Buying a new PC

P

pibbur

Hi

I'm buying a new PC, as the old one seem to be slowly dying (please don't suggest things to do to fix it, like reinstalling win Xp. I need the excuse. And the wife has accepted it).

I have a couple of questions.

1) Vista32 or Vista64 (Upgrading to Win 7 is free)? Where can I find information about compatibility problem with 64 and for instance games? (I have a laptop with Vista 32, no problems there, so far)

2) Radeon HD4870 or Geforce gx275. Performance should be about the same, but I've no experience with Radeons - I'm a nVidia guy, and thus I've heard nasty things about compatibility problems and image quality with Radeons.

3) I can get a PC with Intel Core i7 920 for about the same price (+200USD) as a PC with Core™ 2 Quad Q9650 (with water-cooling). Should I go for i7, or is the Q9650 safer?

I prefer not to buy the latest and best technology, but the next best, since that usually gives more bang for the bucks. I also can't spend too much time evaluating a million options, therefore I've mostly selected brands I'm familiar with (thus no AMD cpus).

---
Pibbur

1) I think that most companies by now have an option for free upgrade to Windows 7.
Even if they don't you might want to check the preorders on Amazon as it's really cheap.
2)I'm an nVidia guy too but I've read some nasty stuff about nVidia driver problems so I can't be of help here.I would though point out that Windows 7 (and Direct X11) isn't really far and that getting a top notch DX10 card right now doesn't seem a great idea because in approx 2-3 years there will be plenty of games which will take advantage of DX11. I know that Ati are already desinging DX11 cards right now but nVidias seems to be a step back.
3)I'm not really sure but I've read that i7's performance is pretty much untouchable.Id I would go for the i7.

1) I think that most companies by now have an option for free upgrade to Windows 7.