|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » General Forums » Tech Help » Any way to increase GPU utilization?

Default Any way to increase GPU utilization?

January 10th, 2015, 22:03
Hello!

I'm playing Gothic 2 and it won't stay a steady 60 FPS. It dips to 20 when I look in directions where a lot of "stuff" is. However, my 7970m GPU is not being fully utilized, either.

I'm wondering if there's some sort of tool or setting I can change to make the game recognized as a true 3d application. I think the problem is that the GPU doesn't consider G2 a 3d app, so it doesn't utilize it's full graphics potential.

Any thoughts on this? I'd love to get this sorted for my YouTube playthrough. Thanks!
Fluent is offline

Fluent

Fluent's Avatar
The Nameless Hero
RPGWatch Team

#1

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,750

Default 

January 10th, 2015, 22:32
No modern GPU with power saving features enabled will run G2 at full utilization because G2 does not require that much GPU juice. What you are seeing might simply be engine issues and maybe even a CPU bottleneck since no version of Gothic supports multithreading of any kind. I remember playing G2 on a high end card a while back and I also had FPS drops, especially in the harbor town near the sea. Definitely seems like engine limitations to me. Just like no PC in the world will probably ever run Ultima IX or Gothic 3 100% smooth simply because the engines are FUBAR.

With that said, try checking your Catalyst Control Center for power management options. I have attached a screenshot of the corresponding nVidia option. With nVidia you can switch between 'Adaptive' as shown in the screenshot and 'Prefer Maximum Performance' which will cause the GPU to run at full clock speeds all the time, whether required or not. I'd be surprised if the CCC does not have a similar option…(?)
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (112.2 KB, 33 views)
Moriendor is offline

Moriendor

Moriendor's Avatar
Spielkind

#2

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Schland
Posts: 2,030

Default 

January 10th, 2015, 23:52
It's engine problem and CPU is the culprit, not GPU.
The trick I did back then was setting process priority to gothic's exe or disabling cores in msconfig or something similar that is effectively dumbing down your hardware. Don't quote me on this.

Toka Koka
joxer is online now

joxer

joxer's Avatar
The Smoker
RPGWatch Donor

#3

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7,171

Default 

January 10th, 2015, 23:56
Originally Posted by joxer View Post
The trick I did back then was setting process priority to gothic's exe or disabling cores in msconfig or something similar that is effectively dumbing down your hardware. Don't quote me on this.
News at 10 everyone Joxer supports dumbing down. Is it the end of world so stay tuned for the follow-up program with more commentary from the man himself.

Sorry couldn't help myself but yes its usually the CPUs problem because of the engine.

"Don't underestimate the quiet majority as we are legion on the Internet."

RPGWatch
Senior News Editor & Moderator
Last edited by Couchpotato; January 11th, 2015 at 00:07.
Couchpotato is offline

Couchpotato

Couchpotato's Avatar
The Super Potato
RPGWatch Team

#4

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Potato Land
Posts: 11,657

Default 

January 11th, 2015, 00:24
Yea… There is a huge difference between dumbing down hardware and dumbing down software games.

Toka Koka
joxer is online now

joxer

joxer's Avatar
The Smoker
RPGWatch Donor

#5

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7,171

Default 

January 11th, 2015, 02:25
I got a little relief by lowering the view distance a bit. I think I'm running about 400% view distance right now. It still looks nice enough and the FPS doesn't dip as bad as when I was running 3000% distance (anything past 1000% didn't seem to make any difference to the FPS).

So, I'll live with this. Thanks for the responses all!
Fluent is offline

Fluent

Fluent's Avatar
The Nameless Hero
RPGWatch Team

#6

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,750
RPGWatch Forums » General Forums » Tech Help » Any way to increase GPU utilization?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:40.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch