|
Your continuous donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Gothic 1/2 » Gothic 1 from Steam

Default Gothic 1 from Steam

February 7th, 2013, 04:10
Heya,

I downloaded Gothic from Steam and am getting the following error whenever I try to start a new game. Any thoughts?

======================================= UNHANDLED EXCEPTION OCCURED ================================================== ====
======================================= CRASH INFOS: ================================================== ===================
GOTHIC 1.08j, Parser Version: 50
User: Gaming Rig, CPUType: 586, Mem: 0 MB total, 0 MB free
Startup Options:
=============================================== CALLSTACK : ================================================== ============
0023:7265666C (0x008A39C0 0x038FDD68 0x00000000 0x0087CF90) dwmapi.dll, DwmUnregisterThumbnail()+6096 byte(s)
0023:00741226 (0x0FEE0034 0x151AC034 0x00000000 0x0A93C31A) GOTHIC.EXE, zCVertexBuffer_D3D::Optimize()+38 byte(s), D:\dev\Gothic\current_work\ZenGin\_Kurt\zRndD3D_Ve rtexbuffer.cpp, line 310+20 byte(s)
0023:005E4017 (0x007F66DC 0x0FEE6274 0x0FEE0034 0x00000002) GOTHIC.EXE, zCVertexBufferManager::UnlockOpenVertexBuffers()+2 63 byte(s), D:\dev\Gothic\current_work\ZenGin\_Dieter\zVertexB uffer.cpp, line 387
0023:0060C320 (0x00000001 0x00000000 0x007F66DC 0x0160FB40) GOTHIC.EXE, zCWorld::LoadWorld()+352 byte(s), D:\dev\Gothic\current_work\ZenGin\_Dieter\zWorld.c pp, line 2351
0023:006F470B (0x0160FB40 0x00000000 0x0160FBFC 0x0FE904EC) GOTHIC.EXE, oCWorld::LoadWorld()+731 byte(s), D:\dev\Gothic\current_work\gothic\_Ulf\oWorld.cpp, line 447+20 byte(s)
0023:006561C5 (0x0160FB40 0x0160FB70 0xFFFFFFFE 0x0160FB6C) GOTHIC.EXE, oCGame::LoadWorldStartup()+277 byte(s), D:\dev\Gothic\current_work\gothic\_Ulf\oGame.cpp, line 2935+65 byte(s)
0023:00655505 (0xFFFFFFFE 0x0160FBF8 0x0160FCB4 0x00000011) GOTHIC.EXE, oCGame::LoadWorld()+421 byte(s), D:\dev\Gothic\current_work\gothic\_Ulf\oGame.cpp, line 26800023:00652D44 (0xFFFFFFFE 0x0160FBF8 0x00000000 0x0160FC6C) GOTHIC.EXE, oCGame::LoadGame()+260 byte(s), D:\dev\Gothic\current_work\gothic\_Ulf\oGame.cpp, line 2017
0023:00652D44 (0xFFFFFFFE 0x0160FBF8 0x00000000 0x0160FC6C) GOTHIC.EXE, oCGame::LoadGame()+260 byte(s), D:\dev\Gothic\current_work\gothic\_Ulf\oGame.cpp, line 2017
0023:0042A890 (0x00000000 0x002233B1 0x002233B0 0x0160FE84) GOTHIC.EXE, CGameManager::Menu()+2528 byte(s), D:\dev\Gothic\current_work\gothic\_Bert\oGameManag er.cpp, line 1439+331 byte(s)
0023:004271F8 (0x007F7038 0x74914BB7 0x001402C4 0x0FE904EC) GOTHIC.EXE, CGameManager::Run()+1064 byte(s), D:\dev\Gothic\current_work\gothic\_Bert\oGameManag er.cpp, line 679
0023:006F627B (0x6B636F4C 0x544F475F 0x00434948 0x00720065) GOTHIC.EXE, MainProg()+75 byte(s), D:\dev\Gothic\current_work\gothic\_Ulf\Phoenix.cpp , line 115
0023:00500533 (0x2168527D 0x430C0032 0x5C003A00 0x69005700) GOTHIC.EXE, HandledWinMain()+963 byte(s), D:\dev\Gothic\current_work\ZenGin\_Carsten\zWin32. cpp, line 772
wil is offline

wil

Traveler

#1

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1

Default 

February 7th, 2013, 04:58
What OS are you using and what are the stats for your rig? There could be several reasons for your problem, but we need more info.

If God said it, then that settles it!!

Editor@RPGWatch
Corwin is offline

Corwin

Corwin's Avatar
On The Razorblade of Life
RPGWatch Team

#2

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 10,389
Send a message via Skype™ to Corwin

Default 

February 7th, 2013, 09:24
I had a lot of problems getting Gothic 1 to work as well. I think I had to install a couple of the community patches and something that makes it compatible with Win7. Maybe you also need to run as administrator, or in compatibility mode?
CountChocula is offline

CountChocula

CountChocula's Avatar
Keeper of the Watch

#3

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chocovania
Posts: 1,478

Default 

February 7th, 2013, 10:05
Uh oh, that's the next game on my list to play on Win7 once I get over my ME3 MP addiction. Please let us know what you discover.
Thrasher is offline

Thrasher

Thrasher's Avatar
Wheeee!
RPGWatch Donor

#4

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 9,938

Default 

February 7th, 2013, 11:57
Runs fine for me in Win 7 64. I have the compatibility setting on Windows XP with service pack 2.
JDR13 is online now

JDR13

JDR13's Avatar
SasqWatch

#5

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 17,671

Default 

February 7th, 2013, 13:31
As far as I know, this is a Steam specific issue. To resolve it, disable steam overlay specifically for Gothic (see point 3 on the following page):
http://www.ehow.com/how_10004514_dis…m-overlay.html

Should do the trick. If it doesn't, try setting it to XP compatibility mode and run as administrator.
Maylander is offline

Maylander

SasqWatch

#6

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bergen
Posts: 5,358
Send a message via MSN to Maylander

Default 

February 7th, 2013, 20:50
Thanks for the info. My version is the original, out of the box.
Thrasher is offline

Thrasher

Thrasher's Avatar
Wheeee!
RPGWatch Donor

#7

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 9,938
RPGWatch Forums » Games » Gothic 3 » Gothic 1/2 » Gothic 1 from Steam
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:56.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch