|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » General RPG » Dark Souls 2 questions

Default Dark Souls 2 questions

May 21st, 2014, 13:35
Originally Posted by GothicGothicness View Post
While I love DS 1 and haven't started with 2 yet. I can't help but wounder what it could have become with even more RPG and story elements.
Telling a story through the complex world designs in the Dark Souls games consistently is not realistic (even proper, story focused games fail at that) and would dilute the sense of mystery in this complex world.

Moreover, when I stop playing a Dark Souls game, the only things that I think about is where should I go next, what armour and weapons are better for my next gameplay, what attribute I should level up, what equipment I want to buy/reinforce, how to solve a paticular puzzle, .. etc. The story is secondary for me and only adds magic to the place once I figure it out.
SpoonFULL is offline

SpoonFULL

SpoonFULL's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#21

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,355

Default 

May 21st, 2014, 16:19
I played DS1 for a while, but then my 360 decided it won't play nice with my router. I have DS2 for PC, so I'm playing that.
Ovenall is offline

Ovenall

Ovenall's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#22

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Downtown Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,036

Default 

May 23rd, 2014, 16:01
In Dark Souls 2, how can you drop inventory items into the game world (on the PC version)?

I have tried many things and the only thing that is available is the 'use' button after selecting a particular item in the inventory - but that just consumes or throws the items as appropriate, not drop it!

Many thanks
SpoonFULL is offline

SpoonFULL

SpoonFULL's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#23

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,355

Default 

May 25th, 2014, 23:34
Sorry guys, I totally forgot about this thread. I should have subscribed to it since I started it.

@spoonfull— If you go into keybindings and then select the pane all the way to the right. What ever key you have for confirm is the key. Just highlight the item then press the confirm key and it will bring up another menu with the option to discard items.

Not sure why you"d want to though as you have an infinite inventory.

I finally finished the game. It was enjoyable but not in the same league as the first imo.

Towards the end I started to get tired of the mob mentality and just made my way to the end of the game so I probably missed a fair amount of end game content.

I will probably go back to see what I missed later but I'm a little burnt out on it. I did just play almost 400 hours with DS1 and 2 combined.

A hint that I learned late and was annoyed about is that most secret areas are now found with the interact button, not by attacking like in the first game.

I found the bosses to be easier than the first game I didn't run in to any that took me all day to beat like ornstien and smough from the first game.

I felt the first game was more fair than the second. IN DS2 it seemed if they wanted difficulty they would spawn in a guy mid fight or use poor camera angles in tight quarters where you loss track of your guy. ( giant boss towards the end, especially.)

My biggest disappointment would be the lack of good dex weapons. I ended up having to respec to a more str/dex build with the nod to strength.

Overall I felt everything in the second game was just a notch below the first but maybe that was because the formula wasn't new to me anymore.

The environments weren't as immersive, the world didn't seamlessly connect, the bosses weren't as interesting and it just didn't seem as fun as the first.

That's not to say it's bad because I hold the 1st game in pretty high esteem so just coming in under that still puts DS2 above most other games I've played.
sakichop is offline

sakichop

SasqWatch

#24

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,178

Default 

May 26th, 2014, 12:13
Not a DS2 question, but…

I just installed DS1 because I wanted to give the PC version another try since I recently purchased a new controller. Anyways, I'm getting really poor framerates and I don't understand why. I've got the latest version of DsFix installed and the framerate unlocked.

I set the internal resolution to match the external one (1920x1200), and I've got SSAO and AA disabled, but I'm forcing AA through Nvidia Inspector. Fwiw, my framerate is pretty much the same with or without AA. I'm getting around 20 FPS in the starting area and it dips close to 10 FPS when fighting the Asylum Demon. Any ideas?
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#25

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,819

Default 

May 26th, 2014, 12:21
Originally Posted by JDR13 View Post
Not a DS2 question, but…

I just installed DS1 because I wanted to give the PC version another try since I recently purchased a new controller. Anyways, I'm getting really poor framerates and I don't understand why. I've got the latest version of DsFix installed and the framerate unlocked.

I set the internal resolution to match the external one (1920x1200), and I've got SSAO and AA disabled, but I'm forcing AA through Nvidia Inspector. Fwiw, my framerate is pretty much the same with or without AA. I'm getting around 20 FPS in the starting area and it dips close to 10 FPS when fighting the Asylum Demon. Any ideas?
You might want to try reducing the internal resolution as 1920x1200 is pretty high, and will probably cause a performance hit.

Don't know your setup, but it still sounds a bit slow, though. I do remember fiddling around with a few settings before getting it to look and run well, but it should be doable.

I'd consider trying 1280x720 - which I believe is the intended resolution, but I could be wrong.
DArtagnan is online now

DArtagnan

DArtagnan's Avatar
Waste of potential

#26

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 14,452

Default 

May 27th, 2014, 07:21
I tried lowering the internal resolution all the way down to the default 1024x720 and it made very little difference. The framerate also varies wildly - going as high as the 60 fps cap and then down into the teens. 20-30 fps seems to be the most common range though, at least according to FRAPS.

Either DS1 just doesn't like something on my system or it's extremely CPU-bound.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#27

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,819
RPGWatch Forums » Games » General RPG » Dark Souls 2 questions
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:49.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch