|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Comments » News Comments » RPG News - DOSBox v0.70 Launched

Default RPG News - DOSBox v0.70 Launched

March 9th, 2007, 00:12
DOSBox 0.70 has been released, providing various improvements - hit the link for a full rundown of the new features.
More information.
Dhruin is offline

Dhruin

Dhruin's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch
Super Moderator
RPGWatch Team

#1

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11,968

Default 

March 9th, 2007, 00:12
Has anyone tried if DoxBox works on Windows Vista? It would be kickass to play old Dos games on it when the newest games lag or crash.
Surlent is offline

Surlent

On ghost mode

#2

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 233

Default 

March 9th, 2007, 07:29
damn .70 still doesn't play Shadows over Riva using a CD image even though it works in XP using a CD image….

I think it used to work using a CD image with a really old version like .60 or something. A pity cause it crashes for me in XP right after killing the vampire.

I have the actual CD but it's scratched beyond repair, anyone else had any success with playing it in dosbox? I played the first 2 in dosbox fine.

This is what I am trying to start it:
dosbox E:\games\roa\riva\riva.exe -c "mount d G:\ -t cdrom -l 970220_1739 -usecd 1 -ioctl"
where G:\ is a mounted image and is the second CD-rom (reported by "mount -cd").

Favourite RPGs of all time: Wizardry 6, Ultima 7/7.2, Fallout2, Planescape Torment, Baldurs Gate 2+TOB, Jagged Alliance 2, Ravenloft: The stone prophet, Gothic 2, Realms of Arkania:Blade of destiny (not the HD version!!) and Secret of the Silver Blades.
Last edited by bjon045; March 9th, 2007 at 07:36.
bjon045 is offline

bjon045

bjon045's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#3

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sigil
Posts: 958

Default 

March 9th, 2007, 13:35
Originally Posted by bjon045 View Post
damn .70 still doesn't play Shadows over Riva using a CD image even though it works in XP using a CD image….

I think it used to work using a CD image with a really old version like .60 or something. A pity cause it crashes for me in XP right after killing the vampire.

I have the actual CD but it's scratched beyond repair, anyone else had any success with playing it in dosbox? I played the first 2 in dosbox fine.

This is what I am trying to start it:

where G:\ is a mounted image and is the second CD-rom (reported by "mount -cd").
use imgmount with your image.

DB A

Guest

#4

Posts: n/a

Default 

March 9th, 2007, 14:54
More great news - I love DOSBox for the way it allows me to run stuff I missed the first time, or old games I just miss …

— Mike
txa1265 is offline

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,468

Default 

March 9th, 2007, 15:30
Originally Posted by DB A View Post
use imgmount with your image.
I tried:
dosbox E:\games\roa\riva\riva.exe -c "imgmount d E:\games\roa\img\970220_1739.mdf -t iso"
It also didn't work. I remember with the older version of dosbox I had to make sure I got the label of the disk right (as in my previous post) but it doesn't seem to work either way now. I guess I should submit a bug to the dosbox forums.

Favourite RPGs of all time: Wizardry 6, Ultima 7/7.2, Fallout2, Planescape Torment, Baldurs Gate 2+TOB, Jagged Alliance 2, Ravenloft: The stone prophet, Gothic 2, Realms of Arkania:Blade of destiny (not the HD version!!) and Secret of the Silver Blades.
bjon045 is offline

bjon045

bjon045's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#6

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sigil
Posts: 958

Default 

March 9th, 2007, 19:54
We have a German-language small DOSBOX-thread on the Larian Boards. Here.
You could try posting your question there, we all understand the English language.

But don't expect wonders. We are all just normal people/gamers …
Alrik Fassbauer is offline

Alrik Fassbauer

Alrik Fassbauer's Avatar
TL;DR

#7

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Old Europe
Posts: 16,000

Default 

March 10th, 2007, 09:57
Read this in the official forums:

"Good news for all Daggerfall fans… seems that DOSBox 0.70 now supports dynamic core CPU for Daggerfall and it runs absolutely smoothly. Finally !!! Horray for Dosbox team."

http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.php?t=14220

Time to go back in time once more and give this game a swirl…

Altough, i am skeptic until proven wrong!

Edit: Tried Crusader: No Remorse and System Shock (@ 640x480) at it was immensly enjoyable. Something definitly right in this release!! I only found my Jewel Case for Daggerfall and can not try it bugger.
Last edited by mute; March 10th, 2007 at 11:42.
mute is offline

mute

Sentinel

#8

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 411

Default 

March 13th, 2007, 21:48
Wow, I'm impressed. This release really seems to be working well with some games that it had trouble running before. It now also runs "TES Battlespire", "Prisoner of Ice" and "Stonekeep" (anyone remember that one? I just loved that game when it came out - a nice EOB-style dungeon crawl…)
KasperFauerby is offline

KasperFauerby

Sentinel

#9

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 435

Default 

March 14th, 2007, 00:04
It definitely runs DF, though it took some effort to get it to install!!

If God said it, then that settles it!!

Editor@RPGWatch
Corwin is offline

Corwin

Corwin's Avatar
On The Razorblade of Life
RPGWatch Team

#10

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 10,550
Send a message via Skype™ to Corwin

Default 

March 14th, 2007, 12:44
Stonekeep ? Of course ! "Thera Awakening" is actually one of my favourite novels !

I e-mailed with David Pulver, who wrote this small novel, and he said he'd like to have his rights of the book back, if possible … Don't know whether the rest of Interplay would be wiolling to do that - and who has the rights anyway.

Still sorry that "Godmaker" was never made (all I know from it are a few concepts and the storyboard of the intro - available to see on the web site of one of the related artists).
Alrik Fassbauer is offline

Alrik Fassbauer

Alrik Fassbauer's Avatar
TL;DR

#11

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Old Europe
Posts: 16,000

Default 

March 14th, 2007, 14:41
After some quick testing, DF looks at least as playable as it was under 0.63. My only real problem under that version was that mage guilds and palaces usually run around 1 FPS, with the CPU hovering around 15%. Bumping the clock count only makes you move around at warp speed.

I tried v0.70 with the CPU set to auto/auto, and wowsers, DF was running high frame rate and I was able to move around at normal speed. Looked great. The wierd thing was all of the NPCs in town were playing a walking animation at normal speed, but they were only moving at a snail's pace.

Also tried SS1, and can now get it to run very smooth at 640x480 with max details. Sadly, cyberspace is still a pain in the arse to navigate, but that's a design problem with the game — it really needs mouselook to control orientation.

Hammer, anvil, forge and fire,
chase away the hoofed liar.
Roof and doorway, block and beam,
chase the Trickster from our dream.
Stanza is offline

Stanza

Stanza's Avatar
Lighthouse Keeper

#12

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 249

Default 

March 15th, 2007, 00:06
I have perfect animations and speed with DF and all NPC and I'm running it at high res with everything maxed!!

If God said it, then that settles it!!

Editor@RPGWatch
Corwin is offline

Corwin

Corwin's Avatar
On The Razorblade of Life
RPGWatch Team

#13

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 10,550
Send a message via Skype™ to Corwin

Default 

March 15th, 2007, 07:47
Originally Posted by KasperFauerby View Post
Wow, I'm impressed. This release really seems to be working well with some games that it had trouble running before. It now also runs "TES Battlespire", "Prisoner of Ice" and "Stonekeep" (anyone remember that one? I just loved that game when it came out - a nice EOB-style dungeon crawl…)
It runs Battlespire? Yay! Now I may finally finish my second tour through! I still have my savegames…

Semper HiFi!
Motto of the 54th Groove Bde.
Jaz is offline

Jaz

Jaz's Avatar
SC-2201
Super Moderator
RPGWatch Team

#14

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,345

Default 

March 19th, 2007, 15:02
Bleh, I ran into my first bug yesterday. The custom house in Colonization wont work for some reason
Zaleukos is offline

Zaleukos

Zaleukos's Avatar
Bum

#15

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,869
RPGWatch Forums » Comments » News Comments » RPG News - DOSBox v0.70 Launched
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:06.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch