|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Computer won't restart after quitting Gothic 3

Default Computer won't restart after quitting Gothic 3

October 19th, 2006, 14:40
Hi everyone,

After quitting G3 and returning to the desktop, the windows restart function doesnít work so I have to reset the computer. The last time it happened, I reset manually and windows froze at the welcome screen, when I reset again it started normally though.. Has anyone else had this problem? Any help would be appreciated.

Playing G3 patched
AMD 4400 X2
X1900XTX with 6.9 drivers
Direct X 9c
Microsoft Visual c++ 2005
1 GB
Windows XP SP2
svencha is offline

svencha

Traveler

#1

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10

Default 

October 19th, 2006, 14:51
Gothic3.exe doesn't seem to want to quit on my comp, i have to end the process (ctrl+ alt+del => processes => end process).

Maybe yours is the same?
ShadowMoses is offline

ShadowMoses

ShadowMoses's Avatar
Watcher

#2

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: On Maggie's Farm… no more
Posts: 68

Default 

October 19th, 2006, 14:58
That happened to me too until I applied the patch - now I can quit okay but I can’t restart the computer normally.
svencha is offline

svencha

Traveler

#3

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10

Default 

October 20th, 2006, 04:36
This was sometimes the case with previous installment of Gothic, too. Maybe tracing the problem in earlier topics (various places) might reveal some clues towards it's solution.
hwfanatic is offline

hwfanatic

Watchdog

#4

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 104

Default 

October 20th, 2006, 07:04
You can try to reinstall the patch.
I found sometimes that when I had lockups with G3 and then trying to start it again, reappling the patch seemed to help.
Though since it's windows also I would suggest trying to reinstall the Directx9c on the G3 disk.
Now if you can't get into windows you can try Safe mode.
Also consider reisntalling your Video drivers, check you monitor settings like refresh and make sure they are the same, i.e. 60 is not really good on your eyes though windows and some games like G3 try to automaticly select this, if you have ATI try downloading ATI Tray Tools, great utility.
Acleacius is offline

Acleacius

SasqWatch

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,519

Default 

October 21st, 2006, 02:01
Is it okay to install direct x 9c again over the top of the existing 9c? I don’t have to uninstall do I? If that doesn’t work III try the video drivers.

Yesterday when I was playing, after a while I couldn’t click on any dialogue replies or use any items in inventory! I could start a conversation with someone and could click on the replies, but it wasn’t responding, the game was okay besides that problem though…

Thanks for the help!
Last edited by svencha; October 21st, 2006 at 02:17.
svencha is offline

svencha

Traveler

#6

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10

Default 

October 21st, 2006, 02:50
Sure its fine to reload Dx9c again and no you don't have to uninstall first, as a matter of fact afaik you can't uninstall DX, also reinstalling the Patch is fine, I reboot after just out of habit and to make sure everything gets loaded.
Now the video drivers you will need to uninstall older version before installing new ones at least for all the major video card companies, iir atm.
Acleacius is offline

Acleacius

SasqWatch

#7

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,519

Default 

October 21st, 2006, 10:28
Well, I tried all of the above and G3 is still doing the same thing…

Symptoms:

After some time playing I lose the ability to select items from inventory to use Ė I click nothing happens. But I can still click on items and people.

I can talk to anyone but then I canít escape from the dialogue menu because when I click on the exit option nothing happens, then I have to crtl/alt/del back to the desktop

I can shut down windows but I canít use the windows reset function

On the desktop after quitting Gothic, when I select a single desktop icon, it selects a few instead of just the one I want to start. Itís like the ctrl key is stuck on or something but itís not.

After rebooting windows everything is back to normal.

Iíve reinstalled direct x9c, and the Ati 6.9 drivers

This is an annoying problem because I canít find anyone else whoís having the same one!
svencha is offline

svencha

Traveler

#8

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10

Default 

October 21st, 2006, 23:55
Have you tried going back in after the Alt-Tab to the desktop? Same thing?
If so you need to reinstall the game, make sure you delete the game directory after the uninstall and reboot, since it doesn't remove all the files.
Make sure to backup your save folder, just incase.
Acleacius is offline

Acleacius

SasqWatch

#9

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,519

Default 

October 23rd, 2006, 07:50
I’ve finally gotten around to trying a complete re-install of g3 + patch and it still happens. Pressing alt/tab and back doesn’t solve the problem.

Why would clicking in some sections of the game work and not others? Could it be my mouse/keyboard? None of my other games have given me this trouble but it’s the only thing left I can think of.

Thanks again for your suggestions
svencha is offline

svencha

Traveler

#10

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10

Default 

November 1st, 2006, 20:12
Originally Posted by svencha View Post
Iíve finally gotten around to trying a complete re-install of g3 + patch and it still happens. Pressing alt/tab and back doesnít solve the problem.

Why would clicking in some sections of the game work and not others? Could it be my mouse/keyboard? None of my other games have given me this trouble but itís the only thing left I can think of.

Thanks again for your suggestions
While waiting for G3 to arrive in the stores, I've been playing G2….again and have noticed the same things you're experiencing. My computer won't boot normally, I have to use the reset button to start it. First thought, I had picked up a virus and ran Ad-Aware. Found nothing. While in-game, sometimes I can't choose anything in inventory, there's a character missing in a quest (Cor-Angor), or a bow will stop working. A friend suggested that I stop leaving the cd in the tray when I shut down……but I keep forgetting . I have G1 installed also, I plan to do the whole thing when 3 arrives! I just love the game.
Jusme is offline

Jusme

Traveler

#11

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1

Default 

November 2nd, 2006, 03:00
Most of the time when I try to kill the Gothic3 task my computer hangs completely. I am glad I only max a day or two left in the game and hope NWN2 wont be as buggy. It's sad. But Gothic 3 have been one hell of a ride anyway.
JemyM is offline

JemyM

JemyM's Avatar
Okay, now roll sanity.

#12

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,028
Send a message via ICQ to JemyM Send a message via MSN to JemyM

Default 

November 2nd, 2006, 03:08
These are very strange problems. I myself have had trouble shutting a system down before. I'd choose start and try to shut it down or restart it, but it wouldn't do anything. Most of the time for me, these problems simply went away with time, and were inexplicable.

My Current System:

HP dv5000 Laptop w/ custom changes:
Intel Centrino Duo (2x 1.66 Ghz)
1 GB System Memory
512 MB GeForce Go 7400 (256 MB Dedicated, 256 MB Shared)
Arexen is offline

Arexen

Arexen's Avatar
Watcher

#13

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 67
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Computer won't restart after quitting Gothic 3
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:19.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch