Games like Fallout ,Icewind dale?

TheProduct

Watcher
I am new to pc gaming and even though i have a decent rig i am in love with fallout 1 and Icewind dale.. only 2 games i played on the pc since a friend highly recommended them, these older games are amazing and i find myself addicted to games from late 90's to early 2000's, any suggestions to this new pc gamer…thank you.

P.S- I could go in-depth into my love for these two games but i wnna keep it short and simple.

I think you should check out games like Eschalon Book I & II, and also Avadon. These are indie games, but definitely fun stuff in isometric, turn-based combat style.

On the off chance that you haven't tried the Baldur's Gate series you should give them a go. Planescape: Torment maybe, the setting is weird and combat isn't great, but can often be avoided, and the story is great. Divine Divinity could be worth a look too.

Arcanum, Temple of Elemental Evil, Baldur's Gate 1+2, and relatively soon Wasteland 2.

Sadly there were very few games of that type ever made and the best of them were Baldurs Gate 1-2, Planescape Torment and Fallout 1-2. Temple of elemental evil is not half bad either.
If it is well written stories and interesting settings you are after however they kinda stopped doing those sometime in the last decade with a few rare exeptions (alltho they are comming back with a vengeance) so my recommendations are mostly 10 years or older.
In no particular order:
Deus Ex (every pc gamer should play this) ,Fallout New Vegas, Max Payne 1-2, The Witcher 1-2, System shock 2, Vampire Bloodlines, Gothic 1-2 (horrible grafix and the controls are hard to get used to but a cult classic for a reason), The Elder Scrolls Morrowind (oblivion and Skyrim are also enjoyable with the right mods), Halflife 1-2 (not much story just pure gameplay excellence), Dishonored and Risen.
Fallout 3 is definetly worth a try too even if it is somewhat lacking in the story department.

Last edited: