|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » General Forums » Tech Help » I need a new graphic card

Default I need a new graphic card

April 28th, 2010, 15:01
Because my old card died I need a new graphic card. My computer is almost two years old now, and my shiny GF9800GX2 (which was a great $500 card back when I bought it) isn't with us anymore. And at the moment I'm trying to figure out a card that's kind of as good but not close to as expensive.

My system specs:

Intel Quad Core Q9300 2500MHz 6 MB cache processor
Western Digital Raptor HD 150 GB
Corsair Power Supply 750W TX
2*Kingston 2GB DDR2 (so, 4GB RAM)
ASUS P5Q Mainboard S-775 P45 ATX PCI-E Audio GbLAN 2x1394 SATA-II Raid DDR2

As I said, I'd rather not spend another $500 (375 euro) on a graphic card when the rest of the machine probably only have about two years in it (three if I'm lucky/stingy). Any suggestions on suiting cards? I went to a store today and they had the following two cards: MSI N2500 GTS (I suspect that's acually an N250) and an Asus EAH5770*. Any views on those two cards?

*Graphic cards is a jungle, why can't they get a naming convention that makes intuitive sense?

Übereil

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

H. L. Mencken

The Chaos Cascade
Ubereil is offline

Ubereil

Ubereil's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#1

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,263

Default 

April 28th, 2010, 15:13
This one usually have good roundups:
http://ixbtlabs.com/articles3/i3dspe…-video-p1.html
Last edited by hishadow; April 28th, 2010 at 15:40.
hishadow is offline

hishadow

Level N+1

#2

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern parts of Norway
Posts: 1,140

Default 

April 28th, 2010, 15:59
Tom's Hardware makes a test every month named "best graphicscard for the money". Here's the april one;
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/…-480,2598.html

Mankind must put an end to war or war will put an end to mankind. - John F Kennedy
An eye for an eye, and soon the whole world is blind. - Mahatma Gandhi
The world is my country. To do good is my religion. My mind is my own church. This simple creed is all we need to enjoy peace on earth. - Thomas Paine
JemyM is offline

JemyM

JemyM's Avatar
Okay, now roll sanity.

#3

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,027
Send a message via ICQ to JemyM Send a message via MSN to JemyM

Default 

April 28th, 2010, 16:32
Dx11 ati cards are the only choice right now. Possibly 5850 if you have small budget. 5870 othervice. 5870x2 aka 5970 if you dont mind microstuttering.

If Id have to buy card now I would propably pick Sapphire Radeon HD5870 Vapor-X. It has the best cooler of all of the cards.

“I've learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” - Maya Angelou
"Those who dont read history are destined to repeat it."– Edmund Burke
zakhal is offline

zakhal

zakhal's Avatar
HomelyRebel

#4

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Europa Universalis
Posts: 2,968

Default 

April 28th, 2010, 20:59
Even the 5850 is still about $300, not exactly idea for a small budget.

@Ubereil: How much of a graphics whore are you?
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,446

Default 

April 29th, 2010, 10:30
I'm not the kind of guy who lives for the graphics, but I also suspect that nice graphics is the kind of thing I only notice when they're not there.

I'm keeping an eye on ATI 5770's at the moment. I'm curious about what's different about Asus EAH 5770, and if that difference warrants a higher price (they've got one in the store on campus).

Another question is the reputation on PowerColor and Saphire (since those are the only two companies I've found in online stores that sells the 512 verision of 5770, which according to Tom's Hardware seems like all I need with my 19" 1280x1024 screen). They seem to make the cheapest cards, which I suspect means they use the cheapest components too.

Edit: Nevermind, I bought the EAH in the campus store. Apparently it's a 5770 with a good fan. Price was decent in line with what I'd have to pay if I ordered online (with shipping costs) and I got it today so it was a decent deal all in all.

Übereil

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

H. L. Mencken

The Chaos Cascade
Last edited by Ubereil; April 29th, 2010 at 10:52.
Ubereil is offline

Ubereil

Ubereil's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#6

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,263

Default 

April 29th, 2010, 11:39
A 4850 is more than adequate for every game currently on the market and should last at least another couple of years unless you are playing at insane resolutions.

Favourite RPGs of all time: Wizardry 6, Ultima 7/7.2, Fallout2, Planescape Torment, Baldurs Gate 2+TOB, Jagged Alliance 2, Ravenloft: The stone prophet, Gothic 2, Realms of Arkania:Blade of destiny (not the HD version!!) and Secret of the Silver Blades.
bjon045 is offline

bjon045

bjon045's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#7

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sigil
Posts: 936

Default 

April 29th, 2010, 12:35
… or want dx11 graphics.

pibbur

Guest

#8

Posts: n/a

Default 

April 29th, 2010, 23:03
Originally Posted by bjon045 View Post
A 4850 is more than adequate for every game currently on the market and should last at least another couple of years unless you are playing at insane resolutions.

I was going to suggest a 4890, you can get them on Ebay now for around $150. It's a very fast card for that price, probably the best price/performance ratio right now imo.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#9

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,446

Default 

May 2nd, 2010, 01:22
There is also Radeon 5830, which I just bought as my old card started malfunctioning. It was around 200 euros in Germany. The best 5770 cards are very close in what comes to speed, but as my card (Sapphire) is built on the bigger 5850 board with a large fan, it always stays under 65 degrees Celsius.

Funnily enough, I could not get any recent version of the Catalyst Control Center to install, but the drivers I could install with the 'Update driver' function under Vista. Only advice I've found in ATI/AMD forums is that I should install Windows again from scratch, but I do not accept that as a solution - should I install Windows every time there is a driver update? I suppose the application settings take over if CCC is not installed; at least they seem to work in games I have tried with.

In short: I'm happy with the card but not with the software.
MasterLich is offline

MasterLich

Watchdog

#10

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Luxembourg
Posts: 169

Default 

May 2nd, 2010, 08:25
Originally Posted by JDR13 View Post
I was going to suggest a 4890, you can get them on Ebay now for around $150. It's a very fast card for that price, probably the best price/performance ratio right now imo.
Yepp. I have the 4890 and I am very happy with it. Together with the i7 CPU in my machine, it can run almost anything I throw at it at high/very high settings.

However, if I bought a graphics card today I would consider going for a DX11 card, or wait a while until they become cheaper.

EDIT: I see that waiting was not an option for you, since the old GPU was dead.

pibbur

Guest

#11

Posts: n/a

Default 

May 2nd, 2010, 10:52
Get any ATI dx 11 card… no competition currently.
GothicGothicness is offline

GothicGothicness

GothicGothicness's Avatar
SasqWatch

#12

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,088

Default 

May 8th, 2010, 08:52
Originally Posted by GothicGothicness View Post
Get any ATI dx 11 card… no competition currently.
Those Nvidia drivers fried my card, and based on my experience, I would follow your advice as well and go with an ATI. The only reason I'm sticking with Nvidia right now is because I'm going to get a free replacement from EVGA because of the lifetime warranty. But after all this driver garbage, when it comes time for me to buy a new card, I'm going with ATI.
Sir Markus is offline

Sir Markus

Sir Markus's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#13

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 811

Default 

May 8th, 2010, 09:13
Being an nvidia fan since the 90'ies even I am considering going with ATI for my next card, unless there's some awesome new card that appears within may. I want new cards for the summer because I plan to catch up on a lot of games once I am off the university. Of course, part of this is an identity challenge… I have forced myself to try to focus on utility before loyalty when it comes to brands.

Mankind must put an end to war or war will put an end to mankind. - John F Kennedy
An eye for an eye, and soon the whole world is blind. - Mahatma Gandhi
The world is my country. To do good is my religion. My mind is my own church. This simple creed is all we need to enjoy peace on earth. - Thomas Paine
JemyM is offline

JemyM

JemyM's Avatar
Okay, now roll sanity.

#14

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,027
Send a message via ICQ to JemyM Send a message via MSN to JemyM

Default 

May 8th, 2010, 11:26
Originally Posted by MasterLich View Post
There is also Radeon 5830, which I just bought as my old card started malfunctioning. It was around 200 euros in Germany. The best 5770 cards are very close in what comes to speed, but as my card (Sapphire) is built on the bigger 5850 board with a large fan, it always stays under 65 degrees Celsius.

Funnily enough, I could not get any recent version of the Catalyst Control Center to install, but the drivers I could install with the 'Update driver' function under Vista. Only advice I've found in ATI/AMD forums is that I should install Windows again from scratch, but I do not accept that as a solution - should I install Windows every time there is a driver update? I suppose the application settings take over if CCC is not installed; at least they seem to work in games I have tried with.

In short: I'm happy with the card but not with the software.
Microsoft has a hotfix for this issue.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/961894

I had a lot of problems with the ATI drivers recently and at least for me it was related to Visual Studio 2005 getting all done got blowed up on my computer, or something. But this is exactly what helped me recently with installing/reinstalling ATI drivers. This fixes some .dll that the ATI installer uses. It can't hurt to install this small file, but it worked for me.
Sir Markus is offline

Sir Markus

Sir Markus's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#15

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 811

Default 

May 20th, 2010, 00:05
I recently upgraded my GeForce 8800GTS to a Radeon HD 4890, and I'm already regretting it. While the 4890 is definitely faster, I've already experienced some glitches with games. When I heard about the shadow problems with ATI cards and Gothic 3, I tested it out and also discovered that I can no longer force antialiasing.

Antialiasing is a big deal to me, and once you get used to it, it sucks to play without it. You can force antialiasing in any game, even games that supposedly don't support it, using an NVidia card and the nHancer utility. If you have an ATI card, and the game doesn't support antialiasing, then you're screwed.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#16

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,446

Default 

May 20th, 2010, 15:02
That is not entirely true, most games can be forced to do AA including G3 but in G3 you have to disable shadows in that case. For other games it can work perfectly. But is is troublesome.
GothicGothicness is offline

GothicGothicness

GothicGothicness's Avatar
SasqWatch

#17

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,088

Default 

May 20th, 2010, 20:20
Trust me, you can't enable AA in Gothic 3 with an ATI card, it's not possible. Disabling shadows does nothing.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#18

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,446

Default 

May 20th, 2010, 20:24
yes you can, rename the Gothic3.exe to bioshock.exe which has an ATI profile, the same method work on drakensong, but you have to disable shadows in Gothic 3 like I said or they'll flicker a lot.
GothicGothicness is offline

GothicGothicness

GothicGothicness's Avatar
SasqWatch

#19

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,088

Default 

May 20th, 2010, 20:34
I think you've confused that with a trick to enable it with nVidia cards. It doesn't work, I just tried it.

Ironically, every Gothic game has had problems with ATI cards at one time or another. I'm definitely going back to nVidia for my next card.
Last edited by JDR13; May 20th, 2010 at 20:47.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#20

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,446
RPGWatch Forums » General Forums » Tech Help » I need a new graphic card
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:32.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch