|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » General Forums » Tech Help » KVM switching between computers

Default KVM switching between computers

January 3rd, 2012, 19:54
Anyone have any experience with these KVM (Keyboard, Video, Mouse) switches? I keep manually plugging my monitor and usb cables between my docked laptop and pc. I do all my work on the laptop, while gaming on the pc, so why not simply buy a switch for that? The plugs I use are 1x DVI, 1-2x USB. Don't need audio, ethernet, or PS/2.

Some products after a quick search. Seems a bit expensive for such simple equipment though.

Aten CS1762A


IOGear GCS932UB
hishadow is offline

hishadow

Level N+1

#1

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern parts of Norway
Posts: 1,140

Default 

January 3rd, 2012, 20:36
I remember using one at work for a while. It's quite useful when switching between PCs, but I have no need for one at home. I don't know much about the different kinds, but if it's not too expensive and you actually do switch a lot then I guess it's worth it.

Pladio is offline

Pladio

Pladio's Avatar
Guardian of Nonsense
RPGWatch Donor

#2

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London, uk
Posts: 3,079
Send a message via MSN to Pladio

Default 

January 3rd, 2012, 20:55
I use one and have for years. Works fine.

Be careful with cheap ones, though. Some cause video issues.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00…ms_ohs_product

That's the one that I have.
BillSeurer is offline

BillSeurer

BillSeurer's Avatar
Eternal Supreme Dictator

#3

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,727

Default 

January 3rd, 2012, 22:45
I agree with BillSeurer, cheap ones cause video issues. I've tried that.

I've had 3 Aten boxes, very satisfied with all of them. Two Aten Petits. Replaced the first one after a rather unpleasant experience with lightning. Replaced the second one with the one I'm using now, a 4-port Aten CS-1784, when I switched to DVI.

.. several species of small furry animals gathered together in a cave.

We are Pibbur! We are not to be taken seriously!
pibbur2012 is offline

pibbur2012

pibbur2012's Avatar
speaker to ..

#4

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 207

Default 

January 3rd, 2012, 23:13
Originally Posted by pibbur2012 View Post
…the one I'm using now, a 4-port Aten CS-1784, when I switched to DVI.
Oh, I see you are a serious multitasker!

Maybe I have to cough up some doe for the Aten afterall.
hishadow is offline

hishadow

Level N+1

#5

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern parts of Norway
Posts: 1,140

Default 

January 3rd, 2012, 23:32
A word of warning: There are problems with some Logitech keyboards/mice and KVM swtiches. Quite often you'll see on Logitech support faqs that KVM switches are not supported. In some cases using an alternative hot-key setup for switching between PCs may work, in other cases it's not so simple. A couple of months ago I had to return a keyboard I had bought (K750) because of this.

One more thing: There is an alternative to KVM switches which is cheaper: Stardock's Multiplicity software. It's not really a switch, more like using several computers at the same time from one keyboard/mouse. In this case keyboard/mouse events are sent from one primary computer to one or more secondary machines over the network, you "switch" between them by moving the mouse pointer. The downside is that the primary computer must alwasy be turned on, and all connected PC's needs their own monitor, but that may be acceptable when using a laptop as the secondary machine. I've tried it, works OK, better than the KVM in some cases (when you just want a larger "desktop"). But I use the switch far more than Multiplicity.

.. several species of small furry animals gathered together in a cave.

We are Pibbur! We are not to be taken seriously!
pibbur2012 is offline

pibbur2012

pibbur2012's Avatar
speaker to ..

#6

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 207

Default 

January 4th, 2012, 00:50
You could also possibly use Remote Desktop.

BTW, I have a Logitech Wave keyboard and it has worked fine with two different KVMs.
BillSeurer is offline

BillSeurer

BillSeurer's Avatar
Eternal Supreme Dictator

#7

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,727

Default 

January 4th, 2012, 01:51
Keyboard and mouse is equipment of the cheapest kind. Only thing that might be troublesome is my EMU soundcard which is USB-based. Any problems with USB-powered harddisks btw?
hishadow is offline

hishadow

Level N+1

#8

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern parts of Norway
Posts: 1,140

Default 

January 4th, 2012, 17:44
A USB hardrive would be problematical if switched while "hot". OSes don't like having drives disconnected without warning.
BillSeurer is offline

BillSeurer

BillSeurer's Avatar
Eternal Supreme Dictator

#9

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,727

Default 

January 4th, 2012, 19:32
I use a cheap 4-port switch but it was VGA which apparently made it much cheaper than what you are looking at. It was finicky to say the least…worked fine but if you switched between ports too quickly it wouldn't work and then you'd have to disconnect all the connectors and reconnect them again.
sherwinz28 is offline

sherwinz28

Watchdog

#10

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 175

Default 

January 4th, 2012, 20:23
I have a Corsair USB soundcard/headset, and I've tried connecting it to the KVM switch. Whether switching worked or not depended on the application. For some switching works just fine. For others, mainly games, not - no sound when switching back and I had to restart the program.

.. several species of small furry animals gathered together in a cave.

We are Pibbur! We are not to be taken seriously!
pibbur2012 is offline

pibbur2012

pibbur2012's Avatar
speaker to ..

#11

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 207

Default 

January 21st, 2012, 21:40
I got the cheapest I could find with Aten CS682. Everything except my soundcard (and a license dongle) don't work, hehe. But it's not too much hassle changing it, like when I needed to power down to change DVI, PS2, and USBs.

Thanks for all advice ignored.

Btw, switching is super-neat! My only fear slowly becoming..
Spoiler – .. this guy.
Last edited by hishadow; January 21st, 2012 at 22:06.
hishadow is offline

hishadow

Level N+1

#12

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern parts of Norway
Posts: 1,140
RPGWatch Forums » General Forums » Tech Help » KVM switching between computers
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:57.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch