|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Compiling all the shaders in one way?

Red face Compiling all the shaders in one way?

March 25th, 2014, 15:23
Hello to all

I've played this great game a couple of years ago with the Community Patch v1.74 and I really enjoyed it.

Now I want to play it again, so I'm downloading again from my Steam library and, of course, I'm downloading the new Community Patch v1.75.

If I recall correctly, the major issues of freeze/stuttering during the gameplay it was due to compiling of new shaders when it needed.

Now the answer is: before I start to play, is there a way to compile all the necessary shaders in one strike even if it will necessary 1 or 2 hours to do?

Thank you very much.
mannygt is offline

mannygt

Traveler

#1

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2

Default 

March 25th, 2014, 15:43
That is a question I also want an answer on. G3 had stutters on my side when I wanted to replay it with CP1.75, but never got deeply into it (was distracted by some other game release and in the end didn't replay it).
But IIRC when I was searching for an answer, the catch/solution was to mess with the process priorities, not touching the engine resources. The stutters may not be visible from the start, but become obvious when you rotate the camera anywhere outside the first village.

In any case, I think it's high time to replay it instead of leaving it rotting on my PC… Putting it on top of my next to replay list.

Toka Koka
joxer is offline

joxer

joxer's Avatar
The Smoker
RPGWatch Donor

#2

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,539

Default 

March 25th, 2014, 16:15
That would be nice, but I think someone would have figured out a way to do that by now if it were possible.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#3

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,441

Default 

March 25th, 2014, 17:16
I never understood why this 'momentary' stuttering is any problem in G3. It only stutters for a second or two when you enter a larger area of the map or teleport, and that's it - just a second or two, not continuous.

It did not detract from my enjoyment of this wonderful piece of gaming at all.

I am currently playing call of pripayt and it also slightly suffers from this stuttering once you enter the map.

As JDR said, if it was possible to do, someone would have done it. In fact, all open world developers would have implemented this 'magic technique' if it existed (without the need for loading when entering new game areas).
SpoonFULL is offline

SpoonFULL

SpoonFULL's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#4

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,275

Default 

March 25th, 2014, 17:52
Originally Posted by JDR13 View Post
That would be nice, but I think someone would have figured out a way to do that by now if it were possible.
Or maybe he don't, or the compiling method it related to your video card, maybe (I don't know the technical things)
mannygt is offline

mannygt

Traveler

#5

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2

Default 

March 25th, 2014, 18:51
It is nohow related to a video card. It is very possible that there is a cache file with the data once processed stored inside, the only question is can you set it to be huge within options or not.

Toka Koka
joxer is offline

joxer

joxer's Avatar
The Smoker
RPGWatch Donor

#6

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,539
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Compiling all the shaders in one way?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:03.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch