|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » General Forums » Tech Help » Network Problems…

Default Network Problems…

February 3rd, 2007, 13:54
Hi, I recently bought Far Cry (Bargain at $20). Ive tried setting up a LAN with 2 computers, but Im having problems.

I have a network established (i.e. Network Neighborhood), but when one computer hosts, the other cannot see the other computer, and thus cannot join. I tried HAMACHI, but it creates a virtual LAN network over the internet, so that doesnt work.

Any ideas ? Thx?
nameless hero is offline

nameless hero

nameless hero's Avatar
Watchdog

#1

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 115

Default 

February 3rd, 2007, 14:00
There are many things it could be, from router settings, to firewalls. People will need a little more tech info to be able to help effectively!!

If God said it, then that settles it!!

Editor@RPGWatch
Corwin is offline

Corwin

Corwin's Avatar
On The Razorblade of Life
RPGWatch Team

#2

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 10,616
Send a message via Skype™ to Corwin

Default 

February 4th, 2007, 08:55
First, does Network Neighbourhood definitely allow you to access files in both directions? Don't just open NN — open the other computer (and do it from the other direction as well) and make sure you can actually reach some current files to ensure your basic network really does work.

If it does work (or you are already 100% sure it does), the first thing to check is that you're not being blocked by a firewall(s). Do you have firewall/security software (Norton, McAfee, Kerio, ZoneAlarm…) or Win XP's built-in firewall (such as in Service Pack 2)?

If so, you'll need to enable access for FarCry on both systems. This process varies with the actual firewall, so you may need to check your documentation or tell us the exact type. The easiest way to test is to temporarily disable any firewall on both systems — you might want to to disconnect your internet access for safety while you do this.

If it's not a firewall, try setting the other system up as the host and post some specific details such as Windows version, the IP of each PC, any firewall/security software (just to be sure) and what you've tried so we can eliminate those options.

-= RPGWatch =-
Dhruin is offline

Dhruin

Dhruin's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch
Super Moderator
RPGWatch Team

#3

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11,968

Default 

February 4th, 2007, 16:49
Ok…
-Network Neighborhood works perfectly, both ways, side ways, up ways and both ways.
-I dont have any sort of firewall installed. I have SP2 but the security centre is off.

Im thinking that maybe because my pc has SP2 and the other PC has SP1 it could have some issues. Though Age of Empires 3 runs perfectly on multiplayer.

The problem with far cry is that there is no direct_iP connection feature. all there is, is refresh, create and join.

I suppose thats all the important info!!! though (lol) this doesnt quite give alot to work with.
nameless hero is offline

nameless hero

nameless hero's Avatar
Watchdog

#4

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 115

Default 

February 4th, 2007, 16:52
Oh, btw, how do I find my ip address? I remember doing it before, just ive now forgotten. Thx.
nameless hero is offline

nameless hero

nameless hero's Avatar
Watchdog

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 115

Default 

February 5th, 2007, 09:46
In case you are using Windows, type following into your command line:

ipconfig
Danicek is offline

Danicek

Danicek's Avatar
Sentinel

#6

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Frýdek-Místek, Czech Republic
Posts: 418
RPGWatch Forums » General Forums » Tech Help » Network Problems…
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:14.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch