|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Crap machine…

Default Crap machine…

February 7th, 2010, 13:58
I am trying to run Gothic 3 on this:

1GB of ram
Pentium 4 2.8GHz
ATI Radeon 9200 128mb

It works, there is a lag in the beginning battle and sometimes when there are a couple people in sight.
I have put everything on the lowest setting, is there anything else that I can do??
Henry701 is offline

Henry701

Traveler

#1

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1

Default 

February 7th, 2010, 16:26
Install the latest community patch.
Maybe buy another GB or RAM.
Kostas is offline

Kostas

Kostas's Avatar
Dormant Watcher

#2

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dear Green Place
Posts: 1,666

Default 

February 7th, 2010, 17:53
Welcome to RPGWatch!

No, there's nothing you can do. I'm surprised it runs at all. To put it bluntly, you can hardly expect to run any reasonably up-to-date game on an office PC like that.

The CPU is okay, but you clearly don't have enough RAM. When a program runs out of RAM its performance stalls. It's like driving a Ferrari at maximum speed and then suddenly stopping, getting out and pushing the car. We're talking access time going down from ns to ms in combination with a decrease in transfer rate.
"Not enough RAM" is never a situation one should be in.

The graphics card is completely outdated. I would have expected the game not to start at all.
Last edited by Gorath; February 7th, 2010 at 18:04.
Gorath is offline

Gorath

Gorath's Avatar
Prime Evil
RPGWatch Team

#3

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,915

Default 

February 7th, 2010, 19:05
And I thought my laptop was bad. You need more RAM and a better graphics card.

It was the night before Hogswatch…

I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity - Edgar Allan Poe
azraelck is offline

azraelck

azraelck's Avatar
Angel of Cookies!

#4

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the Middle of Nowhere
Posts: 1,871
Send a message via AIM to azraelck Send a message via Skype™ to azraelck

Default 

February 11th, 2010, 15:38
the best way to improve performance without installing anything is to change paging from C:\ to another drive or partition
start / right click on MY COMPUTER / properties / advanced / performance/ settings / advanced / virual memory / change
Tragos is offline

Tragos

Tragos's Avatar
Otinanist

#5

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Athens (the original one)
Posts: 1,439

Default 

February 12th, 2010, 06:27
That's a good tweak, but unfortunately it's not going to help him in this situation. Like Gorath said, that graphics card really needs to be replaced.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#6

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 18,296

Default 

February 12th, 2010, 19:03
Buying a new machine is better…
bkrueger is offline

bkrueger

Nothing to see here.

#7

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 799
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Crap machine…
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:39.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch