Planescape help

Hannibal

Traveler
Hello everyone! I'm a long time reader but this is my first post. I finally picked up Planescape Torment and I have to say so far it is great. I love the story and how fleshed out the dialog is. I do have a couple of questions though. How do I get lower armor class for the main character? He doesn't seem to be able to wear armor (his AC is 10) and he's getting slaughtered in every fight. Also, are there quests that give out cash or items? I'm broke and most quests only seem to give out XP.

Thanks,

Han

I started playing for first time couple of days ago, as well.
My humble opinion is that the game is too easy. I mean, it was extremely easy in the mortuary, then it got a little harder until Dak'kon joined me. I've played for around for fifteen hours and I didn't die at all, so I don't know why do you find it to be hard... btw I have str, dex and con all set to 9... And this is my first D&D game.
As for the cash, you can get a lot of it by selling jewelry. You'll find jewelry on thugs'
corpses.

I recently replayed so I can be a bit of help.

AC goes down with your dexterity. Other ways to set it lower (for the Nameless one, but same goes for most other characters you can find) are wearing jewellery - rings, earrings, bracelets, forgot if there are anymore right now. Some of the tattoos that Fell sells (near the Smouldering courpse bar) also lower AC, as some of the spells, that some of the NPC mages (I won't name them here so not to spoil it for you, finding all the joinable NPC's is part of the fun) and the lead zombie, if he is a mage can cast.

Cash is easy to come buy, but there is little point to it, in my opinion. Few items need buying untill the late game, and beside special quest items, a few spell scrolls (since I played a mage) and lots of healing items (very very late in the game, though I hardly used any) there is little point in buying anything else. Doing all the quest certainly gets plenty of cash in the beginning.