Risen Trading - what am I missing?

oliverh72

Watchdog
So I started playing recently and I ended up in the swamp, talking to the guy who wants help with the big worm. I decided to trade with him.

The only thing he had that I wanted at the time was a magic ring for 100 gold. I wanted to unload a bunch of useless weapons and other items, which amounted to 362 gold. (or something around there)

I was expecting him to give me the ring and 262(ish) gold for my stuff. But when I clicked the finalize trade button (can't remember the exact wording), he tells me that my stuff is worth less than his, so he takes a bunch of my money on top.

What gives? Did I miss something important, or does trading just work differently in Risen?

Oliver

Are you sure thats what he said? It is confusing because he says "I'll accept your X amount" which means he'll "accept your price" and pays you. Bit confusing at first.

Yeah, I knew he only paid 1/5 of the value.. but I assumed that that's what was showing on my side of the trade window - the items I'm offering, at the price he's willing to pay. Why would it show their full price?

Besides, before clicking accept, I did a quick calculation, at their 1/5 value and it looked like the correct amount... but he still took a bunch of my money anyway. I'll see if I have an earlier savegame and try again.

Is it normal you don't get gold?
I have the impression that I'm not getting anything if I only put stuff on my side of the trade window.

No, it works properly. The dialog is confusing though, it sounds like the trader is going to take your gold but you take it as you should.

Works every time, there are no problems - even a trader with just a few miserly items will accept a warehouse full of stuff and return the balance in gold.

Don't trade with him…

Don't trade with anyone is my suggestion - unless you can't hurt him…