|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Comments » News Comments » Gothic 3 - Review @ Pro-G

Default Gothic 3 - Review @ Pro-G

November 17th, 2006, 16:55
Originally Posted by ToddMcF2002 View Post
Thats a standard policy for a few reviewers. Firingsquad used to do that if I recall, don't know if that's still the case.
Patch policies are changing at most places - especially when you have games like NWN 1 & 2 with an update button on the front panel, or Dark Messiah where you need to connect to the internet to authenticate. But it is still a gray area in many places, especially for something like Gothic 3 that is single player only.

— Mike
txa1265 is offline

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#21

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,475

Default 

November 17th, 2006, 17:10
gothic 3 has an automatic updated that runs on mondays. even when you shut it off!
curious is offline

curious

curious's Avatar
liberty or license

#22

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,386

Default 

November 17th, 2006, 17:54
HI

I have been playing the demo for a days now. I've found that the gameplay, story etc. are very well crafted and the sound and visuals look great as well. Personally, I like the graphics and how the game has that old Gothic feeling - much better, imo, than Oblivion's very polished & shiny graphics.

I get the feeling that I'm immersed in a realistic game world in which my choices have real consequences. In Oblivion, I just get the feeling that I'm in somekind of - themepark ? - ??

I like nice visuals as much as the next one, but I like gameplay, story etc. much better.
aries100 is offline

aries100

SasqWatch
RPGWatch Team RPGWatch Donor

#23

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Denmark, Europe
Posts: 2,035

Default 

November 17th, 2006, 20:18
I don't think anyone here is suggesting the graphics are bad - its the system requirements given the graphics.

"For Innos!"
ToddMcF2002 is offline

ToddMcF2002

ToddMcF2002's Avatar
SasqWatch

#24

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 2,232

Default 

November 17th, 2006, 20:25
But how can you judge that? How do you know what sort of requirements should be required? Do you have a baseline other than Oblivion, which as I said, has to load every interior cell even the size of a toilet cubicle?
Dhruin is offline

Dhruin

Dhruin's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch
Super Moderator
RPGWatch Team

#25

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11,968

Default 

November 17th, 2006, 20:45
becuase innos has forsaken him and he must learn gain the favor of adanos.

kidding asided - the suggested requirements may be wrong/unfair, but running everything on maximum except textures on a computer over 3 years old makes me love the developers even more. as reference i can play gothic 3 with far more features than i could when gothic 1 and 2 came out, not that that is a basis for anything other than my happiness. gothic 1 took me over 5 minutes to load a save game at the time too, worth every minute too. realisticly they could put loading zones between the 3 zones, but would that improve performance all that much. if you remember from gothic 2 you also couldn't use transporter stones between the different 'worlds'. this would cause huge problems in gothic 3, having to transport to the pass between each, walk to the other side, and then transport to the city you want.
curious is offline

curious

curious's Avatar
liberty or license

#26

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,386

Default 

November 17th, 2006, 21:13
I think 3 loading zones would improve things tremendously. In fact, if the rumours of an xBox360 port are true, they will have to rearchitect the game since it utilizes a shared 512 MB buffer.

And Dhruin, if you turn off the annoying "Loading Area…" message in Oblivion you'll barely notice the transitions - and its not as if Gothic 3 doesnt stutter anyway? What exactly have they gained over Gothic 2 and its 3 zones? I'm not trying to bash the game - I'm just saying that the games visuals don't justify the system requirements. Ironically though, those requirements have nothing to do with the visuals, but for reviews it doesnt matter. Sure its seamless, great. But it still stutters enough you might as well have Oblivion streaming methods and allow your game to run on more common hardware. The game would be far more stable and the reviews would be better.

"For Innos!"
ToddMcF2002 is offline

ToddMcF2002

ToddMcF2002's Avatar
SasqWatch

#27

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 2,232

Default 

November 17th, 2006, 21:23
Originally Posted by Dhruin View Post
But how can you judge that? How do you know what sort of requirements should be required? Do you have a baseline other than Oblivion, which as I said, has to load every interior cell even the size of a toilet cubicle?
There is no objective standard - but I tend to make these comparisons for shooters. HL2 compared to FEAR compared to other stuff - there is a constant 'what I get for what price' comparison, even when there are many disparate factors. I think that the fact that Gothic 3 is a 'performance pusher' makes people ask the questions - sort of like NWN2.

— Mike
txa1265 is offline

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#28

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,475

Default 

November 17th, 2006, 21:32
Another point - there are only two high end, open world games on the market for comparison. We pretty much have to wait for Crysis to change that.

"For Innos!"
ToddMcF2002 is offline

ToddMcF2002

ToddMcF2002's Avatar
SasqWatch

#29

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 2,232

Default 

November 17th, 2006, 21:44
Originally Posted by ToddMcF2002 View Post
Another point - there are only two high end, open world games on the market for comparison. We pretty much have to wait for Crysis to change that.
Speaking of which, think about when Far Cry came out - the performance was piggy, the load times horrendous, but everone talked about the huge island area you got to see … and it was all good …

— Mike
txa1265 is offline

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#30

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,475

Default 

November 17th, 2006, 21:46
Yup I remember that. Its one of the few games out there where they actually delivered big time on performance boosts. I hope the same happens here.

On a totally unrelated topic - the 8800GTX is flying on Crysis. Did you see those clips? Now that is performance!

"For Innos!"
ToddMcF2002 is offline

ToddMcF2002

ToddMcF2002's Avatar
SasqWatch

#31

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 2,232

Default 

November 17th, 2006, 22:36
Originally Posted by ToddMcF2002 View Post
And Dhruin, if you turn off the annoying "Loading Area…" message in Oblivion you'll barely notice the transitions - and its not as if Gothic 3 doesnt stutter anyway? What exactly have they gained over Gothic 2 and its 3 zones? I'm not trying to bash the game - I'm just saying that the games visuals don't justify the system requirements. Ironically though, those requirements have nothing to do with the visuals, but for reviews it doesnt matter. Sure its seamless, great. But it still stutters enough you might as well have Oblivion streaming methods and allow your game to run on more common hardware. The game would be far more stable and the reviews would be better.
You're only talking about one aspect, though, and I wasn't comparing to G2. I don't really care about Oblivion's "loading" message at all — what I care about is the door transitions. As I said, having real windows, being able to see people working from outside the doorway and entering/leaving freely adds considerably to Gothic's atmosphere as opposed to Oblivions teleport-to-an-enclosed-cell method.

I would have been happy if they simply used the G2 engine and created the new content they wanted, but reviewers and mainstream gamers wouldn't. I accept they missed their goal but what I'm saying is that was a worthy goal to try for.
Dhruin is offline

Dhruin

Dhruin's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch
Super Moderator
RPGWatch Team

#32

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11,968

Default 

November 19th, 2006, 17:03
IF a large part of the performance issues is due to a seemless world, which seems likely, I would have preferred to have "strategically placed" loading zones. With the amount of caverns, geographical differences, etc… that Gothic 3 has, why not put loading zones in these areas? E.G: For a lengthy cavern romp like the quest in Reddock (early in game), why not break up the cavern into a different zone? As you're walking into the cavern it would not seem so jarring as say, Morrowind, which pauses mid-stride in the middle of nowhere to load more landscape. With all of these "strategically placed" loading zones in G3, the result would be better performance without sacraficing too much immersion.

..& so they take the fiction all out of the Jabberwock & I recognize & accept him as a fact. - Mark Twain, May 30, 1880
Jabberwocky is offline

Jabberwocky

Jabberwocky's Avatar
True Synaesthete

#33

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Midwest, USA
Posts: 1,081
RPGWatch Forums » Comments » News Comments » Gothic 3 - Review @ Pro-G
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:30.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch