|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » General RPG » Pool of radiance 2 and vista?

Default Pool of radiance 2 and vista?

September 29th, 2009, 19:06
Sorry I fixed the link. It should work with XP. (Edit: Actually now that I read the description for the ACT some more, it looks like to be geared towards Vista, but it might still work with XP, or there may be a version of it for XP) I wrote the guide with Vista in mind. Also, in XP I think it should let you easily disable Hardware Acceleration via control panel or dxdiag.

Avoid the Crazy Chicken. It is childish. Don't do it. We beg you.
leth is offline

leth

leth's Avatar
Watchdog

#21

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 205

Default 

September 29th, 2009, 22:04
Originally Posted by leth View Post
Quick How to adapted from the fix I used for PST:
1. Download and install the microsoft application compatiblity toolkit:
MS ACT
Typical Microsoft : They even give tools names that sound like being the direct offspring of an marketing team …

“ Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius – and a lot of courage – to move in the opposite direction.“ (E.F.Schumacher, Economist, Source)
Alrik Fassbauer is offline

Alrik Fassbauer

Alrik Fassbauer's Avatar
TL;DR

#22

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Old Europe
Posts: 15,849

Default 

September 29th, 2009, 22:09
Originally Posted by leth View Post
Quick How to adapted from the fix I used for PST:
1. Download and install the microsoft application compatiblity toolkit:
MS ACT
2. Start the 'Compatibility Administrator' with administrator rights.
3. Click the 'New' Button
4. Right click the new database. Select 'Create new application fix…'
5. Name your program and vendor however you like. Browse to your por2.exe (I actually don't know the exact name of the executable for POR2, so this is a guess) file. Click next
6. Select 'None' for operating system modes. Click Next. Tick the 'ForceDirectDrawEmulation' compatibility fix. (No need to select additional compatibility modes)
8. Click next and finish.
9. Save your database.
10. Right click the database and select install. This will install the database.
11. Close the compatibility administrator and start POR2. This should (hopefully) fix your problems.
Thanks for the info. I didn't know the problem can be solved with Microsoft Application Compability.
Gokyabgu is offline

Gokyabgu

Gokyabgu's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#23

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sigil
Posts: 759

Default 

September 29th, 2009, 22:29
It works. Thanks again. It runs a bit slow now, but it's better then graphical gliches. I also want to share this solution in gamebanshee's forums. There are some guys there, who have same problems with Por2.
Gokyabgu is offline

Gokyabgu

Gokyabgu's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#24

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sigil
Posts: 759

Default 

September 29th, 2009, 23:40
Glad that it helped, esp. to feed the hunger of fellow RPG addicts. Btw, I forgot to mention that the fix is permanent, so you don't have to redo it again.

Avoid the Crazy Chicken. It is childish. Don't do it. We beg you.
leth is offline

leth

leth's Avatar
Watchdog

#25

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 205

Default 

October 5th, 2009, 08:51
Leth, thanks. I also decided to reinstall PoR2 recently and it was impossible to even get the game running until I tried your solution which works perfectly.

Mankind must put an end to war or war will put an end to mankind. - John F Kennedy
An eye for an eye, and soon the whole world is blind. - Mahatma Gandhi
The world is my country. To do good is my religion. My mind is my own church. This simple creed is all we need to enjoy peace on earth. - Thomas Paine
JemyM is offline

JemyM

JemyM's Avatar
Okay, now roll sanity.

#26

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,027
Send a message via ICQ to JemyM Send a message via MSN to JemyM

Default 

October 5th, 2009, 12:58
Np, hmm, all this talk of PoR2. How has it aged over the years? I never finished it, maybe I should give it another try.

Avoid the Crazy Chicken. It is childish. Don't do it. We beg you.
leth is offline

leth

leth's Avatar
Watchdog

#27

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 205

Default 

October 5th, 2009, 15:28
I have noted a peculiar pattern recently. Since games tend to get less and less hardcore, less and less advanced, with less and less depth, titles that was once average or poor improve over time.

How have it aged? Not at all I would say. It's still the old title it used to be, with decent graphics, a clunky interface, combat that will convince you that turn-based can be incredibly boring, and finally a simplified/downcut D&D engine.

Compared to other recent offerings though, if one have already played all the old Black Isle, Bioware or Troika classics, PoR2 might be like a bit muddy oasis in a desert. While it's unquestionably worse than titles like Baldur's Gate or Icewind Dale, I find the title more enjoyable than titles like Oblivion.

I have installed the speedpatch and that helps a bit to endure the longer battles you end up with in the dungeon.

Mankind must put an end to war or war will put an end to mankind. - John F Kennedy
An eye for an eye, and soon the whole world is blind. - Mahatma Gandhi
The world is my country. To do good is my religion. My mind is my own church. This simple creed is all we need to enjoy peace on earth. - Thomas Paine
JemyM is offline

JemyM

JemyM's Avatar
Okay, now roll sanity.

#28

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,027
Send a message via ICQ to JemyM Send a message via MSN to JemyM

Default 

October 5th, 2009, 16:02
On Jemy's comment on PoR2 its sparked a renewed curiosity for the game.

wow leth, this looks to be a revelation. I am going to use this to try and get Riven to run. I was using Virtual PC.

Leth, do you want to add this app to the useful free files etc. thread in the tech forums?

Developer of The Wizard's Grave Android game. Discussion Thread:
http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/showthread.php?t=22520
Lucky Day is offline

Lucky Day

Lucky Day's Avatar
Daywatch

#29

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Uncanny Valley
Posts: 3,173

Default 

October 8th, 2009, 22:18
I didn't even know we have a thread for that… I will add it, if it is not there already. thanks for the heads up

Avoid the Crazy Chicken. It is childish. Don't do it. We beg you.
leth is offline

leth

leth's Avatar
Watchdog

#30

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 205

Default 

October 9th, 2009, 07:25
Originally Posted by Lucky Day View Post
On Jemy's comment on PoR2 its sparked a renewed curiosity for the game.

I also just recently got PoR2, looking forward to playing it when I have time.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#31

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,446

Default 

October 9th, 2009, 07:38
I wish someone would sticky this

http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/showt…?t=2281&page=8

Developer of The Wizard's Grave Android game. Discussion Thread:
http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/showthread.php?t=22520
Lucky Day is offline

Lucky Day

Lucky Day's Avatar
Daywatch

#32

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Uncanny Valley
Posts: 3,173

Default 

November 4th, 2009, 04:00
Originally Posted by leth View Post
Quick How to adapted from the fix I used for PST:
1. Download and install the microsoft application compatiblity toolkit:
MS ACT
2. Start the 'Compatibility Administrator' with administrator rights.
3. Click the 'New' Button
4. Right click the new database. Select 'Create new application fix…'
5. Name your program and vendor however you like. Browse to your por2.exe (I actually don't know the exact name of the executable for POR2, so this is a guess) file. Click next
6. Select 'None' for operating system modes. Click Next. Tick the 'ForceDirectDrawEmulation' compatibility fix. (No need to select additional compatibility modes)
8. Click next and finish.
9. Save your database.
10. Right click the database and select install. This will install the database.
11. Close the compatibility administrator and start POR2. This should (hopefully) fix your problems.

How do you get the admin rights???
Colgrim is offline

Colgrim

Traveler

#33

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1

Default 

November 4th, 2009, 14:44
Log in as an admin ?

By the way, what worked quite good in my case was making a virtual disc of the game's CD, I'm only using this nowadays …

“ Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius – and a lot of courage – to move in the opposite direction.“ (E.F.Schumacher, Economist, Source)
Alrik Fassbauer is offline

Alrik Fassbauer

Alrik Fassbauer's Avatar
TL;DR

#34

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Old Europe
Posts: 15,849

Default 

November 13th, 2009, 13:20
A small update on the above … I haven't done this for months now, so I can only try to recall it from my memory …

You have to make up a virtual drive containing the CD , and install it from there, because the game always checks *this* CD where it was installed from …

I found this out, because I cannot start my game anymore …

“ Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius – and a lot of courage – to move in the opposite direction.“ (E.F.Schumacher, Economist, Source)
Alrik Fassbauer is offline

Alrik Fassbauer

Alrik Fassbauer's Avatar
TL;DR

#35

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Old Europe
Posts: 15,849

Default Solution found for those that cant disable direct draw and Direct 3d acceleration

July 13th, 2011, 23:27
I did find a solution to this if your computer doesn't have the option to Disable DirectDraw and Direct3D acceleration.The solution was to uninstall the video driver.Keep reading though as it is a little more tricky. I simply went clicked start,Control panel, Device manager and I clicked the + next to Display adapter and right clicked and uninstalled the driver.After I uninstalled the driver I restarted the computer and vista automatically installed the video driver again.It then prompted me to restart the computer to complete the installation of the driver.The KEY here is Not restart the computer a second time if it asks you to. Only after this would the game work properly. Sure it kinda messed up the resolution on the screen( the game looks and plays normally though) but this is only temporary issue as vista usually completes the installation of the video driver after you restart the computer and if it for some reason it doesn't you just need to download the driver from your computer manufacturer's website or the video card manufacturer and run the installation. The problem will come back as soon as you restart the computer and therefore complete the installation of the driver so if Vista asks to restart the computer don't do it until you have finished your session of the game. It is a little bit of extra work to do but it is worth it if you want Pool Of Radiance to work on vista or the newer video cards. This worked on my Dell Inspiron 1520 laptop with the nvidia 8600MGT video card on Windows vista Home premium 32 bit. It is definitely worth a try.

I Just realized that you can still adjust the resolution while in the state of video driver being partially installed but at least with my computer there was considerablly more lag in doing so.
Last edited by Emperor; July 14th, 2011 at 02:59. Reason: Error in instructions.
Emperor is offline

Emperor

Traveler

#36

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1

Default 

July 15th, 2011, 05:53
Unquestionably worse than Icewind Dale? I think not. So I finally picked up a new laptop that weighs 3 pounds and has switchable graphics cards (ATI and Intel) and Win 7. I figured I'd try anther install attempt. Can't find the disks! Sheesh back to eBay…

"For Innos!"
ToddMcF2002 is offline

ToddMcF2002

ToddMcF2002's Avatar
SasqWatch

#37

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 2,226

Default 

July 15th, 2011, 06:53
I see that PS:T is on GOG - I assume anything on GOG should work in Win7 and Vista?

Developer of The Wizard's Grave Android game. Discussion Thread:
http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/showthread.php?t=22520
Lucky Day is offline

Lucky Day

Lucky Day's Avatar
Daywatch

#38

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Uncanny Valley
Posts: 3,173

Default 

July 15th, 2011, 07:17
Originally Posted by Lucky Day View Post
I see that PS:T is on GOG - I assume anything on GOG should work in Win7 and Vista?
PS:T works fine, GOG or not. It has fan hacks and patches that are as nice as the ones for BG. This guide links to 'em all, even if you don't have the GOG version. http://www.gog.com/en/news/mod_spotl…nt_mods_guide/
darkling is offline

darkling

Keeper of the Watch

#39

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 836

Default 

July 15th, 2011, 20:25
Originally Posted by Lucky Day View Post
I see that PS:T is on GOG - I assume anything on GOG should work in Win7 and Vista?
Depends on the game. Each title has a compatibility listing on its page. Afaik, almost all of them are compatible with Vista and Win7.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#40

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,446
RPGWatch Forums » Games » General RPG » Pool of radiance 2 and vista?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:28.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch