|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Gothic 1/2 » Gothic2 NoTR Windows 7 problem

Default Gothic2 NoTR Windows 7 problem

May 2nd, 2011, 10:20
I recently thought about playing a bit of Gothic 2 so I searched my stack of games and installed Gothic 2 and NotR.

Now I do have a simple problem: It won't start. There is either a strange error message or it just doesn't start at all (the gothic2.exe is running, but no game).

I assume this has to do with my OS. I use Windows 7 64bit Ultimate edition. Now normally I would solve this problem by buying the game again from GoG but they only offer the English version and I would really like to play the German one.

Anyone any idea what I could do to fix my problem? I'll post the error message later on if needed, I'm not at home currently.

System specs:
AMD Phenom 955
8 GB Ram
nVidia GeForce 560 Ti
Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
Roi Danton is offline

Roi Danton

Roi Danton's Avatar
Sentinel

#1

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saarbruecken
Posts: 464

Default 

May 2nd, 2011, 12:58
Well, the first thing to suggest is to right click the .exe file and select "Compatibility mode" and "Run as administrator".

If you've done that, you'll probably have to list the error message to get anywhere.
Maylander is offline

Maylander

SasqWatch

#2

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bergen
Posts: 5,370
Send a message via MSN to Maylander

Default 

May 2nd, 2011, 13:55
Originally Posted by Maylander View Post
Well, the first thing to suggest is to right click the .exe file and select "Compatibility mode" and "Run as administrator".

If you've done that, you'll probably have to list the error message to get anywhere.
Yeah, I've done that. I'll post the error message when I get home (and if I don't forget it).
Roi Danton is offline

Roi Danton

Roi Danton's Avatar
Sentinel

#3

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saarbruecken
Posts: 464

Default 

May 10th, 2011, 21:55
Originally Posted by Roi Danton View Post
Now I do have a simple problem: It won't start. There is either a strange error message or it just doesn't start at all (the gothic2.exe is running, but no game).
I've had a similar problem with both G1 and G2 NoTR on Win7 (32bit) and after much pulling of hair and gnashing of teeth, found a workaround. It might not be smooth, but it works (100% for me). If you haven't yet found any other solution, why not give this a try. I'm going to copy-paste a snippet from my previous post about this as I'm too lazy to write it again (nevermind that it talks about G1, I've used it on G2 NoTR successfully as well).
Originally Posted by Yours Truly
The workaround I've found is that if I launch Gothic 1 twice (so I've got two gothic.exe's running), then open the manager and close rundll32.exe, one of the two gothic.exe's shuts down with it but the other launches and I'm able to play Gothic 1 just like I used to on my old PC (I miss the good ol' Win XP).

"It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue."
Lurking Grue is offline

Lurking Grue

Lurking Grue's Avatar
Random Encounter #23

#4

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: I come from the land of ice and snow
Posts: 562

Default 

May 11th, 2011, 07:50
Thanks, I'll give it a try.
Roi Danton is offline

Roi Danton

Roi Danton's Avatar
Sentinel

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saarbruecken
Posts: 464
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Gothic 1/2 » Gothic2 NoTR Windows 7 problem
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:37.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch