|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Comments » News Comments » Diablo 3 - System Requirements

Default Diablo 3 - System Requirements

September 9th, 2011, 04:31
Worthplaying has the system reqs for Diablo III:
System Requirements:
  • Minimum :
    • Windows XP/Vista/Win7
    • CPU: Intel Pentium Core 2 Duo 2,8 Ghz or AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+
    • 1 GB RAM (Win XP), 1.5 GB (Win7)
    • NVIDIA GeForce 7800 GT or ATI Radeon X1950 Pro
    • 12 GB Hard Drive Space
  • Recommended :
    • Windows XP/Vista/Win7
    • CPU: Intel Pentium Core 2 Duo 2,4 Ghz or AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+
    • 1 GB RAM (Win XP), 1.5 GB (Win7)
    • NVIDIA GeForce 260 or ATI Radeon HD 4870
    • 12 GB Hard Drive Space
More information.
Dhruin is offline

Dhruin

Dhruin's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch
Super Moderator
RPGWatch Team

#1

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11,968

Default 

September 9th, 2011, 04:31
Wait, it's recommended to have a slower Intel CPU?
Lemonhead is offline

Lemonhead

Lemonhead's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#2

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 678

Default 

September 9th, 2011, 04:36
Does this mean the game is being released soon ?
rich ruffo is offline

rich ruffo

Sentinel

#3

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 576

Default 

September 9th, 2011, 06:18
Originally Posted by Lemonhead View Post
Wait, it's recommended to have a slower Intel CPU?
LOL !

Overall, pretty low requirements. Really low.
Drithius is offline

Drithius

Drithius's Avatar
Misbegotten Alien

#4

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,618

Default 

September 9th, 2011, 07:49
Originally Posted by rich ruffo View Post
Does this mean the game is being released soon ?
Most people expect it early to mid December. But don't quote me.
Santos is offline

Santos

Ass-hat

#5

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NH
Posts: 573

Default 

September 9th, 2011, 11:00
Originally Posted by Lemonhead View Post
Wait, it's recommended to have a slower Intel CPU?
Nice catch. Let's wait for the official requirements, but these look roughly right.
kalniel is offline

kalniel

SasqWatch

#6

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,877

Default 

September 9th, 2011, 15:37
How could they leave out the single most important spec? Internet connection speed, and reliability of connection.

my novel: bit.ly/dreamlandsbook
screeg is offline

screeg

screeg's Avatar
floating head

#7

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 908

Default 

September 9th, 2011, 16:21
Originally Posted by screeg View Post
How could they leave out the single most important spec? Internet connection speed, and reliability of connection.
Why is that important? Presumably you don't need it after you've authenticated on battle.net.
kalniel is offline

kalniel

SasqWatch

#8

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,877

Default 

September 9th, 2011, 18:16
Originally Posted by kalniel View Post
Why is that important? Presumably you don't need it after you've authenticated on battle.net.
I thought you had to be online all the time while playing it?
Lemonhead is offline

Lemonhead

Lemonhead's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#9

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 678

Default 

September 9th, 2011, 18:38
The overall requirements are quite low for a game that won't be released until 2012, but I find the need for 12GB hard drive space somewhat surprising.
JDR13 is offline

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#10

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 18,308

Default 

September 9th, 2011, 18:39
Originally Posted by kalniel View Post
Why is that important? Presumably you don't need it after you've authenticated on battle.net.
You need to be online all the time to play the game, including in single player session and you can only make 10 characters (all of them are save on b.net servers).

Blizzard told people to go play other games if they couldn't have their internet connection up all the time.
azarhal is offline

azarhal

SasqWatch
RPGWatch Donor

#11

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,714

Default 

September 9th, 2011, 19:04
Originally Posted by azarhal View Post
You need to be online all the time to play the game, including in single player session and you can only make 10 characters (all of them are save on b.net servers).

Blizzard told people to go play other games if they couldn't have their internet connection up all the time.
Jesus can we get over this? It's 2011 going on 2012. Everyone's computer has been connected to the frigging internet all the time for a while now. Yes, you have to play other games while you're physically in an airplane or something. Listen I'm old enough to remember when games started requiring you to use a mouse even when I could clearly see how they could have implemented them with my preferred keyboard-only setup. But then I got over it because welcome to the present.

ONLY 10 characters? Those rat bastards. Obviously they're trying to get you to pay for the game 5 times so you can have the 50 characters you need to enjoy the game properly.
Yeesh is offline

Yeesh

Yeesh's Avatar
Hopeless Curmudgeon

#12

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: too poor for Manhattan
Posts: 374

Default 

September 9th, 2011, 19:15
Originally Posted by Yeesh View Post
Jesus can we get over this? It's 2011 going on 2012. Everyone's computer has been connected to the frigging internet all the time for a while now. Yes, you have to play other games while you're physically in an airplane or something. Listen I'm old enough to remember when games started requiring you to use a mouse even when I could clearly see how they could have implemented them with my preferred keyboard-only setup. But then I got over it because welcome to the present.

ONLY 10 characters? Those rat bastards. Obviously they're trying to get you to pay for the game 5 times so you can have the 50 characters you need to enjoy the game properly.
err you need to get off your high horse m8.

They are forcing you have active internet connection because they *can* and not because the game will somehow *benefit* from it. Why the hell you need an internet connection if you only plan to play by yourself?

I am all for forced to move to new tech if it somehow benefits me but not otherwise.
lostforever is offline

lostforever

Keeper of the Watch

#13

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,230

Default 

September 9th, 2011, 20:11
Originally Posted by screeg View Post
How could they leave out the single most important spec? Internet connection speed, and reliability of connection.
^This. And the requirements are not that high giving the graphics…
bloodlover is offline

bloodlover

Sentinel

#14

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vivec, Morrowind
Posts: 484

Default 

September 9th, 2011, 21:01
Well I'm pretty sure that Blizzard thinks that the game will significantly benefit from a required internet connection and that they are willing to lose a few buyers in order to give a better experience to the majority. They may not be correct about this, it's certainly a controversial move and I can understand why some people are upset about it. But to claim that they are doing this "because they can" misses the big picture.

Regarding system requirements, Blizzard games pretty much always have low requirements. They tend to be more about optimization then bleeding edge graphics.

And online games don't usually give internet connection requirements. I'm sure you will be fine as long as your not on dial up (but maybe even then, one of my friends used to play WoW on dial up and he was fine as long as he stayed away from giant groups of other players).
Originally Posted by lostforever View Post
err you need to get off your high horse m8.

They are forcing you have active internet connection because they *can* and not because the game will somehow *benefit* from it. Why the hell you need an internet connection if you only plan to play by yourself?

I am all for forced to move to new tech if it somehow benefits me but not otherwise.
fadedc is offline

fadedc

Keeper of the Watch

#15

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,014

Default 

September 9th, 2011, 21:47
IMPORTANT UPDATE! These specs were just updated!

Worthplaying has the system reqs for Diablo III:
System Requirements:
  • Minimum :
    • Windows XP/Vista/Win7
    • CPU: Intel Pentium Core 2 Duo 2,8 Ghz or AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+
    • 1 GB RAM (Win XP), 1.5 GB (Win7)
    • NVIDIA GeForce 7800 GT or ATI Radeon X1950 Pro
    • 12 GB Hard Drive Space
    • Underdeveloped cerebral cortex
  • Recommended :
    • Windows XP/Vista/Win7
    • CPU: Intel Pentium Core 2 Duo 2,4 Ghz or AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+
    • 1 GB RAM (Win XP), 1.5 GB (Win7)
    • NVIDIA GeForce 260 or ATI Radeon HD 4870
    • 12 GB Hard Drive Space
    • No sex life
Daroou is offline

Daroou

SasqWatch

#16

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 346

Default 

September 9th, 2011, 21:55
I have an internet connection and I would not be prevented from playing Diablo 3. However, I advocate on behalf of my less fortunate counterparts not just in Asia, Europe and South America, but right here in North America: No, not everyone has a reliable highspeed internet connection. I doubt even 75% of the people who want to play Diablo 3 have a regular, reliable, consistent internet connection.

Beyond that, their bloody arrogance is just annoying. As someone more eloquent pointed out, what if Lulzsec (sp?) crashes Battlenet for three days? Or on a more regular basis? If Battlenet is down their software becomes useless. If your phone line is down, their software becomes useless. If you're traveling, etc. etc.

Ah, well, that's all right because they have a bloody good reason to restrict single-player to online only, right? In my opinion they do not.

my novel: bit.ly/dreamlandsbook
screeg is offline

screeg

screeg's Avatar
floating head

#17

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 908

Default 

September 9th, 2011, 22:33
Originally Posted by screeg View Post
Beyond that, their bloody arrogance is just annoying. As someone more eloquent pointed out, what if Lulzsec (sp?) crashes Battlenet for three days? Or on a more regular basis? If Battlenet is down their software becomes useless. If your phone line is down, their software becomes useless. If you're traveling, etc. etc.
Not buying but that would be hilarious if Lulzsec or someone else hacked battle.net causing the system to go down for a few days. Especially in the first week of release. The rage from that would be delectable.

But yeah Blizzard is just being an asshole lately with their games, and I think a lot of it has to do with the Activision merger. I'm kind of skeptical this will even be a good game if what I've seen and heard about it is true.

Linear corridors/areas (No skipping content to get to the bosses so no open areas)
No class building (Everybody just builds the same way in Diablo 2 so lets remove the feature instead of fixing it so there are other viable builds)
Only 4 hotkeys for abilities (cmon WoW has a ton but gotta make it easy to fit onto a controller)
Probably a low number of active skills since there are only 4 hotkeys.
Grimlorn is offline

Grimlorn

Watchdog

#18

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 155

Default 

September 9th, 2011, 23:02
Originally Posted by Grimlorn View Post
Probably a low number of active skills since there are only 4 hotkeys.
Looks like there are about 20-25 active skills per class, each of which can be modified in 6 different ways, which frequently (but not always) completely change the way in which the skill works. So effectively it's about 100+ active skillls per class.

I've seen people talk about open areas, so I'm pretty sure the lack of open areas is untrue. But if you have a source for that I'd be curious to see it, I could be wrong.

And finally If hackers ever brought down battlenet for an extended period, it would completely screw over WoW and Starcraft as well. Hasn't happened yet, I doubt it ever will. But who knows. A more realistic concern would be just your own personal connection going down.

Edit: Oh and it's 8 abilities that you can have at a time, not 4.
Last edited by fadedc; September 10th, 2011 at 01:24.
fadedc is offline

fadedc

Keeper of the Watch

#19

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,014

Default 

September 10th, 2011, 01:05
The same kind of debate raged when publishers first started selling games by digital distribution only.

That's (almost) accepted now.

If World of Warcraft and Starcraft II are any indication, even the worst, remote wireless connection will be enough to play Diablo III. I live in (very) rural Montana and have no trouble with Blizzard games.
Reyla is offline

Reyla

SasqWatch

#20

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 339
RPGWatch Forums » Comments » News Comments » Diablo 3 - System Requirements
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:51.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch