|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Risen 3 » Risen » DRM, hackers to the rescue

Default DRM, hackers to the rescue

October 2nd, 2009, 02:42
You could try smartclose.
It's a program that closes everything on your computer, except what is needed to run games.

google it and try.
Sathlin is offline

Sathlin

Traveler

#21

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10

Default 

October 2nd, 2009, 09:12
Nikitaman in the WoR-forum said:

Use a direct link to "C:\program files\Deep Silver\Risen\bin\Risen.exe"
to start the game -
and not the created game link in the Windows 7 game folder.

I don't know if this works.

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong. - HL Mencken
HiddenX is offline

HiddenX

HiddenX's Avatar
The Elder Spy
RPGWatch Donor

#22

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NRW/Germany
Posts: 3,904

Default 

October 2nd, 2009, 18:03
Use a direct link to "C:\program files\Deep Silver\Risen\bin\Risen.exe"
to start the game -
Tried this. Same result, 'Please insert original DVD "Risen"'

If I'm right but there is no wife around to acknowledge it, am I still right?
TheMadGamer is offline

TheMadGamer

TheMadGamer's Avatar
SasqWatch

#23

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,976

Default 

October 2nd, 2009, 23:11
This sounds bad. I hope my copy works. I dont want to return it to play.com

“I've learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” - Maya Angelou
"Those who dont read history are destined to repeat it."– Edmund Burke
zakhal is offline

zakhal

zakhal's Avatar
HomelyRebel

#24

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Europa Universalis
Posts: 2,988

Default 

October 2nd, 2009, 23:11
I have this same problem. I have never had any VD software on my computer. I only have one dvd drive, but I have a removable storage drive lettered ahead of it. I am not even sure what it is, maybe some kind of card drive. There would be no way to change that if that was the problem.
Burress is offline

Burress

Sentinel

#25

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 267

Default 

October 2nd, 2009, 23:20
All drive letters can be changed ( except drive a: and c: )

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong. - HL Mencken
HiddenX is offline

HiddenX

HiddenX's Avatar
The Elder Spy
RPGWatch Donor

#26

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NRW/Germany
Posts: 3,904

Default 

October 3rd, 2009, 00:10
Changing drive letters have no effect. Maybe the DVD is just defective.
Burress is offline

Burress

Sentinel

#27

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 267

Default 

October 27th, 2009, 02:04
I've noticed that opening Windows Explorer and just looking at the CD/DVD contents, BEFORE starting Risen, solves my "Insert Original Disc…."

Cheers!
soskip is offline

soskip

Traveler

#28

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2

Default 

November 11th, 2009, 22:31
Originally Posted by TheMadGamer View Post
Tried this. Same result, 'Please insert original DVD "Risen"'
I have this issue too, extremely frustrating.

I use Vista 32 bit home edition and had forgotten that I had Microsoft Defender running in the background along with my Trend Micro AV. Anyway, checking the task manager and killing the Microsoft Defender process seems to help in getting a good launch. Mentioning, just in case this helps someone else.
Last edited by Greymane; November 12th, 2009 at 22:51. Reason: Incomplete
Greymane is offline

Greymane

Greymane's Avatar
SasqWatch

#29

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 189

Default 

November 12th, 2009, 22:51
Edit: I was mistaken, besides killing my Trend Micro AV, and the Microsoft Defender, I have to kill the Groovemonitor, and the Microsoft Media Network and THEN Risen will start up!?!? (sheesh) What a mess! I run Oblivion, WOW, Fallout3, and have run LOTR, all of Office 2007, without ever having to kill any of this on the same PC.
Greymane is offline

Greymane

Greymane's Avatar
SasqWatch

#30

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 189

Default 

December 28th, 2009, 09:25
Regarding DRM stuff - a small question: from those of you that purchased the game through gamersgate - what do they use there ?

The site lists securom (they also replied "securom+serials" to my email question), but it seems suspicious. Everywhere else it's tages used to different extent.
msoltyspl is offline

msoltyspl

msoltyspl's Avatar
Traveler

#31

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 19

Default 

December 28th, 2009, 10:38
I bought Risen from gamersgate and my PC is securom free , usually the site lists the DRM each game uses but in this case they must have made a mistake.

You can visit this site

or just download their removal tool
Tragos is offline

Tragos

Tragos's Avatar
Otinanist

#32

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Athens (the original one)
Posts: 1,439

Default 

December 28th, 2009, 13:01
A little off topic, but I'm curious about gamersgate. Is it like steam/impulse and run through a program or is it like GoG where you can download the actual game. I checked the FAQ there and it's a little vague, but it sounds like you can download the whole game as many times as you like.

Originally Posted by fatBastard() View Post
I guess in my mind I had more a less ruled out any legitimate use of these tools since we're talking about a gaming rig and not a work computer
One legitimate use is to backup any old cds you may have. I wouldn't have Warhammer: Shadow of the Horned Rat or Return to Krondor if I hadn't of made an iso out of them a long time ago. Those CDs are now beyond repair.

If you never have used it before I highly recommend you at least check the tools to backup any older games you may have. They don't last forever

Despite all my rage.
I'm still just a rat in a cage.
skavenhorde is offline

skavenhorde

skavenhorde's Avatar
Little BRO Rat
RPGWatch Team

#33

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 5,408

Default 

December 28th, 2009, 13:27
2 years ago GG had a "client" now it has none.
Yes you download full game + patches if you want , the games you buy and their keys are displayed on your account and you can download them anytime you want and as many times as you want (i have d/l EU3 & expansions like 10-15 times).
No it is not anything like steam , games are not installed into a specific folder , you don't have to allow net connection to play and they do not auto-update.
Tragos is offline

Tragos

Tragos's Avatar
Otinanist

#34

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Athens (the original one)
Posts: 1,439

Default 

December 28th, 2009, 13:46
Thanks, Tragos.

Someone mentioned Planet Alcatraz at GamersGate and it looks interesting, but it's seems to be only available on GG. I just wanted to know if I would have to have another client on my machine in order to play that one. Two is more than enough clients for my machine. I wasn't going to install a third. Glad I don't have to if I want to get a game there.

Despite all my rage.
I'm still just a rat in a cage.
skavenhorde is offline

skavenhorde

skavenhorde's Avatar
Little BRO Rat
RPGWatch Team

#35

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 5,408

Default 

December 28th, 2009, 15:25
Yep - GamersGate and Direct2Drive are different from Steam and Impulse … and as Tragos mentions there are pros and cons of each.

— Mike
txa1265 is offline

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#36

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,409

Default 

December 29th, 2009, 03:39
I also have the same problem but only when I try to start the game with the shortcut, if I insert the disk and use the start menu that appears I have no problems with the game playing.
dollhobbs is offline

dollhobbs

Traveler

#37

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1

Default 

December 29th, 2009, 13:23
I find myself in a rather strange situation regarding piracy. I hate piracy for 2 reasons:
1) They're screwing up the gaming industry
2) It is because of them that we sit with DRM.

However, DRM is often so badly implemented, that I have come to habitually use the very hackers that make pirating possible in the first place.

In the good old days before DRM became prevalent, your game often needed only to be installed on your hard drive (if it wasn't streaming FMV off the disc) and you could play, with no disc in tray.

I don't like handling and switching discs every few minutes that I want to play a different game (I usually play 2 or 3 different games a day- unless I go into obsessive mode and stick to one).
I prefer keeping the discs nicely in their covers where they cannot gather dust or get scratched or lost.

So I've found a hacker site and often use the , er.. 'tools' they provide just to disable the DRM on all my currently loaded games, to enable me to just click and play.

Guess when I started using these "tools"? When I needed them to disable the DRM on the very original legitimate copy of Sacred way back then, when it gave me the exact similar message and problems that the OP has been struggling with with Risen.

So, basically DRM has brought me to the point where I use hackers' tools for my legit games. How screwed is that?

Of course, it has happened to me as well, that the DRM on a brand new off the shelf legitimately bought game has precluded me from playing the game, but then I'd been unable to find a "crack" for it…. grrrrrrrr - and in my area it's very difficult to justify getting the local stores to take a game back - you have to "prove" that the DRM blocks you on any system and not just your own personal system.

I wonder to what extent this kind of DRM really prevents piracy? I cannot imagine that it can be good for the gaming industry if a person new to gaming who decided to try out gaming as a hobby can't get half of his games to run because of the DRM.

On the other hand, I cannot understand the mentality of people who openly pirate (steal) stuff, and don't even seem to see what is wrong with what they are doing.

Apologies, but DRM and pirating is a bit of a "rant trigger" for me…
RivianWitch is offline

RivianWitch

RivianWitch's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#38

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 744
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Risen 3 » Risen » DRM, hackers to the rescue
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:33.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch