|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » General RPG » Tech help for Arx Fatalis?

Default Tech help for Arx Fatalis?

January 15th, 2007, 21:20
Hi all,

Someone (CM) on rpgdot said I might be able to get help getting AF to run here. I found what seems to be the last retail copy available in England… but it won't install. Once the installation process reaches a file called speech.pak, it just hangs. The progress bar actually reaches 'completion', but the installation doesn't end, and nothing further happens.

CM suggested I try disabling antivirus software and the autorun, and using the install file from the CD, but that I had the same error. He also thought other software from JoWood might be conflicting with it, but I tried installing it on a fresh laptop and nothing changed. The store I got it from say there aren't any other copies that they could order in, so I'd really love to find a way to get it to work…
Jinksy is offline

Jinksy

Traveler

#1

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9

Default 

January 15th, 2007, 21:30
Odd. Mine installed without a problem. Then again I have no active virus protection. Certainly that is worth a shot.

"For Innos!"
ToddMcF2002 is offline

ToddMcF2002

ToddMcF2002's Avatar
SasqWatch

#2

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 2,231

Default 

January 15th, 2007, 21:42
I never had a problem either, but apparently it *does* happen … here are some links:

Dark_Anubis
30-08-2003, 12:51
Hello,

thus, I have the following problem: If I want to install Arx Fatalis on my XP-system (, I have administrator rights) come to the end (the installation is actually already final to 100%) the message “the file Speech.pak could am not found” what am the hot? Those was nevertheless already installed by that CD. I can still add Dx.diag, but the nose is well-known and I perhaps needs that no longer.

Does someone know advice??

Greetings,
Dark_Anubis
punkadelic
03-09-2003, 16:36
Rear one,

someone with nem similar problem had it, because its CD was zerkratzt, and could with the fact make do that it did not set the read/access optimization for CD-ROM of “Quad speed with “capability characteristics” or more highly” on “a read optimization” - then everything was read and found.

… is ne vague hope, but try lasts ned so long

Greetings,
PunkaDelic
Jowood thread & FAQ

— Mike
txa1265 is offline

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#3

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,417

Default 

January 15th, 2007, 23:12
Hi Jinksy, hope these guys here can help you more then I did. We have some smart people on this forum. Glad you followed my advice to ask here.

Bart and Corwin should just admit that when it gets down to it, I will have the final say.
Cm is offline

Cm

Cm's Avatar
Sentinel of Light

#4

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Missouri USA
Posts: 2,106
Send a message via Skype™ to Cm

Default 

January 16th, 2007, 06:06
Will it install on another computer, i.e. friends or at work?
If so then we can focus on why it won't on your machine.

If you can't try it on another machine then we need to know a little more about your system like Dvd player, motherboard (plus chipset i.e. is it Via, SIS and some others require special driver updates), current Directx version (have your tried to reinstall dx9 lately?), available space on your harddrive and your operating system.

Also you could try installing it in Win98 compatablity mode.

Trust me, most of the names I have been called you can't translate in any language…they're not even real words as much as a succession of violent images.
Acleacius is offline

Acleacius

SasqWatch

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,498

Default 

January 16th, 2007, 12:11
Just to be sure: have you tried running it anyway after the crashed installation procedure? If so, what is the error message given?
MasterLich is offline

MasterLich

Watchdog

#6

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Luxembourg
Posts: 169

Default 

January 16th, 2007, 12:23
Failing all that, there's always the option of… acquiring it using other means. I mean, if you bought it legally, you deserve to play it, even if the actual CD is faulty.

VPeric is offline

VPeric

Sentinel

#7

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Serbia
Posts: 582

Default 

January 20th, 2007, 14:15
Originally Posted by Acleacius View Post
Will it install on another computer, i.e. friends or at work?
If so then we can focus on why it won't on your machine.

If you can't try it on another machine then we need to know a little more about your system like Dvd player, motherboard (plus chipset i.e. is it Via, SIS and some others require special driver updates), current Directx version (have your tried to reinstall dx9 lately?), available space on your harddrive and your operating system.

Also you could try installing it in Win98 compatablity mode.
I tried it on the new lappy 586 downstairs, and the same thing happened. The only minor difference was that rather than hanging indefinitely, it hung for a long time and then came up with an error message.

MasterLich: that's not an option. When it hangs, the only way to exit the window is to cancel (and hence undo) the whole installation. There's nothing to try running.

VPeric, I wouldn't mind trying something like that, but I've got a couple of CD images from Underdogs, and it's a nightmare trying to figure out what to do with them. Unless someone's willing to talk me through the whole procedure, I don't think I'd get far…
Jinksy is offline

Jinksy

Traveler

#8

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9

Default 

January 21st, 2007, 06:40
Did any of these install attemps include trying to install by setting the cmpablity tab to Win98 for the setup.exe and clicking on it directly?

So are there any things the two systems have in common OS, directx version, Dvd players, video cards (actually it sounds like you could have an ATI in the laptop, since it seem to reset itself) and sound card.
What about Zone Alarm?
If so you need to go in and block the Arx.exe access to internet and system functions.

We need more info man!

Trust me, most of the names I have been called you can't translate in any language…they're not even real words as much as a succession of violent images.
Acleacius is offline

Acleacius

SasqWatch

#9

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,498

Default 

January 22nd, 2007, 16:09
I don't remember properly but I think that I also had some troubles installing Arx Fatalis (the german version). In the official forums they suggest to uninstall programs like Daemon Tools, CD Emulations, CloneCD Tray Tools, GameJack, Firewalls, Virus Protection (e.g. F-Secure, Norton) etc.. Do you use Nero or something like that? I remember that I had to uninstall Nero too one time but I don't know if that was the case with Arx Fatalis or another JoWooD game. Not much of a help? At least I tried ; - )

'Darkness warshed over the Dude - darker''n a black steer''s tookus on a moonless prairie night. There was no bottom.' The Stranger (The Big Lebowski, 1999)
20mithrandir is offline

20mithrandir

20mithrandir's Avatar
Watcher

#10

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 50
RPGWatch Forums » Games » General RPG » Tech help for Arx Fatalis?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:57.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch