|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Drakensang » Drakensang » Drakensang on 7 x64??

Default Drakensang on 7 x64?? (solved)

November 12th, 2010, 04:36
Well, looks like I wont be playing Drakensang any time soon - will not work w/ win7 x64. I get the default "incompatible 64 bit OS" message.

Unless someone out there has got it going.. anyone? I'm finding nothing online, in english anyway.
Last edited by xSamhainx; November 15th, 2010 at 19:40.
xSamhainx is offline

xSamhainx

xSamhainx's Avatar
Paws of Doom

#1

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 4,664

Default 

November 12th, 2010, 07:18
The Steam version runs fine for me, but my CD version stopped running after a Windows patch last spring. I'm running Win 7 x64. Not sure what the difference between the versions are.
LB
Lord_Brownie is offline

Lord_Brownie

Watcher

#2

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 51

Default 

November 12th, 2010, 08:22
Have you tried running the setup in compatibility mode?
It's very likely that the game will run just fine on Win7 x64, but the installer might be doing some stupid OS checks that it shouldn't.
KasperFauerby is offline

KasperFauerby

Sentinel

#3

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 433

Default 

November 12th, 2010, 09:40
I had no problem of this nature when I played this game last spring.
darkling is offline

darkling

Keeper of the Watch

#4

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 836

Default 

November 12th, 2010, 12:29
Also works for me, I also have the version from Direct2Drive (I think) so can't speak to DVD version …

— Mike
txa1265 is offline

txa1265

txa1265's Avatar
SasqWatch

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corning, NY USA
Posts: 11,411

Default 

November 12th, 2010, 13:12
I read in the technical support forum, that it should rather NOT be installed under C:\Programs … Or at least its Germn counterpart of C:\Programme - and that not under Seven Windows or Vista Windows, so to say.

Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius and a lot of courage to move in the opposite direction. (E.F.Schumacher, Economist, Source)
Alrik Fassbauer is offline

Alrik Fassbauer

Alrik Fassbauer's Avatar
TL;DR

#6

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Old Europe
Posts: 15,980

Default 

November 12th, 2010, 16:25
ok, feeling some hope now ='.'=

I am also running the D2D version. It doesnt let me go anywhere when i try and install tho, before I even run it I've tried everything from xp to vista sp3 compatibility, and running as administrator. I wish I knew German…

Going to keep searching
xSamhainx is offline

xSamhainx

xSamhainx's Avatar
Paws of Doom

#7

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 4,664

Default 

November 12th, 2010, 16:40
FWIW It * runs fine on Vista 64.

* DVD version
Last edited by BillSeurer; November 12th, 2010 at 21:56.
BillSeurer is offline

BillSeurer

BillSeurer's Avatar
Eternal Supreme Dictator

#8

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,727

Default 

November 12th, 2010, 17:48
I'm also running it on Windows 7 64-bit - works perfectly. Just fired it up - still ok! I have a digital download though (from GamersGate). I have no compatibility mode settings on - just works as is.
booboo is offline

booboo

booboo's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#9

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 946

Default 

November 12th, 2010, 19:47
rub it in, booboo, rub it in! ='.'=
xSamhainx is offline

xSamhainx

xSamhainx's Avatar
Paws of Doom

#10

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 4,664

Default 

November 12th, 2010, 21:39
Well, I haven't tried it yet. But I'm SURE it will work on my 64bit W7 system.

BTW: Have you checked the event log for information?

pibbur

Guest

#11

Posts: n/a

Default 

November 15th, 2010, 19:40
This problem has been solved, and it was a strange problem indeed. I dont think Ive ever seen anything like it.

The problem was not with the program itself, it was with win7's decompression of the zipped file that i got from D2D. I went back and looked at the unzipped file, and it was like 80GB! I never really use anything but windows to unzip files unless it's something other than zip. For some reason, it went haywire on this file.

This time I used 7zip to decompress it, and the file turned out being in the neighborhood of 8gb. It installed, and runs well!
xSamhainx is offline

xSamhainx

xSamhainx's Avatar
Paws of Doom

#12

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 4,664

Default 

November 15th, 2010, 21:15
I've seen that too! I just remembered, it may have even been Drakensang…

Something about the default Windows unzipper breaking with large files? Great job there Microsoft…
Thrasher is offline

Thrasher

Thrasher's Avatar
Wheeee!
RPGWatch Donor

#13

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 9,989

Default 

November 15th, 2010, 22:42
Oh, I wonder if the built-in .zip file support in win7 is still broken. Early on in Win XP it would corrupt .zip files when they got larger than 2 GB (2^31, i.e., the maximum value for an 8 bit integer).
BillSeurer is offline

BillSeurer

BillSeurer's Avatar
Eternal Supreme Dictator

#14

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,727

Default 

November 16th, 2010, 00:26
You would have thought they'd have fixed that one. So many bugs, so little time.
Thrasher is offline

Thrasher

Thrasher's Avatar
Wheeee!
RPGWatch Donor

#15

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 9,989

Default 

November 16th, 2010, 00:41
It's worse than that. The native .zip format does not (*) support the same character set that the native file system supports. So you can find yourself unable to copy some files into a .zip file. Double Doh!

(*) Well, did not. Maybe they fixed it. Who knows 'cuz I gave up on it.
BillSeurer is offline

BillSeurer

BillSeurer's Avatar
Eternal Supreme Dictator

#16

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,727

Default 

November 16th, 2010, 08:10
Originally Posted by BillSeurer View Post
Oh, I wonder if the built-in .zip file support in win7 is still broken. Early on in Win XP it would corrupt .zip files when they got larger than 2 GB (2^31, i.e., the maximum value for an 8 bit integer).
As far as I remember several zip programs had size problems back then (One of the selling points for WinZip, as claimed by the WinZip guys). However, I tested it yesterday, zipped 8Gb of data and unzipped it again. No problem. I'm running Win7 64 bit. Can't exclude a character set problem, though.

<NitpickingMode>
BTW - maybe I misunderstand what you meant, or you made a typo, but the max value for an 8 bit unsigned integer is 2^8-1=255. 2^31 (-1) is the max value of a 4 byte signed integer.
</NitpickingMode>

pibbur

Guest

#17

Posts: n/a
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Drakensang » Drakensang » Drakensang on 7 x64??
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:15.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch