|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Comments » News Comments » Dishonored - PC Requirements

Default Dishonored - PC Requirements

August 14th, 2012, 23:36
The Bethblog has revealed the system requirements for Dishonored:
Minimum Spec:
OS: Windows Vista / Windows 7
Processor: 3.0 GHz dual core or better
Memory: 4 GB system RAM
Hard Disk Space: 9 GB
Video Card: DirectX 9 compatible with 512 MB video RAM or better (NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 / ATI Radeon HD 5850)
Sound: Windows compatible sound card
Enhanced for:
64-bit
multi-core
Recommended Spec:
OS: Windows Vista / Windows 7
Processor: 2.4 GHz quad core or better
Memory: 4 GB system RAM
Hard Disk Space: 9 GB
Video Card: DirectX 9 compatible with 768 MB video RAM or better (NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 / ATI Radeon HD 5850)
Sound: Windows compatible sound card
More information.
Dhruin is offline

Dhruin

Dhruin's Avatar
SasqWatch
Super Moderator
RPGWatch Team

#1

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11,967

Default 

August 14th, 2012, 23:36
Either the above requirements are wrong (since the minimum and recommended graphic cards are the same) or these are high requirements in my book! Minimum is HD 5850?
SpoonFULL is offline

SpoonFULL

SpoonFULL's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#2

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,355

Default 

August 15th, 2012, 00:11
DX9 but won't run on XP. Interesting.
epithumia is offline

epithumia

epithumia's Avatar
thiefmissions.com

#3

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 70

Default 

August 15th, 2012, 00:27
4 GB memory min. Does this mean there's no 32- bit version since 32 bit doesn't use 4 GB ram?
sakichop is offline

sakichop

SasqWatch

#4

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,178

Default 

August 15th, 2012, 00:46
Seems overkill if you ask me. Maybe they're just hedging their bets. GTX 460 or HD 5850, yet only 512 MB? Did they make smaller versions of those cards or are they just saying those models or higher are "recommended"? My GTX 260's in my other PC are each 896 MB.
rossrjensen is offline

rossrjensen

Keeper of the Watch

#5

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 601

Default 

August 15th, 2012, 01:03
Originally Posted by SpoonFULL View Post
Either the above requirements are wrong (since the minimum and recommended graphic cards are the same) or these are high requirements in my book! Minimum is HD 5850?
Ouch, yes, Nvidia 460/ AMD 5850 means the game is probably not going to run on my PC.
Last edited by CountChocula; August 15th, 2012 at 01:26.
CountChocula is offline

CountChocula

CountChocula's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#6

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chocovania
Posts: 1,478

Default 

August 15th, 2012, 01:54
Published by Bethesda…

It's just an unoptimized sad excuse for a game then. Figures.

:EDIT:
Also, this is probably bullshit. The game is on the Xbox and PS3 too, so it'll probably run on 1GB of RAM, 2Ghz 2 core and some old 8800GT, so don't fret.

Wendigo Design, by Tiago Sá
Morbus is offline

Morbus

Watchdog

#7

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 136
Send a message via MSN to Morbus

Default 

August 15th, 2012, 02:25
you almost can't get a PC faster than 2ghz these days. They've been kind of stuck at these specks for the last few years.

Originally Posted by sakichop View Post
4 GB memory min. Does this mean there's no 32- bit version since 32 bit doesn't use 4 GB ram?


must need a Linux box then with a DX9 emulator.

Originally Posted by Morbus View Post
Published by Bethesda…

It's just an unoptimized sad excuse for a game then. Figures.

:EDIT:
Also, this is probably ***. The game is on the Xbox and PS3 too, so it'll probably run on 1GB of RAM, 2Ghz 2 core and some old 8800GT, so don't fret.
Remember the PS3 is a Cell processor and I know for a fact that Sony shows its devs how to optimize their code for it by breaking it up into a chunks. The XBox is a 3 core Xenon machine too.

Developer of The Wizard's Grave Android game. Discussion Thread:
http://www.rpgwatch.com/forums/showthread.php?t=22520
Lucky Day is offline

Lucky Day

Lucky Day's Avatar
Daywatch

#8

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Uncanny Valley
Posts: 3,198

Default 

August 15th, 2012, 02:47
Minimum graphic reqs seem nonsensical. Probably an erroneous paste.
DeepO is offline

DeepO

DeepO's Avatar
deep outside

#9

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Prague
Posts: 2,327

Default 

August 15th, 2012, 02:59
Going by Wikipedia, the 460 and 5850 don't have 512mb versions. The line in parenthesis probably isn't supposed to be there for the minimum requirements.
azarhal is offline

azarhal

SasqWatch
RPGWatch Donor

#10

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,512

Default 

August 15th, 2012, 06:04
Yeah, that's nonsense. DirectX 9 but requires a 400 series? That makes no sense at all. System requirements are the same on Steam, though.
Zloth is offline

Zloth

Zloth's Avatar
I smell a… wumpus!?

#11

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 2,742

Default 

August 15th, 2012, 06:34
We'll see. I would be really surprised, if those were the right system requirements. Minimum spec graphics card and memory exactly the same as recommended spec? More memory required than a 32-bit windows can address? Must be a sloppy copypaste.
tolknaz is offline

tolknaz

Sentinel

#12

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Estonia
Posts: 369

Default 

August 15th, 2012, 08:20
Love it if they are aiming to use more of the horsepower of a PC.

I don't mind consoles per se, but it is just ridiculous when they have to scrap features on PC because of console limitations. eg. some animations in ME3.

C
Crilloan is offline

Crilloan

Sentinel

#13

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: WGS84 Latitud:59.85 Longitud:17.65
Posts: 359

Default 

August 15th, 2012, 09:32
Probably some error, as minimum spec seems the same as the recommended spec, just with faster proc needed to compensate for the cores. Doesn't make that much sense
fungus is offline

fungus

Watchdog

#14

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 129

Default 

August 15th, 2012, 12:30
Originally Posted by epithumia View Post
DX9 but won't run on XP. Interesting.
Had exactly the same thought. What were they thinking ???

“ Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius – and a lot of courage – to move in the opposite direction.“ (E.F.Schumacher, Economist, Source)
Alrik Fassbauer is offline

Alrik Fassbauer

Alrik Fassbauer's Avatar
TL;DR

#15

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Old Europe
Posts: 15,980

Default 

August 15th, 2012, 13:04
Originally Posted by tolknaz View Post
We'll see. I would be really surprised, if those were the right system requirements. Minimum spec graphics card and memory exactly the same as recommended spec? More memory required than a 32-bit windows can address? Must be a sloppy copypaste.
Originally Posted by fungus View Post
Probably some error, as minimum spec seems the same as the recommended spec, just with faster proc needed to compensate for the cores. Doesn't make that much sense
Yeah, looks like a typo.

The minimum spec was probably supposed to be the same as Skyrim, "any DX9 compatible card with 512MB video memory"
CountChocula is offline

CountChocula

CountChocula's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#16

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chocovania
Posts: 1,478

Default 

August 16th, 2012, 02:29
Well, the blog has been updated to fix a link and there are some responses from Bethesda there but the specs remain the same. It's no typo - they mean to say what they are saying.

That means one of us doesn't know what the Hades he's talking about.
Zloth is offline

Zloth

Zloth's Avatar
I smell a… wumpus!?

#17

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 2,742

Default 

August 16th, 2012, 03:28
Well something definitely is not right. As noted above, GTX 460 and HD 5850 are larger cards than 512 MB. So what is it, 512 MB or those cards?
rossrjensen is offline

rossrjensen

Keeper of the Watch

#18

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 601

Default 

August 16th, 2012, 13:17
I personally believe they pulled some of the numbers out of their you-know-what.

A DX9 game that isn't supported by Windows XP?
Asking for cards that support DX11, but saying it is a DX9 game?
Asking for card versions that doesn't exist (512mb GTX 460 and 5850).
Asking for 4GB memories and not saying it's 64bits only (32bits Windows don't support 4GB of memories, you can install that much, but only 3.5GB is going to be used).
azarhal is offline

azarhal

SasqWatch
RPGWatch Donor

#19

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,512

Default 

August 16th, 2012, 14:38
Originally Posted by Zloth View Post
Well, the blog has been updated to fix a link and there are some responses from Bethesda there but the specs remain the same. It's no typo - they mean to say what they are saying.

That means one of us doesn't know what the Hades he's talking about.
Perhaps it is not compatible with XP, and perhaps you do need 4GB RAM. However, I highly doubt that the minimum card is more demanding than Metro2033 and Witcher 2.

It makes no sense that merely increasing the VRAM slightly and using the same card could provide enough performance increase to go from minimum to recommended for any game. VRAM doesn't really improve performance that much compared to using a faster graphics card.

An AMD 5850 will probably run the game on high or mostly high settings at 1920x1080. If so, why can't you use a weaker card to run the game on low settings?
CountChocula is offline

CountChocula

CountChocula's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#20

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chocovania
Posts: 1,478
RPGWatch Forums » Comments » News Comments » Dishonored - PC Requirements
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:23.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch