Drakensang Drakensang not fully voice acted?

cerberus9090

Frank Horrigan
Hi all,

I just started playing the English version, and wanted to make sure nothing is wrong. Is the english version fully voice acted? Some of the first characters I talk to just say the first line, but then do not speak the rest of the dialogue. I am guessing this is not an error, but just wanted to check.

I am a bit thrown off by this - I figure that a modern game with solid graphics would have full voice acting. I guess THQ was careful not to throw too much money behind it....

I'm going to make a horrible comparison right now, but it seems like the best one that fits. Compare Morrowind to Oblivion in terms of dialogue.

Morrowind: tons of content but only one voiced "hello" type sentence in the beginning.
Oblivion: everything is voiced, but you're now limited in content and how much is said.

I prefer Morrowind especially with a great mod that makes the people come alive like the LGNPC mod, but it's a matter of preference. I don't really care if someone says the lines or not.

Edit: Your avatar gave me idea for an even better comparison.

Fallout 3 vs Fallout 2 or 1

It wasn't THQ's decision. In the German version only the first sentence is voiced, like in the international versions.

Makes sense to me. If its a choice, then I'd rather have way more content than voice acting. Good call on F3, the shallow dialogue options were a major disappointment.

In case of Drakensang cutting things down for voice acting would have been counter productive because they hired 4 original DSA authors to write the script.

That's good in my case, I read faster than the voice, so 99% of the time I just ignore the voice and just read and click over it.
And yes, I definitely prefer content over voice, I'd rather if they spent X money on hiring writers than voice actors. Besides, most reviews always say that voice acting in a game is bad unless it's a known actor or something. Good riddance I say