|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » General RPG » NWN 2 » NWN2 Launcher

Default NWN2 Launcher

November 4th, 2006, 06:09
If I try to run the game with the NWN2launcher (the 'play' option at the main menu when you put the dvd in the tray) I get a failed to run message. To play I have to run the game with the NWN2.exe file. Has anyone else experienced this ? I have patched the game.
Cormac is offline

Cormac

Sentinel

#1

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 405

Default 

November 4th, 2006, 06:32
I am not sure that you and I have had the same error. I got the "failed to initialize" shield and some long number with a not inconsiderable number of 0s, and the game would not start. After doing several searches on the Neverwinter Nights 2 forums, I found that I needed to install Microsoft .NET Framework.

It is worth doing a search or two over at NWN2 forums.
Tauschitz is offline

Tauschitz

Tauschitz's Avatar
Watcher

#2

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 53

Default 

November 4th, 2006, 09:14
I have some incredibly long load times before i can start the game from the launcher. I've got a feeling it is doing a CD check. It have even failed to start one time.

I know this isn't the same problem as you guys have, but i think that this is one of the game i really miss starforce checking the cd once a week. (Ops…).
mute is offline

mute

Sentinel

#3

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 411

Default 

November 4th, 2006, 20:11
That is also true for me - I immediately get the launcher, but afterclicking 'play' it takes a while before I get the Atari symbol … but then it is all smooth and quick.

— Mike
txa1265 is offline

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#4

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,274

Default 

November 4th, 2006, 23:38
Well I tried again today with the launcher and clicking Play got me an Access violation message — however the game ran nonetheless. WTF.
Cormac is offline

Cormac

Sentinel

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 405

Default 

November 5th, 2006, 01:19
Haven't got the game yet, but I did have a LOT of hassles getting the toolset to work. I think most of my problems were because I'm running XP 64 on a dual core AMD system. Could this be related to your issues?

If God said it, then that settles it!!

Editor@RPGWatch
Corwin is offline

Corwin

Corwin's Avatar
On The Razorblade of Life
RPGWatch Team

#6

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 10,254
Send a message via Skype™ to Corwin

Default 

November 5th, 2006, 01:28
No, XP 32 and Penthium 4. It's annoying but at least it hasn't prevented me from playing the game. I'll try and see what I can find in the official boards, though.
Cormac is offline

Cormac

Sentinel

#7

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 405

Default 

November 5th, 2006, 02:20
Have you just setup a shortcut to the main EXE? I know older games that have launchers that don't work outside of Win95 work that way.

— Mike
txa1265 is offline

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#8

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,274

Default 

November 5th, 2006, 05:15
Mike: Yes, I did a shortcut, but as I said in my previous post, the launcher's Play option has worked lately, I just have to close the Access violation message window and the game runs.
Now I've had a look in the nwn2 boards and what I've found out — besides the fact that I have an account with my old rpgdot username over there, I had completely forgotten — is that I'm not alone with this problem. If I've understood correctly (and I probably didn't), the problem may be related to the newest nvidia driver in which a profile for the game has been set up but with only the nwn2.exe file binded to it, not all of them (or just the Main). There is a workaround to edit the profile using something called Nhancer but for now I'll wait and see if the next patch or a new driver won't fix the problem.
Cormac is offline

Cormac

Sentinel

#9

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 405

Default 

November 8th, 2006, 12:56
As i understand its might also be connected to SecuROM as one can see reading in this thread:

http://nwn2forums.bioware.com/forums…6980&forum=116

Perhaps its an nivida problem, but i was not soo lucky.
mute is offline

mute

Sentinel

#10

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 411
RPGWatch Forums » Games » General RPG » NWN 2 » NWN2 Launcher
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:17.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch