Arcanum Character creation

k1000

Watchdog
Original Sin Donor
Original Sin 2 Donor
Hi everyone. I'm new to Arcanum and still reading the manual to try and grasp character creation and the gameplay basics. I got the game last week when Dhruin pointed out it was an absolute steal for 2.99$ at GOG ;)

I basically would like to play a thief. Any tips on that? Is it doable to play a hybrid thief/mage? If I play a thief and steal/pickpocket a lot, will I automatically be aligned evil? Does chosing the evil path block you out of a lot of quests? I've also read that the number of NPC followers depends on my Charisma rating. How does that work and how many points should I put in Charisma if I want to play with a good amount of followers.

not sure what it does to your character but likely the Troika team considered in most actions. If Fallout is any indicator of their style it probably amounts just stealing to the keys to what you need or the cash to buy it. On one occaision in FO2 I didn't have what was needed to get into either the gas station or the BoS so I snuck in. Unfortunately, it ended up I couldn't complete the game because I got what I needed in a way they didn't expect.

Getting back to character creation, Arcanum is unfortunately severely unbalanced. They nerfed the guns and made the sword wielder too powerful.

There are a number of bugfix and other mods out there. Will they work with a GoG version?

I have read somewhere that high charisma gives you the chance to talk yourself out of most situations ... rather combat-free role-playing.

I can't say. I haven't played Arcanum for many years now, and re-found the game CD only last week again.