SSD - Another Noob Question

T

Toff

I feel like a noob for this one as I'm an IT Manager yet have never had an SSD. We don't even use them at work.

How much better than a hard drive is it?

Totally worth it? Will I only see improvements in loading times?

I have two laptops 100% SSD. Dead silent, Incredibly fast boot cycles and zero failures. I will not revert to standard disk. The downsides are cost and capacity. You will pay for capacity!

In one sense, they are hard to justify - price to capacity is poor, and the difference they make is not going to change your world. But... once you get used to the snappy responsiveness of your OS on an SSD, it's very hard to go back.

They're significantly more expensive, but you'll never go back to using a mechanical drive once you get used to having a SSD.

A lot of people just purchase a smaller SSD and just keep their OS and a few other things on it while keeping the majority of other programs, including games, on a larger HDD.

Personally, I think that's a waste. Buy a SSD that's large enough to store all your games. It's worth it. I have a 512GB SSD for my OS and games and I use a 4TB external HDD for media files, etc.

You'll see improvements in boot times, launching programs and games, loading levels in games and transferring larger files.

The difference is quite significant and totally worth it. (IMO)

You will not see any improvement in Frames per second though.

I have an external 2 TB hard drive for storage. In my PC I have only SSD and will never go back. It's that big a difference for me.

There are several youtube videos showing the difference, so watch them and decide for yourself.

SSDs are the best invention in computers since graphic cards IMHO. They're incredibly faster than hard drives, and for laptops they have three more advantages (other than speed): lighter, more resilient, and use less battery power.