergonpandilus

Ergonpandilus's Avatar
The Guardian

#30

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 486

Default 

October 12th, 2009, 01:07
Hey Ergonpandilus, your character in the first two screens looks like a cockroach standing up, lol .
Guybrush is offline

Guybrush

Watcher

#31

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 45

Default 

October 12th, 2009, 01:36
"To make these changes apply, you need to delete your configUser.xml file and reconfigure your settings."

But aren't the changes lost if I delete the file?

I thought only the correct lines have to be editied.
Gorath is offline

Gorath

Gorath's Avatar
Prime Evil
RPGWatch Team

#32

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,771

Default 

October 12th, 2009, 02:45
You only need to delete configuser.xml, if you make the changes directly to defaulconfig.xml (in Risen folder).
Ergonpandilus is offline

Ergonpandilus

Ergonpandilus's Avatar
The Guardian

#33

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 486

Default 

October 12th, 2009, 03:01
Got it working after, strange.
mastorofpuppetz is offline

mastorofpuppetz

Watcher

#34

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 60

Default 

October 12th, 2009, 09:15
Originally Posted by mastorofpuppetz View Post
Got it working after, strange.
Great!

Hey Ergonpandilus, your character in the first two screens looks like a cockroach standing up, lol .
Heh, yes it does look like a cockroach. But that shield is actually very beautiful and has a nice glittering effect on it.
Ergonpandilus is offline

Ergonpandilus

Ergonpandilus's Avatar
The Guardian

#35

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 486

Default 

October 12th, 2009, 15:56
The difference in the Drawing distance is amazing.
I'll definitely apply it once I have a better rig.
Thanks
Kostas is offline

Kostas

Kostas's Avatar
Dormant Watcher

#36

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dear Green Place
Posts: 1,631

Default 

October 12th, 2009, 16:08
Looks great, but what kind of system would you need to be able to play like that? I imagine only a very high-end rig would be able to run Risen smoothly with that draw distance.

My mid-range rig (Core 2 Duo 6700, 4GB RAM, 8800GTS 512) runs Risen pretty smooth at the default draw distance at 1280x1024 with all options on high, but struggles a bit in certain places - Harbor City, the Swamp during weather effects, etc.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#37

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,478

Default 

October 12th, 2009, 16:42
Originally Posted by Ergonpandilus View Post
Here's some comparision pictures.
FYI, you can use [ img="caption text" ] to provide descriptions or some more detailed info for large images when you click on them.

"Mystery is important. To know everything, to know the whole truth, is dull. There is no magic in that. Magic is not knowing, magic is wondering about what and how and where." ~ Cortez, from The Longest Journey
Arhu is offline

Arhu

Arhu's Avatar
Feline Wizard
RPGWatch Team

#38

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,312

Default 

October 12th, 2009, 17:18
Thanks for the advice Arhu.

@JDR13:
I'm currently running Risen in 1680x1050 (with those tweaks) with AMD Phenon II 905E x4, 4GB and ATI Radeon 4850 in Win7. So I don't either have that powerful rig, but the frame rate is constantly 30 or more. I've heard that Risen is quite CPU hungry, so maybe that Phenon II is helping me… And you can of course take only part of the tweaks or change them whatever suits you.
Ergonpandilus is offline

Ergonpandilus

Ergonpandilus's Avatar
The Guardian

#39

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 486

Default 

October 13th, 2009, 20:48
Originally Posted by JDR13 View Post
Looks great, but what kind of system would you need to be able to play like that? I imagine only a very high-end rig would be able to run Risen smoothly with that draw distance.

My mid-range rig (Core 2 Duo 6700, 4GB RAM, 8800GTS 512) runs Risen pretty smooth at the default draw distance at 1280x1024 with all options on high, but struggles a bit in certain places - Harbor City, the Swamp during weather effects, etc.
I think turning the graphics up does make this video limited. Looking at Task Manager, my E6600 seems to be running one core at 80% and the other around 60%. My GTX 260 is giving me fluid frames though, with the draw distance tweaked right up. I can feel it slowing in some cases, but not down to anything unacceptable.
Alistair is offline

Alistair

Sentinel

#40

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 398

Tags
graphics
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Risen 2 » Risen » Improved graphics for Risen
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:19.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch