|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » The Elder Scrolls » TES V: Skyrim » Always CTD around/in Whiterun

Default Always CTD around/in Whiterun

March 14th, 2012, 20:47
My game may be permadead. Out of nowhere (i.e. I made no changes to the game or mods), Skyrim does a CTD when I try to fast travel to Whiterun or if I walk within view.

I've tried all the suggestions on the Steam forums, including disabling all mods and texture packs, reducing resolution and graphics settings, updating video drivers, validated game file(s), etc… All with no success. Any ideas appreciated! Otherwise, it's going to be any early retirement for my Nord warrior who will never finish the companions questline…
Thrasher is offline

Thrasher

Thrasher's Avatar
Wheeee!
RPGWatch Donor

#1

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 9,996

Default 

March 14th, 2012, 20:56
Strange. Have you tried perhaps going indoors somewhere and resting for a month straight to reset outdoor spawns?
Drithius is offline

Drithius

Drithius's Avatar
Misbegotten Alien

#2

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,453

Default 

March 14th, 2012, 21:19
It's worth a try. Thanks! How does one rest for a month straight? Looks like the limit is 1 day.
Thrasher is offline

Thrasher

Thrasher's Avatar
Wheeee!
RPGWatch Donor

#3

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 9,996

Default 

March 14th, 2012, 21:38
Just sit there and click the button 30x Be sure to be indoors.
Drithius is offline

Drithius

Drithius's Avatar
Misbegotten Alien

#4

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,453

Default 

March 14th, 2012, 23:09
Ah that's gonna cost a lot of gold at the inn. Maybe there is a bed in town I can use for free. I suppose I can wait for 30 days.
Thrasher is offline

Thrasher

Thrasher's Avatar
Wheeee!
RPGWatch Donor

#5

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 9,996

Default 

March 15th, 2012, 18:21
OK, I tried your suggestion Drithius. While it was a great idea, it still crashed after 30+ days off waiting in a shop.

Then I hit the side of my head, tried something else, and it worked.

What is the FIRST thing a player should try when he gets repeated crashes? Somehow I forgot the obvious approach to fixing these sorts of bugs… I suppose I wanted to keep the orcish armor I just salvaged off an attacking Breton.
Thrasher is offline

Thrasher

Thrasher's Avatar
Wheeee!
RPGWatch Donor

#6

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 9,996

Default 

March 15th, 2012, 18:59
Don't follow ya - are you saying some armor you looted was making you crash?
Drithius is offline

Drithius

Drithius's Avatar
Misbegotten Alien

#7

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,453

Default 

March 15th, 2012, 19:04
Not the armor per se (but who knows?). Just wondering if the obvious solution is obvious to others or if I am being to hard on myself.

Spoiler – OBVIOUS
Thrasher is offline

Thrasher

Thrasher's Avatar
Wheeee!
RPGWatch Donor

#8

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 9,996

Default 

March 15th, 2012, 19:04
I'll hazard a wild guess and say he means reverting to a prior save…
JonNik is offline

JonNik

JonNik's Avatar
SasqWatch

#9

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,734

Default 

March 15th, 2012, 19:07
Bingo! So that should have been the first thing I tried, right? Rather than trolling the Steam forums for elaborate and ultimately not helpful solutions…
Thrasher is offline

Thrasher

Thrasher's Avatar
Wheeee!
RPGWatch Donor

#10

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 9,996

Default 

March 15th, 2012, 19:09
Odd bug though… I wonder what caused it… Are you sure it wasn't some missing resources ? (i.e tried a mod that you disabled in the interim or something)…
JonNik is offline

JonNik

JonNik's Avatar
SasqWatch

#11

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,734

Default 

March 15th, 2012, 19:15
Yep , I tried all permutations of enabled/disabled mods (I am only running with two community mods + one half of the hi def texture pack), to no avail. I also was paranoid that Steam had stealth patched Skyrim and made it incompatible with my mods. Nope, not patched. Turns out it was just a corrupted world instance. SOMETHING was not right in or around Whiterun.

The resources are in the Steam directory, right? So going to a different save shouldn't change the resources, just the references? Perhaps a resource reference in my world instance had a corrupted index, or some such?
Thrasher is offline

Thrasher

Thrasher's Avatar
Wheeee!
RPGWatch Donor

#12

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 9,996

Default 

March 15th, 2012, 19:52
Who can say, I assume that is possible… I do know they are keeping state for every object in the world (remember the PS3 related save controversy)…

Also, now that I think about it, the game actually warns you when trying to load a save with missing resources so my suggestion was probably off anyways…
JonNik is offline

JonNik

JonNik's Avatar
SasqWatch

#13

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,734

Default 

March 15th, 2012, 20:12
Actually, the first thing one should try is rebooting your computer if reloading your latest save doesn't work (I did that at least, )
Thrasher is offline

Thrasher

Thrasher's Avatar
Wheeee!
RPGWatch Donor

#14

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 9,996

Default 

March 15th, 2012, 21:52
Well you may at least find comfort to the fact that you had a save to go back to.
I usually play games just with the quicksave for hours and hours until I remember to keep an intermediary save, just for safety's sake…

(Did remember to save my progress in Risen 1 to a different save tonight for some reason )
JonNik is offline

JonNik

JonNik's Avatar
SasqWatch

#15

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,734

Default 

March 15th, 2012, 21:58
I am a compulsive saver just for these kinds of situations (I regularly save before EVERY area transition/fast travel). Major brain fart not to try this earlier. BTW, my Skyrim save directory = 1.41 GB… Some cleaning is in order.
Thrasher is offline

Thrasher

Thrasher's Avatar
Wheeee!
RPGWatch Donor

#16

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 9,996

Default 

March 15th, 2012, 23:18
i think my save folder was around 20GB after the month or so of playing it upon release…

—-when we figure out how to build guillotines for corporations the new revolution will have begun—-
curious is offline

curious

curious's Avatar
liberty or license

#17

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,386

Default 

March 17th, 2012, 19:59
Then I hit the side of my head, tried something else, and it worked.
Ah! OK, so if I have problems around Whiterun, the solution is to hit Thrasher upside the head. Got it.

I've actually had a couple of game saves corrupt. When I reload, everyone's skin is perfectly black. I actually did think to re-load an earlier save but, when I did, the skin was still all wrong! It turned out that my old saves were actually just fine but I had to quit completely out of the game and then load the old save.

Moral of the story: don't just load up an old save. Quit, restart, THEN load the old save.
Zloth is offline

Zloth

Zloth's Avatar
I smell a… wumpus!?

#18

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 2,754
RPGWatch Forums » Games » The Elder Scrolls » TES V: Skyrim » Always CTD around/in Whiterun
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:55.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch