|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Deep Shadows Games » The Precursors » Film Grain Fix

Default Film Grain Fix

January 26th, 2011, 01:50
http://www.moddb.com/games/the-precu…film-grain-fix

I put the files up on ModDB, it also includes the flickering sky fix, but it wont hurt anything.

(maybe we can sticky this one)
Last edited by niadly; January 27th, 2011 at 11:44.
niadly is offline

niadly

niadly's Avatar
Patrick Swayze

#1

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 59

Default 

January 26th, 2011, 05:07
Hi niadly,

I was just having a look at your files on moddb and was wondering if you factored in player1's findings here in your original thread (old forum)?

http://board.deep-shadows.com/index.php?showtopic=1649

See the last entry, he suggests a revision that sounds important?
badmofo is offline

badmofo

badmofo's Avatar
Tired but happy

#2

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 364

Default 

January 26th, 2011, 07:25
Im not exactly sure what the revision does. he mentions not being able to use scopes on some planets, but i tested it and i can use scopes (although every once in a while i get texture pop ins with the sights and when i first bring up the scope i cant see the crosshairs - but exiting zoom and re-entering zoom fixes it)

I havent had any issues with the ones i posted (i use them).

edit- i looked at that post again, and he was referencing when you just erase the noise lines, i didnt erase them, i just changed the values, so all the other processes still flow.
Last edited by niadly; January 27th, 2011 at 11:46.
niadly is offline

niadly

niadly's Avatar
Patrick Swayze

#3

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 59

Default 

June 11th, 2011, 02:24
doesn't really work on ATI 5850, even though the flashlight is screwed again and flickering, so what is downloadable form the player1 post can be preferred, the film grain still speeds like hell but a least the torch is back ok, using this one and only the planet files, skipping alien hdr ship, anyone has other expriences/ hints?
Interzeptor is offline

Interzeptor

Watcher

#4

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 56

Default 

January 31st, 2013, 09:14
ati flicker fix is in wesps patches
niadly is offline

niadly

niadly's Avatar
Patrick Swayze

#5

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 59

Default 

February 3rd, 2013, 15:31
I took a look at my Precursors version and I can't seem to get film grain at all, even without using the fix. So is there some way in the options or setup to turn it off?
Wesp5 is offline

Wesp5

Unofficial Patcher

#6

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 414

Default 

February 4th, 2013, 00:28
which version are you using?
Im pretty sure the vanilla 1.0 version needs to be modified. When I reinstalled a few weeks ago, it had the grain. theres no option in the menu to turn off. I havent checked the 1.1 version. I remember having to use the GRPunpacker and grabbing the postprocess folder. inside the folder, each world has its own settings (GREEN PLANET, YELLOW PLANET…)
If I remember right, theres a line at the bottom starting with NOISE, i changed the defualt value to 0.0, saved, and then the film grain was gone. then i went in to all the files and repeated process.

before-


after-


I think it makes the shadows a little crisper too.
niadly is offline

niadly

niadly's Avatar
Patrick Swayze

#7

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 59

Default 

February 4th, 2013, 01:06
Okay, I'll add this to the ATI fix option and will rename it Flicker Noise Fix !
Wesp5 is offline

Wesp5

Unofficial Patcher

#8

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 414
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Deep Shadows Games » The Precursors » Film Grain Fix
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:34.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch