|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » A hardware test proposal?

Default A hardware test proposal?

October 28th, 2006, 20:38
I want to see the definitive adventages of Dual-Core in Gothic3. Has anyone done or seen tests of Single vs. Dual-Core processors of the same speed on Gothic3? This test should be done with everything else(hardwares and game settings) being equal/same. I am interested in the FPS comparison.
mudsling3 is offline

mudsling3

mudsling3's Avatar
Sentinel

#1

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 560

Default 

October 29th, 2006, 00:56
I doubt very seriously PB has had time to implement DC or at the very least optimise DC if it is indeed in the engine currently.
Acleacius is offline

Acleacius

SasqWatch

#2

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,522

Default 

October 29th, 2006, 15:48
PB said that dual core machines would be significantly better off as one core would handle streaming in the game world. A figure of 30% faster was quoted.
Alistair is offline

Alistair

Sentinel

#3

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 416

Default 

November 1st, 2006, 01:59
I can vouch for dual-core CPUs. The game runs great on my system (take a look at my sig). Medium quality runs around 30 FPS (minus ram-intensive stuttering).

My Current System:

HP dv5000 Laptop w/ custom changes:
Intel Centrino Duo (2x 1.66 Ghz)
1 GB System Memory
512 MB GeForce Go 7400 (256 MB Dedicated, 256 MB Shared)
Arexen is offline

Arexen

Arexen's Avatar
Watcher

#4

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 67

Default 

November 2nd, 2006, 04:51
Let's me ask the question in a different way. Is anyone here playing with MAX settings? Tell us about your system setup.
mudsling3 is offline

mudsling3

mudsling3's Avatar
Sentinel

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 560

Default 

November 2nd, 2006, 09:51
I'm at max on everything but d.o.f. and have extended the detail, spawn & vegetation ranges through the ini file. 6400 Duo, 7900 GT, Raptor, 2GB. Frame rate is ok, if not stellar.
Alistair is offline

Alistair

Sentinel

#6

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 416

Default 

November 2nd, 2006, 09:58
Originally Posted by Alistair View Post
I'm at max on everything but d.o.f. and have extended the detail, spawn & vegetation ranges through the ini file. 6400 Duo, 7900 GT, Raptor, 2GB. Frame rate is ok, if not stellar.
Nice rig you have there .
Danicek is offline

Danicek

Danicek's Avatar
Sentinel

#7

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Frýdek-Místek, Czech Republic
Posts: 418

Default 

November 2nd, 2006, 10:36
Did a quick check with Fraps. My ini tweaks seem to be costing me about 10% of my framerate in the starting area… Entity spawn range is defintely worth tweaking. The others are more cosmetic
Alistair is offline

Alistair

Sentinel

#8

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 416
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » A hardware test proposal?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:12.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch