Iron Tower Studio - RPG Developer Roundtable

Dhruin

SasqWatch
Iron Tower has collected an impressive 15 developers for a sweet roundtable discussion on setting, story and characters. There's too much to do justice here but let's take a grab from each section. Chris Avellone on setting:
Before beginning, we usually have a sense of what the engine will be for the game and what "type" of RPG we're creating (action, turn-based, 3rd person party, etc.). Following that, I try to absorb as much about the genre as possible, including any tangential or off-the-beaten path explorations of that genre (for example, I studied the Expanded Universe in Star Wars extensively, and for the Aliens genre, I also made sure to cover all the Predator vs. Aliens material as well as all the Dark Horse books and novels). The reason for this is pretty simple – one, you don't want to do a story or character someone else has already done in the field. Second of all, it lets you start listing all the hallmarks of the genre and what the core appeal is.

So, let's take Aliens as an example. What's cool about Aliens?

Well, it's scary. But why?
David Gaider on story structure: