|
Your donations keep RPGWatch running!
RPGWatch Forums » Games » General RPG » Might and Magic 3: Isles of Terra

Default Might and Magic 3: Isles of Terra Sound&Music

August 25th, 2013, 21:07
Just started replaying this gem after 20 years. Since I don`t have the real Roland device I figured I should get the best possible sound&music combination via software emulation. Been searching the net for whole weekend and found some instructions and info on various forums but none seem to work properly.

Here is a simple guide for best sound&music you can get in Might and Magic 3 beside the real Roland device. This has been tested on windows 8 64 bit and Windows 7 32 bit and works flawlessly. Beautiful music very close to real device like in this video.

http://youtu.be/gnFmCkv8Ovs

1. Download and install the latest version of Taewoong DOSBox SVN (already includes Munt software) http://ykhwong.x-y.net/

2. Download and extract the MT-32 and CM-32L ROM control sets (https://mega.co.nz/#!O8xk3bYa!X_qwcn…XAE24wDwD5OxA4).

3. For Might and Magic 3 it's best to use the CM-32L ROMs rather than the MT-32 ROMs. so put CM32L_PCM.ROM and CM32L_CONTROL.ROM into main DOSBox folder.

4. Go to your DOSBox folder. Under "TOOLS" folder click on "Run DOSBox configuration" file and scroll down to check "[midi]" section. Make sure you have this setting correct "mididevice=mt32".

5. Mount your M&M3 folder in DOSBox and run install.exe. Select option 1 for graphics and option 1 (Roland LAPC-1) for sound. Save and run the game. Use CTRL+F12 to speed the game if it is too slow.
Last edited by Dark Savant; August 29th, 2013 at 19:11. Reason: updated guide
Dark Savant is offline

Dark Savant

Dark Savant's Avatar
Sentinel

#1

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Forgotten Realms
Posts: 592

Default 

August 26th, 2013, 02:52
Originally Posted by Dark Savant View Post
http://youtu.be/gnFmCkv8Ovs
LOL I love the DRM at the end of the video. I'll take Steam over that any day!

Does this work for like M&M 4?
wolfing is offline

wolfing

wolfing's Avatar
Wonders what SasqWatch is

#2

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tardis
Posts: 3,362

Default 

August 26th, 2013, 04:11
Originally Posted by wolfing View Post
LOL I love the DRM at the end of the video. I'll take Steam over that any day!

Does this work for like M&M 4?
Yes it does

Check out this link:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of…computer_games
Dagar is offline

Dagar

Watcher

#3

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 57

Default 

August 26th, 2013, 11:49
Originally Posted by wolfing View Post
LOL I love the DRM at the end of the video. I'll take Steam over that any day!

Does this work for like M&M 4?
Well this video is from old floppy version. There is no DRM if you buy the game from GOG (Might and Magic 6 pack including m&m 1-6).

Yes this procedure works on M&M4, 5 and World of Xeen but you won`t get the best possible music with MT-32 emulation as these games use Sound canvas device for music. Much better sounding but sound effects are weird with sound canvas emulation so overall I would still prefer to use MT-32.

Some guy on RPG Codex forums found quite good solution for sound canvas emulation http://www.rpgcodex.net/forums/index…2#post-2801605

http://youtu.be/Ej50vDvH-2I

Mt-32 emulation
http://youtu.be/8cUmlYZnU68

Soundblaster pro emulation
http://youtu.be/D6t-tmwtn1E
Dark Savant is offline

Dark Savant

Dark Savant's Avatar
Sentinel

#4

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Forgotten Realms
Posts: 592

Default 

August 28th, 2013, 18:04
Thanks but your method doesn't work at home.
At the step 4
"Run DOSBox and type in "mixer /listmidi"."

I have only
0 microsoft GS wavetable synth
1 sb xfi synth a
2 sb xfi synth B

I downloaded daum version dosbox and I copy *.rom in dosbox folder.

I don't know how have MT-32 Synth Emulator in listmidi
Last edited by ultima; August 28th, 2013 at 18:15.
ultima is offline

ultima

Traveler

#5

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4

Default 

August 29th, 2013, 17:50
Yes you are right. This was a leftover from my base DOSbox setup with separate munt install. If you use Daum then there is no need for this step. I have updated the guide in first post. I just reinstalled the whole thing on Windows 8 64 bit and it works flawlessly. Please let me know if it works for you.
Dark Savant is offline

Dark Savant

Dark Savant's Avatar
Sentinel

#6

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Forgotten Realms
Posts: 592

Default 

August 29th, 2013, 18:28
Originally Posted by Dark Savant View Post
Yes you are right. This was a leftover from my base DOSbox setup with separate munt install. If you use Daum then there is no need for this step. I have updated the guide in first post. I just reinstalled the whole thing on Windows 8 64 bit and it works flawlessly. Please let me know if it works for you.
Yes. It works with M&M3.

The problem is that with World of xeen (M&M 4 +5), game crash if I use CM32L_PCM. and CM32L_control.rom or Mt32_PCM.rom and MT32.control.rom.

I select Roland LAPC/MT32 in game setup
Have you tested with world of xeen?

I have tried all version dosbox daum since one year and same problem. Without these rom files, game doesn't crash but some sound are very very bad (open door song is like phone ringing).
I have tried to send a mail at creator of dosbox daum but I never have an answer.
ultima is offline

ultima

Traveler

#7

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4

Default 

August 29th, 2013, 19:04
I have just tried the same setup for World of Xeen for couple of minutes and Roland emulation is working without problems. I am using GOG version of the game at the moment. Where do you have crash problems? Immediately when starting the game or during gameplay?

You must choose Roland LAPC for music and sound blaster pro for speech.

Perhaps you should try Sound Canvas emulation for World of Xeen if you have problems with Roland. Follow this topic
http://www.rpgcodex.net/forums/index…2#post-2801605
Dark Savant is offline

Dark Savant

Dark Savant's Avatar
Sentinel

#8

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Forgotten Realms
Posts: 592

Default 

August 29th, 2013, 21:06
Originally Posted by Dark Savant View Post
I have just tried the same setup for World of Xeen for couple of minutes and Roland emulation is working without problems. I am using GOG version of the game at the moment. Where do you have crash problems? Immediately when starting the game or during gameplay?

You must choose Roland LAPC for music and sound blaster pro for speech.
Crash is random. It's during gameplay. It can arrived after 30 secondes or 3 minutes. It can arrived during a fight, during a loading or during a travel.

I choose roland lapc.

I don't use gog version but original floppy (3"1/2)version (it's a french version but the only difference is the translation. The sound engine is the same) .

Originally Posted by Dark Savant View Post
Perhaps you should try Sound Canvas emulation for World of Xeen if you have problems with Roland. Follow this topic
http://www.rpgcodex.net/forums/index…2#post-2801605
I have seen but quality is less good than roland/mt32.
ultima is offline

ultima

Traveler

#9

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
RPGWatch Forums » Games » General RPG » Might and Magic 3: Isles of Terra
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:35.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright by RPGWatch