|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Comments » News Comments » Alpha Protocol - v1.10 Patch

Default Alpha Protocol - v1.10 Patch

December 1st, 2010, 10:58
Looks like we might have missed a v1.10 patch for Alpha Protocol last week - although the fact that the .exe replacement from a few months back was also labelled v1.10 makes it confusing. This one actually lists some fixes and removes the copy protection. There are two versions - NA retail and "EU, Czech, Polish, Russian and Digital Download Versions", which seems an odd collection. According to a poster at Qt3, it seemed to work with his Steam version but I'd suggest caution.
* To resolve activation issues, PC copy protection has been removed.
* In Moscow during the assault of Brayko's Mansion, the player could get into a situation where a door would not be openable preventing progression through the rest of the level. This has been fixed.
* In Taipei, during the Stop the Assassination mission, the user can fall out of the world if they reload the "Exit Gardens" checkpoint. There was also a problem where if the player backtracked, part of the level might not load in properly. This has also been fixed.
* In the same mission, a problem with subtitles was corrected.
* In the museum in Rome, the game could crash when using Focused Aim to kill the NPC holding Madison in the elevator.
* Bosses could get stuck in an accelerated mode when Fury wears off.
* Chainshot was exploitable to slow time and get critical headshots without consuming its cooldown.
More information.

-= RPGWatch =-
Dhruin is offline

Dhruin

Dhruin's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch
Super Moderator
RPGWatch Team

#1

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11,968

Default 

December 1st, 2010, 10:58
I've patched my Steam game with the digital download version and had no problems.

Originally Posted by magerette
I'm so tired of marketing hype, marketing slang, marketing priorities and general marketing BS that it tends to have the opposite effect on me. (Jaded is the word I'm looking for here.) I can't even read through a whole press release from any AAA title company without wanting to turn off my computer and learn to cross-stitch.
Amasius is offline

Amasius

Amasius's Avatar
Watcher

#2

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 76

Default 

December 1st, 2010, 12:40
Too little too late, in my opinion.
domein is offline

domein

SasqWatch

#3

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 36

Default 

December 1st, 2010, 12:44
Same here.
Starwars is offline

Starwars

Watchdog

#4

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 224

Default 

December 1st, 2010, 14:59
I enjoyed it un-patched. Even as un-polished and as lacking as some elements of the game were it was still a good (I said great here…but um, that ain't true) game. Of course if you expected FPS combat then you were an angry lil bitch after playing.

Nice to know they bothered to patch it for when I replay it in a year or so.

I'm really kind surprised this happened at all. I guess SEGA aren't as dickish as publishers as other giants would be. No way Activision/EA/Atari would have paid them to make a patch. Then again they could have done it out of their own pockets.
Majnun is offline

Majnun

SasqWatch

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 328

Default 

December 1st, 2010, 17:40
Would love to be able to increase the FOV. Difficult for me to enjoy the game with blinders on.
Daroou is offline

Daroou

Sentinel

#6

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 332

Default 

December 1st, 2010, 18:17
I bought the Steam version ($7.50 on sale last week), and it auto-updated to version 1.10.
RampantCoyote is offline

RampantCoyote

RampantCoyote's Avatar
Sentinel

#7

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 584

Default 

December 1st, 2010, 21:55
Ah - I couldn't see an update listed anywhere on/in Steam. I had a huge amount of fun with this and only Fallout: New Vegas has edged it out for my favourite game of the year.

-= RPGWatch =-
Dhruin is offline

Dhruin

Dhruin's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch
Super Moderator
RPGWatch Team

#8

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11,968

Default 

December 2nd, 2010, 04:57
Originally Posted by Daroou View Post
Would love to be able to increase the FOV. Difficult for me to enjoy the game with blinders on.
I second. Too close for TPS too far away for FPS. The patch downloading and installing took about 60 seconds.
grayson.burrows is offline

grayson.burrows

Traveler

#9

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 11

Default 

December 2nd, 2010, 08:35
Originally Posted by Daroou View Post
Would love to be able to increase the FOV. Difficult for me to enjoy the game with blinders on.
You might want to take a look at this post on the AP forums: http://forums.obsidian.net/index.php?showtopic=55422

It discusses modding the game, which can potentially be done quite easy (at least for things like FOV) since it uses the Unreal-engine.
Zerotown is offline

Zerotown

Zerotown's Avatar
SasqWatch

#10

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 120

Default 

December 2nd, 2010, 12:31
Got AP from the last week's sale as well and have had enough time to play most of the Saudi missions through. To my pleasant surprise, I've been enjoying AP quite a lot. Granted my expectations were pretty low, due to all the bad press AP received, but none the less I've had reasonably good time with it so far. Sure, there are gripes and things I would've wanted done differently (namely, cramped and "limited" level design plus braindead and blind guards), but at least for 7.50 euros it's good enough. There are a precious few non-fantasy CRPGs, so just because of the modern setting this game deserves a tip of the hat.

P.S. I absolutely hate the timed dialogue. I guess it's OK for native English speakers, but for those with English as a second language it is horrid.

"It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue."
Lurking Grue is offline

Lurking Grue

Lurking Grue's Avatar
Random Encounter #23

#11

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: I come from the land of ice and snow
Posts: 564

Default 

December 3rd, 2010, 08:46
Originally Posted by Lurking Grue View Post
P.S. I absolutely hate the timed dialogue. I guess it's OK for native English speakers, but for those with English as a second language it is horrid.
Your mileage may vary, I guess? I don't like the execution (the timer starts before you get to hear the end of the dialogue), but I didn't really have many problems with it.

I'm not a bug, I'm a feature!
WorstUsernameEver is offline

WorstUsernameEver

WorstUsernameEver's Avatar
Sentinel

#12

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 250

Default 

December 3rd, 2010, 12:43
Originally Posted by Lurking Grue View Post
P.S. I absolutely hate the timed dialogue. I guess it's OK for native English speakers, but for those with English as a second language it is horrid.
Yeah, that's really getting on my nerves so far. It's bad enough that I have to pick a response to a sentence that hasn't been finished yet, but sometimes the response titles don't seem to have anything to do with what I thought they meant.

The other thing that annoys me is the set points for actions. You can climb on one ledge, but not another that's exactly the same height. You can drop down right here, but not 3 steps to the left.

That said I've only done one mission outside of Saudi so far and I hear that's the least impressive part. It's certainly not a bad game so far, so hopefully I'll enjoy it anyway.
Mana Garmr is offline

Mana Garmr

Mana Garmr's Avatar
Watcher

#13

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 61
RPGWatch Forums » Comments » News Comments » Alpha Protocol - v1.10 Patch
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:40.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch