|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » System upgrade for G3?

Default System upgrade for G3?

January 19th, 2007, 07:23
I am looking at an Nvidia 7600GSx for my computer. With the specs I have listed below, do you think I can run Gothic 3 pretty good?

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+
1GB PC4200 DDR2 RAM
250 GB HDD
J-man1879 is offline

J-man1879

Traveler

#21

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3

Default 

January 19th, 2007, 07:27
Welcome to our forum!

IŽll leave the verdict on the card to sombody else because I donŽt know this exact chip.
You should get more RAM though. 1 GB is only tolerable, but not more. 1.5 GB is clearly better and 2 GB still improve the situation.
Gorath is offline

Gorath

Gorath's Avatar
Prime Evil
RPGWatch Team

#22

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,856

Default 

January 19th, 2007, 07:29
I will get my new card, I will have to wait on the ram though. I want to get the card first because I have on board graphics right now. I know that will not run it.
J-man1879 is offline

J-man1879

Traveler

#23

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3

Default 

January 19th, 2007, 07:32
Thanks for the welcome by the way. I have been a lurker for close to 2 years I guess. Great site as well.
J-man1879 is offline

J-man1879

Traveler

#24

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3

Default 

January 19th, 2007, 07:43
On board graphics in such a system ?? This means youŽve wasted 95% of the performance for games!

A 7600GS is a pretty good card. Now you only need to find out what the "x" means.

Originally Posted by J-man1879 View Post
I will get my new card, I will have to wait on the ram though. I want to get the card first because I have on board graphics right now. I know that will not run it.
Gorath is offline

Gorath

Gorath's Avatar
Prime Evil
RPGWatch Team

#25

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,856

Default 

January 22nd, 2007, 15:46
The 7900GS is good value for money and seems to get good results from overclocking.
Fez is offline

Fez

Traveler

#26

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18

Default 

April 14th, 2007, 05:57
Until the recent price drop, a AMD dual core 5000 now for 169us(Newegg) I've run fx55 single core cpus with an ATI x1950xtx. Oblivion, and G3 ran fine at mostly high resolutions, shadows off or low. I love eyecandy, being a shallow gamer,so this is the rig, I think. I had a dual core Athlon 4800 but sold it, single core seems smoother to me. I don't know if windows xp utilizes the dual core sufficiently. My task window never went over %50.Single core is smoother for me but I have a AMD 6000 ($269) for later. Great prices at the moment for new self built rigs.
sealight4 is offline

sealight4

Watcher

#27

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 34

Default 

April 14th, 2007, 07:35
On the topic of graphics cards, has anyone heard that Vista is the only OS which DX10 can run on. Bastards!!!
nameless hero is offline

nameless hero

nameless hero's Avatar
Watchdog

#28

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 115

Default 

April 14th, 2007, 18:11
I had heard you could run DX10 on XP as well, but that you wouldn't get a lot better GFX.
Pladio is offline

Pladio

Pladio's Avatar
Guardian of Nonsense
RPGWatch Donor

#29

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London, uk
Posts: 3,290
Send a message via MSN to Pladio
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » System upgrade for G3?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:58.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch