|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Gothic 1/2 » [Mod] Vurt's Gothic II Texture Pack

Default [Mod] Vurt's Gothic II Texture Pack

May 20th, 2012, 20:55
Ok i might have found the problem, one of the meshes were in fact so large that it became invisible. I must have put in 100 for size instead of 1 or something when exporting it, most probably causing some collision and performance problems.

v0.4a :
http://www.2shared.com/file/3XjTcSDa…ics_Overh.html
http://www.multiupload.nl/8Y1A1DI3WF

Has a few other updates as well, mostly small tweaks to textures.
vurt is offline

vurt

vurt's Avatar
Serial Modderer

#61

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The land of rape and honey
Posts: 1,579

Default 

May 20th, 2012, 20:59
My good man, that is pretty impressive.
For a moment I thought I was looking at screens of G3.

Exitus acta probat.
wiretripped is offline

wiretripped

wiretripped's Avatar
Machiavellian

#62

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leuven, BE
Posts: 615

Default 

May 20th, 2012, 21:44
Originally Posted by vurt View Post
Ok i might have found the problem, one of the meshes were in fact so large that it became invisible. I must have put in 100 for size instead of 1 or something when exporting it, most probably causing some collision and performance problems.
Yep, you nailed it. Performance in khorinis is mostly up to standards. Very nice.

Is there a possibility of a similar problem when looking towards that island off the harbor ? FPS drops to 30- there and the same if I climb the cliffs above Khorinis and look at that direction… (they climb back to 50 when looking at the sea but not towards that direction, from the cliffs, next to the lighthouse i.e.)
JonNik is offline

JonNik

JonNik's Avatar
SasqWatch

#63

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,734

Default 

May 20th, 2012, 21:58
That problem most likely has to do with this:



The Island is full of those trees that happens to be quite poly-heavy :/

I can't do much about it other than editing the level itself or make a more performance friendly version of that tree (it's also used in Valley of Mines a lot).
vurt is offline

vurt

vurt's Avatar
Serial Modderer

#64

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The land of rape and honey
Posts: 1,579

Default 

May 20th, 2012, 22:04
Hmm yeah, I noticed those on the beach from the cliffs too. Well, no biggee for me.
I can do with with 30 fps for a miniscule portion of the game.

(also that explains the modest but playable performance on the valley too. Others with more modest rigs though, may wanna chime in here)
JonNik is offline

JonNik

JonNik's Avatar
SasqWatch

#65

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,734

Default 

May 20th, 2012, 22:46
It now has about 30% less polys, should make a bit of a difference.

Thanks for the input, it helps and saves me a a bit of time
vurt is offline

vurt

vurt's Avatar
Serial Modderer

#66

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The land of rape and honey
Posts: 1,579

Default 

May 21st, 2012, 08:01
My pleasure I assure you

(besides, its the least I can do to help for something that will significantly improve my enjoyment on my next playthrough)

I'll devote some serious time to it again next Friday night-weekend.
(It has come to my attention that I did not check out Jharkendar, probably because I had no save there but it is easy to rectify that)
JonNik is offline

JonNik

JonNik's Avatar
SasqWatch

#67

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,734

Default 

May 22nd, 2012, 17:05
Finally got around to trying it last night.

I think it looks very, very good. I didn't have any existing saves, so I only got to check out the area around Xardas' Tower and Lobart's Farm.

Performance is a little rough for me, but I noticed that even the vanilla game was somewhat sluggish for me in Win7 64. I think there's something wrong with my installation.

I noticed some minor flickering in the sky sometimes, although I think it was only at night. I also found myself getting stuck against the branches of some of the newer trees in heavily foliated areas. This happened a lot in the valley where Lester is.


Originally Posted by JonNik View Post
Off Topic: Anyone have any problem with the game and mouse control?
No issues with my Logitech Performance MX, but the camera certainly takes some getting used to after playing Gothic 3 lately. Something about the way the camera pans in Gothic 1&2 always makes me feel slightly disoriented and even a little nauseous if I haven't played them in awhile.
Last edited by JDR13; May 22nd, 2012 at 17:18.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#68

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,479

Default 

May 22nd, 2012, 17:47
Well, there is a zSmoothMouse value you may wanna fiddle with if you plan a replay in the foreseeable future. I may have to do it myself sometime, because although I fixed my turning problem with zMouseRotationScale, the control is indeed a bit dodgier with that + the new mouse than it was…

And yes Gothic 1/2 always had that strange "laggy" turn of the camera, but you indeed get used to it after a while
JonNik is offline

JonNik

JonNik's Avatar
SasqWatch

#69

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,734

Default 

May 27th, 2012, 15:27
I got the camera working pretty good, it was a bit laggy and slow at first, had to up the mouse acceleration quite a bit on my Logitech G9. You can also turn off mouse smoothing in the .ini i believe, and also change the turn speed (i upped this a bit). Havent played around with it that much since i'm not really playing yet.

Here's a preview of next version, shows the new water and some other things

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pKARfclzpC8
vurt is offline

vurt

vurt's Avatar
Serial Modderer

#70

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The land of rape and honey
Posts: 1,579

Default 

May 27th, 2012, 17:59
Well, I used up my free time this weekend getting a modest aftermarket cooler and pushing my cpu to 4Ghz so I'll continue having fun with this when you put up the new version… Now with more fps

P.S Like the new water (the old one was pretty good too though)
JonNik is offline

JonNik

JonNik's Avatar
SasqWatch

#71

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,734

Default 

May 27th, 2012, 20:59
Hi all,
i have gothic II NoftR version 2.6, copy the file into the folder, start the game and it's still the old graphic. can someone help me?
Dexron is offline

Dexron

Traveler

#72

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1

Default 

May 27th, 2012, 23:12
Originally Posted by vurt View Post
Here's a preview of next version, shows the new water and some other things

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pKARfclzpC8
Very impressive . One of these days -probably not too soon though given the slow progress on Gothic Reloaded but anyway- I'm going to replay the entire Gothic saga with Gothic Reloaded, then your mod for Gothic 2 once it is completed and Gothic 3 with its community patches.
Moriendor is offline

Moriendor

Moriendor's Avatar
Spielkind

#73

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Schland
Posts: 1,836

Default 

May 29th, 2012, 07:40
Hmm, I did test 0.4a briefly again (it occurred to me that I hadn't after the overclock) and leaving aside the weird and unexpected (30 fps jumping to 60 which does not follow for a 20% overclock) I get a crash at the valley of mines outside the castle. If I reproduce it with version 0.4 too (to be certain I did not change something myself i.e in the ini) I'll post screens from the spot (hopefully tonight or tomorrow at the latest).

Edit: Nope all versions crash on the valley of mines all of a sudden. Still not sure what I messed up…
Last edited by JonNik; May 29th, 2012 at 21:14.
JonNik is offline

JonNik

JonNik's Avatar
SasqWatch

#74

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,734

Default 

May 30th, 2012, 00:01
Just saw this in Vurt's thread @WoG.



Incredible.

I'd just like to interject here and point out that I'm not going to say anything to spoil the mood, Chief. I'll just float here and watch. Don't mind me, just sitting here, floating and watching, that's me.
Kostas is offline

Kostas

Kostas's Avatar
Dormant Watcher

#75

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dear Green Place
Posts: 1,631

Default 

May 30th, 2012, 01:55
JonNik: i'll look into that, i think i've had some crashes there too.

Kostaz:
After playing skyrim most mountains looks a bit puny in comparison, so i had to beef it up a little


some more recent screens (and yes, i love spamming screenshots):


Retextured farm
Was up?
Overview
Last edited by vurt; May 30th, 2012 at 02:12.
vurt is offline

vurt

vurt's Avatar
Serial Modderer

#76

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The land of rape and honey
Posts: 1,579

Default 

May 30th, 2012, 07:58
Originally Posted by vurt View Post
JonNik: i'll look into that, i think i've had some crashes there too.
Funny thing is I didn't crash there before… I did reinstall a different version though (the english one) and may have not tried a valley save. It shouldn't be different ofcourse…
Only other thing changed were drivers… Will try to reinstall the german version during the weekend (I prefer the voice acting there but it seems that I misplaced the dat files from the english translation ) on the off chance…

P.S: Great looking mountains, indeed.
Last edited by JonNik; May 30th, 2012 at 08:43.
JonNik is offline

JonNik

JonNik's Avatar
SasqWatch

#77

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,734

Default 

June 1st, 2012, 11:53
JoNik: Let me know how it goes. Remember to uncheck my mod (rename it to .vdf.disabled or something) at see if it still crashes. The mod is quite demanding because of the much higher poly count, so i would not recommend using zhiqualityrender from the console (it crashes my game). zfogzone can work, but even that will be too much for most computers, at least with the next version of this mod..

From experience i've noticed that sometimes trees are missing if you arent starting a new game, so it seems like this mod works best starting from scratch and not from old saves.

Next release version will be v0.6 and it will contain substantial changes, like new mountains (with either improved uv-mapping, some completely resculpted), various groundcover, new trees, new rocks and waterfalls. I've also figured out how to animate everything, so that i can for example improve the very static looking rye fields.

It might take a while though (approx 2 weeks to a month).
vurt is offline

vurt

vurt's Avatar
Serial Modderer

#78

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The land of rape and honey
Posts: 1,579

Default 

June 2nd, 2012, 09:09
Originally Posted by vurt View Post
JoNik: Let me know how it goes. Remember to uncheck my mod (rename it to .vdf.disabled or something) at see if it still crashes.
Ofcourse I did, or so I thought, because I loaded another (different) save and did crash without the mod Reverted drivers, same thing… No idea if it is some incompatibility with the old saves or something but I think I am done trying to troubleshoot it…

The game is stable enough to have a peek at your mod when you release the next version anyway… Any console command that gives you invisibility like G3 (so I can move around freely without having to resort to older saves) btw ? If I can do something like that I'll start a new game to get that variable out of the way…
JonNik is offline

JonNik

JonNik's Avatar
SasqWatch

#79

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,734

Default 

June 2nd, 2012, 17:54
Did you remember to tweak the .ini after reinstalling?

zTexCacheOutTimeMSec=5120000
zTexCacheSizeMaxBytes=512000000
zSndCacheOutTimeMSec=10000
zSndCacheSizeMaxBytes=20000000

That's what i use.

I dont think there's a invisibility cheat. There's supposed to be a "invisible" console command but it doesnt work for me, maybe it's been removed in the later revisions of the .exe.
vurt is offline

vurt

vurt's Avatar
Serial Modderer

#80

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The land of rape and honey
Posts: 1,579
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Gothic 1/2 » [Mod] Vurt's Gothic II Texture Pack
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:34.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch