|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Gothic 1/2 » notr doesn't want to run

Default notr doesn't want to run

December 15th, 2006, 22:40
well, here's the thing
la played g2+notr many times before on this comp and never had a problem. Today I wanted to play it again after a long time, but notr didn't want to start up. I get no error message or anything and when I look at task manager, ther eis still processs G2. But I waitede for 10, 15 mins and nothing happend. I tryed then g2 (non notr) and didn't have probs, so it must be notr problem. I tryed to take notr cd out and fire it up, and don't even get a mesage to insert cd? nothing. I really don't know what to do, any suggestion?
Zocky is offline

Zocky

Watcher

#1

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25

Default 

December 16th, 2006, 07:43
Are you sure you installed NotR?
Gorath is offline

Gorath

Gorath's Avatar
Prime Evil
RPGWatch Team

#2

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,699

Default 

December 16th, 2006, 10:51
yes, as I said, I didn't have this problem before. I don' have problem with instaling (though autorun for this notr cd doesn't seem to work, so I haveto manualy find install file), but nothing happens when I run it.
Zocky is offline

Zocky

Watcher

#3

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25

Default 

December 22nd, 2006, 04:40
Have you recently changed anti-virus or firewall?

Chris: Dad, what's the blow-hole for?

Peter: I'll tell you what it's not for, son. And when I do, you'll understand why I can never go back to Sea World.
Uriziel is offline

Uriziel

Uriziel's Avatar
Watchdog

#4

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 214

Default 

December 22nd, 2006, 17:07
I've had similar problems from time to time, usually if I take the Notr cd out and then put it back in, once in a while nothing will happen, disc just spins. I've either 1) rebooted and tried again or 2) open and closed the cd drive tray a few times, and it's always booted up after a couple of tries. A little annoying and gives you that "oh damn, my game's broken" feeling though, until it starts up again and you feel relieved.
Black Hood is offline

Black Hood

Black Hood's Avatar
Watcher

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 47

Default 

December 22nd, 2006, 18:39
Uriziel, in fact I did, why?
Zocky is offline

Zocky

Watcher

#6

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25

Default 

December 23rd, 2006, 03:06
Many of the newer anti-virus and firewalls block game startup. I've found the main culprit to be email scanning in the AV, but a firewall can cause it too.

Bootup in safe mode and see if the game will start…..it prolly will. After that go into msconfig and disable the AV startup…leave the firewall alone then boot normally. Your AV will not be working, so act accordingly. See if the game will run now. If it does, you know it was part of the AV. If it does'nt run, disable the firewall from starting up…….you are simply trying to figure out which is the cause.

AVG has an email scanner service that had to be stopped for Gothic to run on my PC. Kaspersky also gave me trouble with Gothic until I found the culprit. Once you know EXACTLY which service is causing the problem, you can shut it down in task manager and play…..or set the correct permissions.

Chris: Dad, what's the blow-hole for?

Peter: I'll tell you what it's not for, son. And when I do, you'll understand why I can never go back to Sea World.
Uriziel is offline

Uriziel

Uriziel's Avatar
Watchdog

#7

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 214

Default 

January 30th, 2007, 23:52
hm, the game still doesn't want to run….it played before ok. the only reason I can think of now is WIN XP service pack 2. before I had 1, is it possible this is preventing me to play g2? when I run it, nothing happens, even if I wait, but there is g2 process taking lots for system resource in task maganer.
I also tryed giving my cd to a fried and it worked for him. The fact that I can install notr without problems, means that there is nothing wrong with cd. I also don't have virus protection, alcohol 120 or anything like that installed. so what the problem? service pack 2?
Zocky is offline

Zocky

Watcher

#8

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25

Default 

January 31st, 2007, 02:28
How long have you waited for it to start? During the first run, Gothic 2 needs a lot of time to build some virtual drive thingy.
hwfanatic is offline

hwfanatic

Watchdog

#9

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 104

Default 

January 31st, 2007, 07:02
well, I had a lunch while I was waiting, that long. And I know about that, but it usually also displays message of some sort, that his loading some stuff, before in actually open g2. it doesn't display anything at all. before when it worked, it displayed message about loading virtual drive or something, now, nothing.
Zocky is offline

Zocky

Watcher

#10

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25

Default 

January 31st, 2007, 16:07
Quite a few people had problems starting G2 under SP2. So itīs possible that itīs the cause of the problem.
Gorath is offline

Gorath

Gorath's Avatar
Prime Evil
RPGWatch Team

#11

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,699

Default 

January 31st, 2007, 18:47
You could try to run the VDFS patch . It's supposed to fix start-up problems and can be used with any version and language of Gothic II. Might be worth a shot…
Moriendor is offline

Moriendor

Moriendor's Avatar
Spielkind

#12

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Schland
Posts: 1,811

Default 

January 31st, 2007, 20:30
I tryed that VDFS patch, but I can't get it to install. in the process of installing, I get the "next" button un-clickable….seems like money is wasted….
Zocky is offline

Zocky

Watcher

#13

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25

Default 

February 2nd, 2007, 15:06
Hey there Zocky,

As a last hope, check the value of gothic2\system\gothic.ini - "gameAbnormalExit" it should be at 0 (default) - if it isn't then the game is crashing on execution, if that VDFS patch does not work maybe trying the older vdfsInit.zip will help to rebuild the volume map, again it takes some time.
http://www.bendlins.de/nico/

If all fails, i would try a complete reformat then install G2 and NotR on the barebones system first and take it from there, it should work, then if o.k, you would have to systematically reintroduce the other programs/software etc as far as you could accept (or maybe not accept)
Wulf is offline

Wulf

Wulf's Avatar
Inquisitor

#14

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North-West England
Posts: 1,096

Default 

February 2nd, 2007, 15:56
Originally Posted by Zocky View Post
but notr didn't want to start up. I get no error message or anything and when I look at task manager, ther eis still processs G2.
Sounds like it could be a blocked process. I had the exact same problem with NOTR, I had to turn off my bittorrent client. I think any softrware that grabs a lot of file handles at the same time might cause problems with NOTR. Interestingly, the second I closed it, NOTR would start running, I didn't even need to double click the icon again.

Favourite RPGs of all time: Wizardry 6, Ultima 7/7.2, Fallout2, Planescape Torment, Baldurs Gate 2+TOB, Jagged Alliance 2, Ravenloft: The stone prophet, Gothic 2, Realms of Arkania:Blade of destiny and Secret of the Silver Blades.
bjon045 is offline

bjon045

bjon045's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#15

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sigil
Posts: 907

Default 

February 4th, 2007, 15:55
hm, I tryed everything, but doesn't want to run. probably because of xp servise pack 2…
Zocky is offline

Zocky

Watcher

#16

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25

Default 

February 4th, 2007, 17:11
It worked for me on SP2.
Pladio is offline

Pladio

Pladio's Avatar
Guardian of Nonsense
RPGWatch Donor

#17

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London, uk
Posts: 2,912
Send a message via MSN to Pladio

Default 

February 4th, 2007, 20:26
I heard for some people it doesn't.
Zocky is offline

Zocky

Watcher

#18

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Gothic 1/2 » notr doesn't want to run
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:14.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch