Kickstarter - Editorial @ Gamasutra

Myrthos

Cave Canem
Administrator
The creator of Contract Work explains in a blog on Gamasutra how he managed to get his game funded on Kickstarter, but failed to make it a success.

Here is the part about what went wrong in art & style.

I'm not a great artist, which from the beginning meant that I should have been smarter about the Contract Work art. At some point I tried to transition away from pixel art to taking advantage of my 3d rendering knowledge, but I didn't finish the transition. I also brought in some outside assets to help fill some gaps. Take a look at this screen:

DivX-Plus-Player-2013-07-20-12-36-53-59.jpg

The security stations are in a pixel art style. The enemies are 3d renders. The floor tiles are outside assets. There are multiple types of disjointed lighting effects. There is so much text on the screen! As Adam Smith from RockPaperShotgun writes:

The graphics, taken as a whole, lack character, even if some of the robot designs are attractive in isolation. It's all too busy, which added to my initial sense of disorientation and difficulty. The screen presents too much information, the camera is a little too close, and the character feels beset from all sides, even before the real action begins.

What I needed to do was clean everything up, take more time to establish a consistent style, then make sure that style was used in every part of the game. It retrospect, it was a hot mess.
More information.

I liked the article. It shows what often time customers forget, that someone can intend to make a great game and prove unable to deliver. Mistakes can be made. Potential can be wasted. Making really good games (or anything else) is not easy. I remember shaking my head when reading some of the comments on various computer forums (the Might and Magic X forum for example) where some posters basically wrote "This is junk and I could make a better product." Which of course in 99% of the cases is a load of bull.