What ever happened to RPG games

CelticFrost

SasqWatch
Call me old(40) call me foolish(can be at times) but what ever happened to RPG games. I started playing RPGs with ultima3 on the 64 which didn't have alot of wasted time with hugh cut sceens that really didn't help the play of the game at all(not that the system could run them anyways). But lets take Dragons age 2, there was so my space and wasted programing to wasted cut sceens with your party members that could have went to building Dungens and passages that weren't all the same with just different opens to go. They didn't even take the time to to build rocks around them just blocked them off....
Ultima 4 which i might have called the computer store 250 times to see if it was in came on 8 floppy discs, which took forever to load...but everything was built different...every town had its own feel, dungens were hugh deep and kick ass... you would think with all the tech we have now of days the story's would get better ...
Don't get me wrong I love the how great games look now of days but i want to be deeply ssubmersed into the games story...Maybe its just me....

It's dead, Jim.
- Dr. Leonard McCoy

That is not dead which can eternal lie. And with strange aeons even death may die.
- Abdul Alhazred

Video games firms want to make money. To make money, they need to sell to customers.
Video games have grown into a large social activity with players playing video games to get a sense of belonging. They play a lot of games, games after games after games and follow the hype.

One solution for RPG producers was to attract more of these glutonous players to the RPG genre, to convert them to RPG players.

Or another solution was to bring the genre to these players by removing any feature they dislike.

The second road was chosen. This is what happened to cRPG.